8 Reviews

I thought I better post a review on this recipe, this has become our everyday bread at my home, it is the best white bread recipe out there in my opinion. It has amazing texture and holds up well even for peanut butter and jelly sandwiches!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lemon Girl October 30, 2010

I love this bread recipe! I used it for my first attempt at making bread in years, and even though I realized I used the wrong yeast measurement (whoops!), it still turned out delicious! (although due to my error, a bit dense- not that I minded, it was very filling). I also did free-form loaves and baked them on a pizza stone, so even the crust was tasty. I will be using this recipe to make our bread from now on! Saves money and tastes so much better than store bought bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
darby86 April 09, 2012

I wrapped the 2nd loaf to freeze, but had to take it out and let it rise as the 1st loaf was immediately devoured by everyone, leaving none for school sandwiches. We might switch away from store bought bread all together!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abba Gimel February 06, 2010

We LOVE this bread!!! This bread has the best texture and the crust is so nice and crusty when it comes out of the oven. Made beautiful sandwiches! Everyone loved it! I will make this one again and again! Thanks Pan Nan! MADE THIS AGAIN today and tried to do the first part in the bread machine. It did not work out very well. The bread did not rise enough so the loaves were very dense. Live and Learn. Next time I will pull the mixer out! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper August 01, 2008

I doubled this recipe as my family loves bread and I also was able to share it with some of my real estate clients who were closing on a home the next day. It was delicious, the texture was fine and the golden color was wonderful. It reminded me of an egg bread my mother use to buy at the local bakery when I was a little girl. I highly recommend it to anyone who loves a rich, golden bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindamutzig May 29, 2008

Delicious and very easy basic white bread! I made two loaves--one plain, one into which I kneaded an assortment of fresh chopped herbs. Both were great. The herb bread was a huge hit as part of a cheese and charcuterie tray. The white loaf made great toast and great sandwiches. Thanks, Nan!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate June 26, 2007

Perfect white bread! I made one free form loaf that I baked on my pizza stone and it turned out wonderfully! Will make again and again! Made for ZWT 3!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anme June 01, 2007

This went right into my Bountiful Bread cookbook. One of the best white bread's I have tried.I just let it look rustic,no pan to bake. Thank you.rose of sharon

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
out of here March 28, 2006
Country White Bread