Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Country Fried Steak Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Country Fried Steak

    Average Rating:

    71 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 71

    Sort by:

    • on June 30, 2007

      This was my first time attempting country fried steak, and I must say I amazed myself. I actually did it! The country fried steak itself was wonderful, but I have to agree with other posters that the gravy was a little bland (though the consistency turned out marvelously!). I'll try more spices in the gravy next time, or perhaps use what left over flour mixture I had from the steak to use in the gravy. Thanks for the recipe! Update** I have been making this same recipe almost weekly ever since I first rated it. I took my own advice, and I go ahead and take 3 tablespoons of the flour mixture before I dredge the steaks, and then use that for the sauce. Turns out perfectly! Very tasty, indeed. Thanks, again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      I have no idea where I went wrong, but I did. I cant believe after reading all of the comments that I did not enjoy this at all. I am sorry, will not try again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      Our family LOVED it. I didn't have milk, so used half half and half (low fat) and water. Worked great! I also used olive oil. Thanks for a winner of a recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      I liked the country fried steak itself but I thought the gravy was kind of bland. Otherwise, this was tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      we absolutly love this recipe i had never tried to make this before and it was very easy and delicious. i also am not a person who can make gravy but i did, and it was good with a little seasoning(which we like alot of on everything) thank you for this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

      Very good! I love country fried steak. I used seasoned salt for the flour mixture for more spice and flavor. For those who said the gravy was a bit bland, the key to good pan gravy like this is a good bit of salt. Really will bring out the flavor. I LOVED the gravy! Also, cast iron skillet is a must!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2006

      My family very much enjoyed this dish. To give the flour an added flavor, I used 1/2 c of flour and 1/2 c of instant breakfast gravy mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2006

      I thought this was a good recipe. My boys liked it except the gravy was a little bland. Maybe adding some different spices would help.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2006

      This is delicious and very easy to make. I served it with the Supreme Garlic Mashed Potatoes (recipe in Recipezaar also) and my family really loved the dinner. Perfect served with the potatoes and a tossed salad. Yum!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2006

      Lovely recipe! DH and I enjoyed this nice Southern steak along with homemade mashed potatoes and green beans. Made it in my large cast iron pan exactly as directed; although I did add just a little extra seasoning of cayenne,seasoned salt & garlic powder. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2006

      I liked how simple this recipe was. It went together very quickly and it was nice to have a fast dinner for a chance. I would add more seasoning next time, maybe some seasoned salt or garlic powder. I will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2005

      This is really a great recipe and I appreciate the awesome directions too. DH and I really enjoyed the steak and gravy. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2005

      Thank you for this recipe it was great=) I just loved your detail in the instructions. You made it so anybody could be successful with your recipe=)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2005

      I've tried many chicken fried steak recipes. This is THE BEST! I think the double dip in the flour does it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2005

      GREAT! I loved this recipe. Better than grandma's! :) But shhhh.. don't tell her I said so :) The gravy was delicious as well.. perfect! I usually make the gravy out of the packs because I didn't know how to make homemade gravy - this will now be the recipe I use from now on! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2005

      What a PERFECT recipe for country fried steak! My picky 2 year old LOVES this so it's a regular in our house. Thanks for such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2005

      Yum, yum, yum! This is the perfect Country Fried Steak!! I was looking for a recipe that rivaled the one I grew up with in Southeast Missouri at "Lambert's Restaurant". This one does the trick. It has a perfect texture on the outside and the directions are very easy to follow. I especially appreciate walking me through the gravy part. This makes a very nice meal with either mashed potatoes or, as my husband prefers it, steak fries with the gravy on top. Wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2004

      This is very tasty!! I used pork cube steak. I seasoned the flour with my own steak seasoning (Savory Steak Seasoning (for all types of meat)). I like double dipping the meat in flour. I usually use just water to moisten the meat, but the milk and egg made a diference. I think I will do that in the future. I will definitely be making this recipe again. Thanks for a great recipe Sue.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2004

      I expected it to be crispier. Over all my family rated it an okay.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2004

      This review is ONLY for the meat not the gravy. Since my family and I do not care for white milk gravy I did not make it. HOWEVER...the meat recipe is terrific! I have loved Chicken Fried Steak ever since I went to a resturant in Texas when my daughter was living there years ago. This was my first attempt at making it...and what a success it was. Nice and crispy, very tender, and tasted just the way I remembered it! I can't wait to eat a piece for breakfast in the morning. I took a chance and cooked lots so we would have left-overs and am sooo glad that I did. Thanks for submitting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Country Fried Steak

    Serving Size: 1 (162 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 272.7
     
    Calories from Fat 139
    51%
    Total Fat 15.4 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 107.2 mg
    35%
    Sodium 667.5 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.1 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 9.1 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cube steaks

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes