Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Country Apple Squares Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Country Apple Squares

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on August 26, 2011

      After reading the reviews I increased the cream cheese filling by adding another 8 oz peanut butter instead of cream cheese. I also cooked the apples a little in the microwave before baking them and added a little extra butter to the topping. This was a huge hit in my lab, people really loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      I've had this in my recipe book for the longest time and never had the chance to make it until today. It's so good! I doubled the amount of cream cheese filling as another chef suggested and zapped the apples in the microwave as suggested by someone else. I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese. These are so awesome! Thank you for posting, this will be made often! We Love it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      Pretty layers and tasty! I baked a half-batch in an 8x8" pan, using 1.5x the amount of finely chopped Granny Smith apples. The squares were very good warm with vanilla ice cream. They can also be enjoyed cold. The recipe does not specify whether or not refrigeration is necessary. Because of the cream cheese layer, I was uncomfortable leaving the squares sitting out at room temperature. I decided to keep them refrigerated, but being chilled hurt the texture. So I think it's best if the squares are not refrigerated, but consumed not long after baking. Bake them a while before a potluck, and you're set!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      I halved the recipe and put it in an 8x8 pan, which easily served 9 for dessert. I used splenda and low fat cream cheese - although I did add about 2T of flour to the cream cheese mixture, which seemed a little thin. One thing I will do differently next time is dice my apples very small - I baked for 35 minutes and my apples were soft, but not as soft as I'd have liked. All in all, a really wonderful fall dessert!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      I made this for Thanksgiving. The thing that I liked best about this (other than having apples and cinnamon in it) was that I could use the food processor for mixing the crust and for chopping up the apples. Since I'm food processor impaired, I liked the fact that it didn't matter if the apple pieces were uniform because the top crust covered everything. After 30 minutes in the oven, the top looked a little anemic to me so I melted 3T of butter, drizzled that on top and put it back in the oven for a bit. It was good at room temperature but I'm sure that it would be good cold too! Thank you for posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2005

      I halved the recipe and baked it in an 8x8" dish, but kept the cream cheese mixture as is after reading someone else say that they doubled that part. Excellent! We had it for dessert today (New Year's Day) warm with some whipped cream on top. Very, very good. Comments here in the household were "This is REALLY good!" "This stuff is da bomb!"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2004

      This is an update to my original 5-Star rating for this wonderful dessert. As I had threatened to do, when I made this a second time, I DID double the cream cheese layer...it is such a delicious counterpoint to the tangy apples and the nutty crumb crust...and was definitely not disappointed!!! I took it to a dinner party as my contribution to the evening's meal and boy, did everyone RAVE! Now I'm planning to make it for T'giving...GB

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2011

      OMG these are ammmazing!! Out of the fridge these taste best. I added a little extra sugar and a dash of cinnamon to the crumb topping. They are wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2011

      These taste great, but like some others my topping was very dry and there was not enough cream cheese in the middle. Next time I make this I will double the cream cheese mix recipe and add more butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2011

      These were just okay for us, although easy to make I found the topping to be dry and crumbly. sorry

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      I made these bars last week and I just had to write a review. These are awesome and I must say the whole pan was gone in a blink of an eye. I kept them in the fridge which firmed them up nicely and provided a nice texture. This is a great combination of flavors. An excellent fall dish but also good anytime of the year. I will be using these in my Christmas goody trays and thank you for posting this dish we will enjoy it for many years to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      I made these bars early in October as we were gifted with a bushel of apples from our neighbors. The recipe was easy to follow and had a nice balance of flavors. Due to allergies I had to forgo the walnuts in the crust/topping, and in retrospect I think that was why I was underwhelmed with the texture. It was soft and hard to handle once baked. We did enjoy the taste, however, a bit like an apple cheesecake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      These are great! I modified it slightly by leaving out the walnuts, and using light butter + fat free cream cheese - And no one knew the difference! For 15 servings - 3 WW points. Thanks for a great dessert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      I am always looking for new recipes using apples and saw this one to try. They were an excellent choice to make to bring to my sister's cookout. I look forward to having these many times!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      Fabulous! I brought these over to a BBQ and everyone was asking who made the apple bars! I kept mine refrigerated as suggested by another reviewer and they had the perfect consistency. I would definitely make these again, but maybe double the cream cheese mixture next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      These didn't last long at my house. We loved them and ate them in a New York minute!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      Very good bar dessert. I really feel it is best served cold. At room temp it was too soft/mushy. Mine needed more baking time because the topping was not browned at all. Skipped nuts as usual. Wish I had doubled the cream cheese layer, but will try that another time. Easy, easy except for peeling/chopping apples. but worth the few extra minutes. Thanks for submitting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      Excellent! I doctored it up to make it healthier, and it was still good despite that :-) I used whole wheat flour instead of regular, and xylitol in place of the sugars. I also did as others recommended and doubled the cream cheese layer, and it was worth it! Great recipe, so tasty, and serves quite a few.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      Outrageously good made as posted! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      The changes I incorporated worked quite well. I subbed xylitol in place of both the brown and table sugar and only half of what was called for. I also took the advice of a previous reviewer and doubled the cream cheese layer. Oh, I also layered the apple slices first, then the cream cheese mixture topped with the crumbs. It got compliments all around, so we're definitely keeping this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Country Apple Squares

    Serving Size: 1 (100 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 308.6
     
    Calories from Fat 153
    49%
    Total Fat 17.0 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 45.6 mg
    15%
    Sodium 113.3 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 21.3 g
    85%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites