27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good flavor, but it not very smooth... a little "grainy" in texture from ice crystals. It could have been that my ice cream freezer froze it too fast, or not fast enough. I will have to try it a couple more times varying the amount of salt added to the ice in the outside tub.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bertha C. August 27, 2002

yum yum yummie...fabulous ice cream with a great vanilla flavor. The fact the eggs were not "cooked" didnt bother my kids (age 6 & 17 mos) at all. Be sure to look at the eggs you crack for this, and make sure they're not expired and you'll enjoy the greatest flavor, without having to pay 8.00 for a 1/2 gallon!!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookbookCarrie February 25, 2003

We made this over the weekend. Just delicious. Rich, creamy, strong vanilla flavor. Store-bought ice cream will never come close. We just loved this. Thanks Bev.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gladys58 September 04, 2002

Way to go Bev, This Ice Cream was Wonderful!!! It was quik and simple, And best of all, You didn't have to cook it. I mixed it up the night before and stored it in the freezer can from my ice cream maker. It only took aboud 40 minutes in the ice cream maker and then it was ready. Put it to You this way, It was gone in 60 seconds.... Thanks :)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeartDefects74 September 03, 2002

All I can say is WOW. This ice cream makes store-bought pale in comparison. You haven't LIVED until you've tried this homemade recipe. This ice cream is spectacular in sundaes, milkshakes and especially by itself! I can't even fathom there is anything this ice cream go wrong without. Thank you!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JefferyBeans July 14, 2002

i've made this recipe several times in teh last couple weeks since i came across it. it's very easy, i usually do a 1/2 batch and use all 1/2 & 1/2 instead of milk and cream. throw it all in the blender for a minute then into the ice cream maker it goes. no cooking so no waiting for it to cool, and it freezes up pretty quick. thanks for a keeper, i plan to start making other flavors soon. :) UPDATE- this is my go to ice cream recipe. i mix up a full batch and keep it in the fridge (won't all fit in my ice cream maker and it'll keep for about a week) when i make a batch i put it in the blender and add various things for different flavors. add mint extract, a little green food color, and some crushed up chocolate cookies at the end of the freeze cycle for cookies & mint ice cream. skip the mint and you have cookies and cream. add some peanut butter for peanut butter ice cream. a little cocoa you have chocolate (i like it best w/ dutch cocoa). i've added chopped canned peaches for peach ice cream, but that one's good but a little icy. i love this, the flavors are endless and it couldn't be easier!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MuddyMommaPottery March 17, 2010

I think that I have found my favorite ice cream recipe! I made it exactly as stated and it really needs to "ripen" in the freezer for a day in my opinion. When it first came out of the ice cream maker, it was not so good and neither one of my kids liked it. I put it in the freezer and the next day, WHOA! it was AWESOME. I had to convince my girls to try it again and they both say it's the best ice cream EVER. Trust me, let it sit in the freezer for a few hours at least. You will see a big difference. Thanks for the recipe, we love it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
txcutestuf August 09, 2014

Outstanding ice cream! I did cook the eggs and milk as suggested by one of the reviewers. Due to time constraints I made it one day and served it the next. It was not brick hard like many home made ice creams are after being frozen. DIL claimed it the "best ever" and Sweetie wants to know when I'm making more. I'm anxious to try adding caramel or pecans. Thanks, Bev.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
racrgal September 06, 2010

Absolutely, amazingly delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Qzak July 26, 2010

I cut this recipe in half and it was still too much to fit into my machine, but it is now my go-to vanilla recipe. The first time I made it, I added the mini choc. pb cups from Trader Joes, which I won't do again b/c this ice cream is perfect without any additions.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
prvrbs31gal July 15, 2010
Country Vanilla Ice Cream