74 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made the recipe as is, with no changes. I liked the ease of preparation and it had a nice flavor.
I will add a little seasoning to the gravy next time. It was very good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ohgal January 31, 2011

I used two chuck steaks about 1 lb each. Next time I would reduce the water for thicker gravy, but it was terrific. I used to use onion soup, but this is healthier and cheaper and tastes better.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tdej June 23, 2010

I wanted to make a meal that would stretch but this won't....... we ate it all, great recipe, thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nilotic Deva January 24, 2010

This is a fantastic roast recipe. There were no leftovers at our house....even with 2 very picky little eaters.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Sarah H.* January 09, 2010

GREAT! Everyone loved it. The gravy was great (I had to thicken it for the potatoes, of course) and the whole dinner was a hit. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie R. May 05, 2009

This was so good, I did add some beef broth that I had frozen in my freezer just to add it up, the gravy was so good. Thanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DPar March 30, 2015

I have never cooked a roast like this before and it turned out great. I browned the roast on all sides on the stove in a dutch oven and transferred it to the oven. I used 4.5 cups of water and a 2 teaspoons beef base. Great recipe and a keeper for sure! Thank you for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dixie from Kansas September 11, 2014

Perfect for a cheap fatty roast! We buy a quarter cow every year and my hubby can only handle so much stew. The whole family loved this! I will put this recipe with my keepers, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newtocookingm&m January 02, 2013

I read reviews & followed some of them. I did brown the meat as suggested by some (and skipped step #3 in the process.) I also substituted beef stock for the water. My husband LOVED this. I thought it was a bit salty, but that's probably my fault using beef stock & still adding salt. Great recipe & will be added to our rotation. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jersey girl in England January 02, 2013

I really enjoyed this... thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DreamerLex December 25, 2012
Country Chuck Roast with Onion Gravy