Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Country Chuck Roast with Onion Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Country Chuck Roast with Onion Gravy

    Average Rating:

    73 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 73

    Sort by:

    • on November 08, 2009

      Yep! Utterly divine. Made this with mashed potatoes and Cracker Barrel Green Beans (#78938). What a meal! jahoody

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      This turned out good. I only had a 2lb roast, so I split the recipe in half and cooked it for about 2 hours at 300 (after the 15min on each side at high heat).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      This had to be the easiest recipe ever! I fixed it for my husband & daughter for supper tonight, they both loved it. I cooked it exactly as written & my husband told me not to change a thing. I think my oven must run hot because the roast cooked quicker than expected & was tough, next time I'll just watch it closer, probably cover it earlier too, to help keep moisture in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2009

      This looked delicious but the gravy was a little bland, it needs more salt and pepper added to it. The roast was perfect and fell apart just as a good roast should.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      WOW! This is one of the best - if not The Best - recipes I've ever tried! Wow wow wow! The gravy is Spectacular! And what a novel way to make it. So easy! I used 4 cups of water and 1 cup of wine with 1.5 Tablespoons of Better Than Boullion. AMAZING! I will make this again and again!!! Thanks, Mercy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      Very nice, simple roast....made precisely as directed. The gravy was rich and flavorful and the roast was falling apart! Thank you for sharing this family treasure!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      This was very good! I used half beef broth and half water. Like others, I also added some shrooms. This recipe is very forgiving regarding the temperature, I had to postpone dinner and turned the heat down lower and it still came out great! thanks for posting, Mercy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      I have tried lots of roast recipes. NEVER have I found one any better than this!!! My oldest DD,who normally thinks beef is just"okay", fell in love with this!! The gravy is perfection. I took another readers advice and used beef broth and found that it did need extra salt. ALso garlic was really good added to it!I used a venison roast instead of beef. I will make ths very often! Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      Kudos to your Great-Grandma! What a phenonmenal pot roast. This is so tasty and tender. I was in a bit of a hurry this time so I went with the 350 method. While it was still tender I think it will be even better with the lower and slower method. Thanks for sharing your wonderful family recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      This was really good and it was kind of amazing how it made its own gravy. I think I will try this in the crock pot next time & try and double the gravy. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      The brown sugar was just a bit too much in this, and I was surprised that it wasn't a bit more tender. Overall, it's a nice simple recipe, and is worth trying again, with some tweaking on the ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      I used a 2lb chuck tender roast and left the recipe measurements and cooking time the same (I did cut the water down to 4 cups) and it turned out great! I wasnt sure when it came out of the oven because it looked hard but when I cut into it, it was fork tender. The gravy was excellent! I chopped the onion and added it to the gravy and it was mouth watering! We served over mashed potatoes. Will definitely make again and again! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      You were right, the gravy is to die for, however as someone else said the roast was not as tender using your memaws cooking method. I agree in that it would be 5 stars in the crock pot! I made it that way today and it was perfect

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      This was definately good. I cooked it for 3 hours at 300, but my roast was definately not fork tender. I was a little disappointed at how much fat was still in the meat and the meat was still a little tough. Very tasty though and it made a lot of gravy. I might try it in the crock pot next time instead. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      This does make really great gravy. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2007

      Awesome! The whole family loved this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2007

      Great recipe - made it last night & the flavor was perfect, meat was tender & moist. The brown sugar rub is the charm - I like the convenience of getting that "browned" flavor from the initial high-heat roasting, without the top of the stove mess. Your Memaw knew what she was doing, Mercy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      This was so easy and delicious. I cut up potatoes, and threw in a bag of carrots right in the pan. The carrots weren't mushy and the roast was devine. Awsome recipe Mercy....thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      I really didn't like beef until I tried this recipe. It's a easy meal and soooo tasty. The gravy is easy, favorful and just right. I gave this recipe to my sister the other day. She agreed that it was a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      Was very tasty and the roast came out super tender! The gravy was great too, we had mashed potatoes with it and it was delicious on them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Country Chuck Roast with Onion Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (404 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 360.1
     
    Calories from Fat 124
    34%
    Total Fat 13.8 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 149.6 mg
    49%
    Sodium 625.5 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 48.9 g
    97%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites