44 Reviews

After reading the reviews I increased the cream cheese filling by adding another 8 oz peanut butter instead of cream cheese. I also cooked the apples a little in the microwave before baking them and added a little extra butter to the topping. This was a huge hit in my lab, people really loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ncinnamon August 26, 2011

I've had this in my recipe book for the longest time and never had the chance to make it until today. It's so good! I doubled the amount of cream cheese filling as another chef suggested and zapped the apples in the microwave as suggested by someone else. I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese. These are so awesome! Thank you for posting, this will be made often! We Love it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodFromSicily October 02, 2009

Pretty layers and tasty! I baked a half-batch in an 8x8" pan, using 1.5x the amount of finely chopped Granny Smith apples. The squares were very good warm with vanilla ice cream. They can also be enjoyed cold. The recipe does not specify whether or not refrigeration is necessary. Because of the cream cheese layer, I was uncomfortable leaving the squares sitting out at room temperature. I decided to keep them refrigerated, but being chilled hurt the texture. So I think it's best if the squares are not refrigerated, but consumed not long after baking. Bake them a while before a potluck, and you're set!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb's Recipes July 16, 2009

I halved the recipe and put it in an 8x8 pan, which easily served 9 for dessert. I used splenda and low fat cream cheese - although I did add about 2T of flour to the cream cheese mixture, which seemed a little thin. One thing I will do differently next time is dice my apples very small - I baked for 35 minutes and my apples were soft, but not as soft as I'd have liked. All in all, a really wonderful fall dessert!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI September 28, 2008

I made this for Thanksgiving. The thing that I liked best about this (other than having apples and cinnamon in it) was that I could use the food processor for mixing the crust and for chopping up the apples. Since I'm food processor impaired, I liked the fact that it didn't matter if the apple pieces were uniform because the top crust covered everything. After 30 minutes in the oven, the top looked a little anemic to me so I melted 3T of butter, drizzled that on top and put it back in the oven for a bit. It was good at room temperature but I'm sure that it would be good cold too! Thank you for posting this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagopm November 23, 2007

I halved the recipe and baked it in an 8x8" dish, but kept the cream cheese mixture as is after reading someone else say that they doubled that part. Excellent! We had it for dessert today (New Year's Day) warm with some whipped cream on top. Very, very good. Comments here in the household were "This is REALLY good!" "This stuff is da bomb!"

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Big Cheese January 01, 2005

This is an update to my original 5-Star rating for this wonderful dessert. As I had threatened to do, when I made this a second time, I DID double the cream cheese layer...it is such a delicious counterpoint to the tangy apples and the nutty crumb crust...and was definitely not disappointed!!! I took it to a dinner party as my contribution to the evening's meal and boy, did everyone RAVE! Now I'm planning to make it for T'giving...GB

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grammy Bunny November 24, 2004

OMG these are ammmazing!! Out of the fridge these taste best. I added a little extra sugar and a dash of cinnamon to the crumb topping. They are wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
taraluvsspicy82 November 25, 2011

These taste great, but like some others my topping was very dry and there was not enough cream cheese in the middle. Next time I make this I will double the cream cheese mix recipe and add more butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ajandjj2000 October 13, 2011

These were just okay for us, although easy to make I found the topping to be dry and crumbly. sorry

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laureen in B.C. March 01, 2011
Country Apple Squares