Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Country Rice Pudding Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Country Rice Pudding

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on July 03, 2012

      YUM - I tempered the egg before I added to the rice pudding, but not sure it actually needed the egg. I think it would still have been good without it. I did cook this in a double boiler, so took quite a bit longer, but eliminates the need to stir all the time. I also didn't add the bourban, but next time I have some Southern Comfort, I'm going to add that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      I also added a little Amaretto...WOW it was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      I used orange zest, replaced nutmeg with five spice powder, and dark rum. Amazing flavor--will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      Delish!! Made it twice. The first time, I did use the egg but tempered it first. The second time, I was out of eggs and it turned out just fine. Took closer to 40 minutes, but well worth it! Fabulous!! Also, did not use bourbon - we don't drink!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      Welp, used the cooked rice someone suggested would cut the time but then there was excess milk so not the best idea. Had to simmer it longer to get it to thicken--closer to 30-40 minutes. I'm not a fan of the consistency you get when you add the beaten egg. I could see cooked whites and yolks in the pudding. With all that said the taste was on target. Thanks for sharing, it was fun trying something different.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      its great receipe just one note..is better to cook rice separate and then add to the mixture it takes least time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      I was looking for a recipe that looked like the one my mom used to make. Unfortunately she passed away not long ago and I never wrote the recipe down I would just call her for it and she would give it to me over the phone. I didn't add the bourbon or vanilla, I also added a cinnamon stick to the rice while it was cooking just cuz that is what mom used to do. Thanks for posting, now I can make rice pudding like mom use to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Very yummy. I too cooked mine for probably closer to 40 minutes, I wasn't keeping track though. I also used mostly skim milk, and one cup of 2%. I thought it might not be to creamy, but I really can't tell at all that I used mostly skim, I think it's creamy! I also didn't use bourbon because I didn't have any.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      The first time I made this recipe, I cooked the mixture for the time specified in the recipe. The rice was undercooked. Next time, I cooked it longer (40 minutes) and added slivered almonds and golden raisins when I added the sugar - about 20 minutes into the cooking. I omitted the egg. The second time I made this, it was wonderful

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      great recipe!! very creamy and smooth. i usually make it in the oven which takes about 3 hours. this was so much easier and very tasty. my only alterations were that i left out the bourbon and i will be adding raisins next time. thank you for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      Actually, it works really well with almond milk, too. Nice recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      super comfort food. so easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      Works well with 2% milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Country Rice Pudding

    Serving Size: 1 (263 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 389.8
     
    Calories from Fat 69
    17%
    Total Fat 7.7 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 56.6 mg
    18%
    Sodium 199.3 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 69.6 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 33.5 g
    134%
    Protein 9.2 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites