Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Country Style Ribs and Sauerkraut Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Country Style Ribs and Sauerkraut

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on May 04, 2002

      I'm a pollack and was raised on sauerkraut! This dish was absolutely delicious! Follwed recipe to a "T". The smell in the house while it was cooking was fantastic! Will definitely be making again!! Thank you so much for posting this recipe. Will be emailing it to all my family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2002

      I knew this would be good, but could not imagine just HOW GOOD! It is fabulous. I wedged an apple and pushed the pieces into the kraut.....also a bay leaf. Don't know how much difference it made. Next time, being big kraut lovers, I would half the meat.....we had a fair bit left over, and could have done with less than we ate. It was hard to resist tho'.....sooooooo tender and flavourful. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2002

      Karen I took some liberties with your recipe namely because of lack of French Onion Sour and I wanted to do it in a crockpot. It was absolutely delicious! I cut the recipe in half . If you have not got it under this category please add it as it is great. Put everything in the crockpot(except 1/4 cup of the consumme) cooked on high for 1 1/2 hrs turned to low and cooked for a further 2 1/2 hrs. I did not have French Onion soup so used 1/2 cup Beef consumme (added in two portions of 1/4 cup each)and a 1/2 cup French's Fried Onions I also added 2 raw peeled sliced (1/4" slices). I put in 1/4 cup of the soup for the first 1 1/2 hrs on high and then added the second 1/4 cup when I turned it to low. What a great dish and the aroma as it is cooking MMmm This to me is real comfort food. Thanks Karen for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2002

      I agree that the aroma was terrific. The ribs also tasted great and I will certainly make this again. However, I would cook it at a lower temperature. I found 350° for three hours was far too long.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2002

      Hi Karen: What a wonderful, wonderful recipe this is. We enjoyed every bite! My husband says he could easily GORGE himself on this! (me, too)!!! Thanks a bunch. Sinceely, Laudee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      Dh says this dish is delicious, he liked it a lot. I've made pork and kraut many times over the years, but have always shied away from adding brown sugar, and the onion soup really intrigued me too! I'm glad I tried it. It was a winning combination. I used half a bag of french onion soup with 1/2 cup of water, and added some peeled potatoes about 1 1/2 hours before it was done. I tried out my new dutch oven from Christmas, and this was a delicious dish to cook in it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      Thanks this recipe is now our New Years Tradition. Just wonderful. I did add some cut up apple to the top. Would reccomend to anyone!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2014

      So good! I made it first time in crock pot and family loved it. The second time I made in the oven and it was absolutely the best ever and family is begging for more which I am making today. My daughter never liked sauerkraut but now says she craves this recipe. No can of soup so used what I had which was Lipton french onion soup package. Just soaked the dried soup in a couple cups of water and it couldn't be any better. So thanks to the poster of this recipe. It is now a family favorite. Unfortunately, there aren't any leftovers for me next day. lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2014

      I am so sorry. I thought this combination was horrible. Pork ribs, French onion soup, brown sugar. I love pork and sauerkraut and thought I would try a different recipe. Give me pork ribs, sauerkraut, caraway seeds, potatoes, carrots....salt-pepper and there you go.... I could be so wrong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2014

      what a delicious recipe to celebrate the New Year. I made it exactly as posted and we loved the pork and sauerkraut with the brown sugar and onion soup. The next time I make it I will use half of the brown sugar. That will turn it into a 5 star recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2013

      For years my family spent New Years Eve with Aunt Evie. She made pork and kraut and simmered it slowly on the stove all day long. For the pork, she used neck bones, and said they had the best flavor. My father said he didn't like sauerkraut, and wouldn't eat it. Finally, after several years, he gave it a try - and loved it! Mom made it often after that, always with mashed potatoes. Today I use a recipe very much like this. I still simmer it slowly all day. The sauerkraut gets mellow and the ribs get fall apart tender. This recipe is a real winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2013

      This is a real winner! I made minor changes based on what I had in stock. I used boneless pork ribs, 1 small jar of kraut, 1/2 large onion chopped, 1 apple chopped, omitted the brown sugar (apple for sweetness), 2 large potato cut in half, and added Cajun seasoning + 1 tablespoon of Trader Joe's South African Smoked spice. The results with a winner!! The meat was succulent and perfectly seasoned. I will definitely make this again and again. Thank you Karen :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2013

      I cut the brown sugar out to cut carbs, but these were still delicious! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      This was really good. Served over mashed potatoes with a side of sauted aspargus. I usually spend a lot of time on my sauerkraut (making a rue and adding several other ingredients such as white beans, bacon, onions, etc.). This is a nice and simple alternative. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      I have been making this recipe for years.....I am almost embarressed to share because it is so easy, yet...so delicious!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      What a surprise! This recipe is a definate "keeper".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      Using a can of condensed French onion soup added unexpected flavor to this wonderful dish. I highly recommend this recipe. I did add a grated carrot and additional liquid (white wine) because I like to serve the resulting "gravy" over mashed potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      This will be our new pork and kraut New Years Day tradtion. Oh my gosh this one of the best dishes I have ever tasted. I will never change a thing to it, why mess with perfection. I used a roasting pan so all the fat wouldn't surround the meat, and the bone fell off the meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      Terrific! This is one of my favorite meals. I made as stated only using spareribs instead. I also added whole red potatoes to the top of the dish to bake at the same time. It was in the oven most of the day. What a wonderful aroma that made. Yummy! Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      Just saying ribs and kraut sounds yucky to me, my in-laws have always ate it, so.... I thought I would give it a try for my husband. YUMMY!!!!!!!!!! Who would have thunk??? Thanks for the great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Country Style Ribs and Sauerkraut

    Serving Size: 1 (369 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 678.0
     
    Calories from Fat 394
    58%
    Total Fat 43.8 g
    67%
    Saturated Fat 14.9 g
    74%
    Cholesterol 156.4 mg
    52%
    Sodium 2354.4 mg
    98%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.5 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 6.4 g
    25%
    Sugars 19.5 g
    78%
    Protein 42.9 g
    85%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites