Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Country Bean, Beef and Cabbage Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Country Bean, Beef and Cabbage Soup

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on December 01, 2012

      This is the same recipe I use from Sandra Woodruff's Good Carb Cookbook, except she uses 12 oz. of lean ground beef. I added a chopped clove of garlic and canellini beans instead of red kidney beans, and some boullion granules and extra water because we like our soup to be more liquidy. I've made this simple soup many times and it's always good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2010

      this was very good. I didn't have he thyme or bay leaf, so i left them out, used a can of italian diced tomatoes since i couldn't find stewed - used up some purple cabbage from my CSA that otherwise would have gone bad. Simple, easy, and tasty. Thanks for posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2005

      Excellent recipe! This is a soup that looks and tastes like you've spent all day preparing it. The only change that I made was to add a can of black eyed peas instead of the kidney beans. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2009

      simple, easy, fun (for some reason I love chopping cabbage), and good! I added celery and garlic, and spiced it up some more with cumin, chili powder, and salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      This is a great soup! I made it WW friendly by using 8oz Cooked lean ground beef and sub the thyme and bay leaf with 1 T worscheshire (sp) sauce and 2 T splenda (personal preference) this is 3 pts for 1 cup and is a core recipe! Thanks for sharing!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      This soup made a delicious and filling lunch that we really enjoyed. We'll make this again and I think that I will brown the onions with the beef for extra flavor and maybe add some extra broth or even tomato sauce because it was sooo thick (more like a stew than a soup). This goes together quickly and would be great for a week night meal if pre-shredded cabbage were used (I shredded my own this time). Thanks for a great low-carb meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2006

      This is a delicious soup. I really love kidney beans so I couldn't resist trying this recipe. I'm glad I did. I added a little sugar because my family likes some sweetness when tomatoes are involved. I will definitely make this again. Thanks a lot for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2005

      This was a very easy recipe to make. I always follow recipes exactly as written, and did so with this one as well, but found it a bit bland for our taste and added extra pepper and some salt. Being cabbage lovers, I put in more than the recipe called for and I also had to add two more cans of broth. This is a great soup and I definitey plan to make it again. Thanks Tara.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2004

      This was very easy and inexpensive since I was looking to use up these ingredients. I found it a little bland - but I think that the ingredients made my thoughts turn to chili .... I added garlic salt and some cayene pepper and that brightened it right up. Additionally ( since it made a lot ) I added some frozen mixed veggies on day 3 and morphed it into vegetable soup - very good as well. An excellent soup and a really good base for a lot of other things, minestrone, veggie, chili etc. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2004

      Very easy and comforting soup. I sauteed my onions with the ground beef and added garlic, also. My tomatoes were petite diced with garlic and olive oil. (I don't like big chunks of stewed tomato.) I added a second can of beef broth, as there just didn't seem to be enough liquid, and adjusted the seasoning amounts in accordance with the added liquid. I also added about 1/2 cup of tomato juice to enhance the flavor. There weren't any red kidney beans in my pantry...so I used white beans. Hubby had 2 bowls of this soup with some crusty multi-grain dinner rolls. I plan on taking the leftovers for my lunch. This is a simple, but tasty soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2004

      Easy to fix, great tasting with good flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2004

      This recipe was so easy to make, and it tastes great, especially the next day when the flavors have really blended. Next time I'll use a little more broth, to make it more soupy - but it's fine just as it is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2004

      I happened upon this recipe today and decided since I had all the ingredients on hand, I would try it. I don't usually have soup this time of year too much but the recipe appealed to me. I'm glad I did. I really enjoyed this for dinner tonight. Very easy to do. I made it while running back and forth watching the Portugal/Holland Soccer game. I followed the directions except I added garlic and a little basil. And I liked that it was good for phase 1 of the SB Diet. I have done that diet and it is wonderful. Thanks, Tara for a great recipe and Good Luck on your diet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Country Bean, Beef and Cabbage Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (433 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 303.0
     
    Calories from Fat 109
    36%
    Total Fat 12.2 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 51.4 mg
    17%
    Sodium 751.6 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    21%
    Protein 23.3 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites