71 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is by far my favorite country fried steak recipe on here! Make sure to add your spice to the gravy mix & flour people! The more pepper and paprika the better! The cube steaks turn out crispy and so tender in the middle. Yummy! Whats best is this meal is so cheap... yet very satisfying.
Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pierced Chef January 30, 2012

I created an account just so I could say thank you. This is great a great recipe. I did put some garlic and herb Mrs Dash on the meat before hand, along with a touch of salt and pepper in the gravy. I Highly recommend this to anyone.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adam G. September 24, 2014

Very good recipe! I did add some extra seasoning to my breading and the gravy, particularly the addition of cayenne pepper on both ends. Also, a boatload more black pepper and dash of salt in the gravy plus the secret touch- A dash of nutmeg. Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrisseh Monster January 29, 2014

I've made this recipe twice so far. The first time I didn't season the meat as much as normally would have and it turned out okay. I seasoned the flour as directed. This time I seasoned the meat the way I like it (season salt, garlic, onion powder, pepper, red pepper and worcestershire) and put paprika in the flour. I did do the dipping in the egg and flour as directed. It turned out just the way I like it! Great! Served with the gravy with onions. Thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
agiolam April 03, 2011

Very good, flavorful I think because I used seasoned salt in the flour along with a little garlic powder.. It did not get as crispy as I was hoping it would. Did all the dipping as directed and fried on medium heat, higher I think it would of made it burn not make it crisper

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Mother Earth August 11, 2010

Loved it...one of my favorite dishes growing up. Made with Microwave Parmesan Potatoes and Frizzled Cabbage. Even my picky eater gobbled it up! No problems getting the coating to stick and it fried up wonderfully (used sunflower oil to fry). I prefer making this with saltine crackers, but I didn't have any on hand. Maybe next time I would season the cube steaks before coating (for my own personal taste): I felt that the seasoning got a little "lost" somewhere in the process (everyone else in my family was content with seasoning). Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jug O'Mud December 09, 2013

Excellent. Breading is delicious. Turned out like Cracker Barrel's in my opinion. Boyfriend loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jzmomma August 22, 2013

This CFS was delicious. The breading worked great for me. The gravy was thick and creamy. Made for Food Photo Forum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn October 04, 2012

Not bad...I couldn't get the coating to stick either and it was a little bland. Next time I going to add some garlic or onion powder or such.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
witchstorm July 22, 2012

I've made this several times since my husband always requests it. I, too, never have any oil left after frying the meat and the coating is never greasy. Perhaps it's because I use an electric skillet. We love this recipe and the gravy it produces. Note to self: cook in skillet on 325 degrees.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mybirdzone July 17, 2012
Country Fried Steak