Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Couldn't Be Easier Slow Cooker Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Couldn't Be Easier Slow Cooker Bread

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on February 01, 2007

      This recipe is awesome! Almost too easy. I used a round Pyrex baking dish that I suspended above the water with a canning jar ring. The bread rose nicely (just like the picture)and did not crumble when cut. Wonderful for sandwiches! Also, make sure to lightly cover the top of the bread with foil or parchment paper. Otherwise, the moisture that collects on the underside of the lid will drip onto the top of the bread and cause it to be soggy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2005

      Hey, Guess what? You can bake bread in a slow cooker! And darn good bread, too. I have a 4-quart slow cooker, and used a 2 1/2 quart stainless steel mixing bowl for the baking pan. It was too large, and the baked bread only came about half-way up the side of the pan. Consequently, my bread was dense and chewy rather than moist and fluffy. But it still tasted great! It is wonderful toasted with butter. I used the metal ring from a canning jar as the trivet, and added water to the top of the ring; it seemed to be the right amount of water. Next time, I will use a smaller baking pan. I am also considering replacing the honey with dark molasses and adding some raisins ... this method seems like a natural for Boston Brown Bread. Thanks for sharing, LUv 2 BaKE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2005

      This bread is delicious, and has a surprisingly tender crumb for a whole wheat bread. I made an inadvertent modification, though. What I thought was wheat germ turned out to be wheat bran, but I used it anyway. I added a tablespoon of vital wheat gluten to lighten the texture. The dough was a little too stick to knead, so I sprinkled 2 tablespoons of flour over it and kneaded it in. That came out just right. I baked it in a 7" stainless steel bowl with a flat bottom, and the loaf rose right to the top of the bowl. I am very pleased with this recipe. Thank you for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2005

      I'm not rating this because it failed for me, and it may have been my fault. I was never able to achieve step 3. I followed the ingredients exactly, and my dough was more like muffin batter. It could not become smooth and elastic like bread dough. So I added enough all purpose flour to reach the bread dough point and continued. Unfortunately, it never rose like the picture. It only came up about half way to the top of the glass bowl in the crockpot. I removed it after three hours of cooking, but it was hard, very chewy, and overly dense. The flavor was good, though, but no one enjoyed the texture. Perhaps I should not have added the extra flour, or perhaps the temperature of my crockpot varied from the one used by LUv 2 BaKE.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2012

      I love my crock pot and I also bake some of my own bread in the winter so I was soooo excited when I saw this recipe I went home and made it that night. I used the right size bowl and followed the instructions, but I gotta say - this was a very, very, dense, heavy bread. We ate some, but I made croutons out of the rest. Will not be making this again - going back to using my oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2011

      Very good bread right from my Slow Cooker. I used the Cake/Bread insert in my Rival Cooker. I know you can find the insert at Amazon.com site. I have had my insert a long time - probably 20 years or so. Hope you can find one, you don't have to mess with finding a bowl to fit your slow cooker.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2005

      This bread was okay. I would make it again if I needed bread and was unable to use my oven. For me, the texture was a bit different than I expected. The loaf was a little bit chewy, and it was almost crumbly. I had to add about another 1/4-1/2 cup of flour also, so that may have affected the texture also. Thanks for posting this "alternative" way for baking bread! I enjoyed the experiment!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2014

      I've been learning to use my slow cooker for a variety of foods, so I can use it while camping. I've tried baked acorn squash (great!), overnight oatmeal (fail), and regular stuff like chili. So I had to try bread! <br/>I made this into olive bread by adding 1/2 cup chopped kalamata olives, 1 tablespoon minced fresh rosemary, 1/8 teaspoon garlic powder, 1/4 teaspoon fresh ground pepper, and 1/4 cup flax seed meal. I had to add almost a cup more flour than called for - next time I'll cut back to 3/4 cup milk. I used a Pyrex glass loaf pan, greased with Professional Pan Release (recipe 78579) supported by 3 canning jar lids. It turned out great! The sides and bottom were nice and brown, and the top was paler and a little "bouncy". I think the top would have browned better without the foil, so I'm going to place a linen towel over the crock under the lid next time. I made sure it was done with an instant-read thermometer; 200 degrees F is the magic number for bread. Thanks for this great recipe. My family will be surprised to have fresh bread while camping!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2014

      Well, the old cowpoke had to try thisun out too, since I ain't too fond of store bought bread. Had to make a few changes to the mixture though. Didn't have any whole wheat flour or honey so I used white flour and molasses . Mixed it up and let it rise while I went and fed the cattle, and then I cut the dough in two and cooked two small loafs one of which is half eaten and the other in the freezer for later in the week. this is a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      Forgot to add my star review to my previous comment, sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Couldn't Be Easier Slow Cooker Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (70 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 163.0
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    21%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 15.9 mg
    5%
    Sodium 213.6 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.7 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes