Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Couldn't Be Easier Elephant Ears. Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Couldn't Be Easier Elephant Ears.

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on August 08, 2010

      Wow, these are so good, and easy too! Sprinkled sugar on the pastry board, then used a combination of sugar, nuts and cinnamon on the inside. Brushed them lightly with melted butter before baking. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      So I sent my husband to the store to buy the frozen pastry and he came home with a box of individually wrapped little pastry squares. My teenage son had some friends over so I decided to go ahead and make them. I called them Baby Elephant Ears because they came out so small, like little bite size morsels. Because my squares were so small to begin with, I had to cut mine in inch increments and lay them on the cookie sheet with the folded side down. I also used the cinnamon, walnut, sugar filling. The kids loved them! I had to make another batch and they were gone in seconds. It may not be such a bad idea to make them tiny. Anyway, they tasted wonderful and I will be making them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      Everyone that tried these little beauts loved them. I made them smaller so they carmelized even more, the pastries were incredible, sweet, crispy and tender. I added cinnamon to the sugar and rolled both sides of the puff pastry in the sugar mixture. I can't wait to try filling these with finely chopped chocolate macadamian nuts and cinnamon. Thank you so much for sharing this lovely quick, versatile recipe, which I will make again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      These taste as good as they look! I filled them with chopped walnuts, sugar and cinnamon and brushed them with egg to give them a nice golden colour. Chilling the rolled pastry made them easier to cut

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      Today was the first time baking with puff pastry and what a great recipe to start with! I loved it loved it loved it! I 'm a big fan of fast and easy recipes. I'll try it with vanilla,cinnamon,nuts too. Thank you for introducing me to puff pastry and to a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      These are GREAT! Used a reduced fat puff pastry. First puff pastry dessert my son actually liked! I added pinches of cinnamon to the sugar, didnt have any nuts on hand, but I can see myself making these again with crushed walnuts or pistachios mixed with sugar and orange blosson/rose water. It is easy for a puff pastry dessert to feel really heavy after a couple of bites, these did not ruin my appetite. Lovely recipe, well worth the ratings. Will be using again for sure! Thanx!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      Super easy, super tasty little morsels! I luved this recipe! The instructions were very clear and I didnt have any problems at all with the recipe. I needed to bake my elephant ears (called pigs' ears here in Germany) a tiny bit longer than the stated 8 minutes per side, but I baked them at a lower temperature (400°F) and I made them very small so that I got way more than 12 cookies out of the recipe. Thank you so much for sharing, Dreamer! I will be using this recipe often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      Lovely little ending to a heavy meal. Loved these! I used demerara sugar, as I had some and wanted to use it up. Worked out wonderfully. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      I have made something similar to this in the past so I knew this would be wonderful, I also added in some cinnamon to the sugar, so many things to make with puff pastry and this is a winner, thanks Dreamer!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      So simple and easy to make, and so delicious. We made it with the pecans, sugar, and cinammon filling, and brushed the tops with some melted butter before baking. We loved them. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2011

      WOW! These were just like I remember them as a kid! I added cinnamon with my sugar omitting the nut suggestion. Thanks for the memories! Made for Veg 'N Swap tag!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      These really couldn't be any easier. I made them and asked others to rate them for me. (not quite a WW food :-()Rec'd good reviews from everyone. Thanks for posting. This is another one that when I hit a big goal I am going to give myself a treat with. Made for 123 wonders tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      easy and fun! Used the cinnamon and nut filling.yummmm...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      Excellent and so easy! I made these to take over to my granddaughters (4 & 2 yrs) as a special treat when I babysat tonight. They enjoyed two each but asked where the elephant's nose was... *lol* I used demerara sugar and the elephant ears tasted so light with just the right amount of sugar. So easy to make and would be perfect for breakfast or brunch. Definitely will make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      so easy and yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      Made for Photo Tag Fall 07 This is so easy and delightful with a cuppa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Couldn't Be Easier Elephant Ears.

    Serving Size: 1 (227 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 104.3
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    62%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 47.1 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 1.3 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes