Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cottage Pie-Simply the Best Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cottage Pie-Simply the Best

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on November 23, 2012

      Simply luscious! I can't wait to try it as written, but had leftover turkey and mashed potatoes so made a few changes. I used turkey broth, carrots, onions, celery and peas. I made the broth with a bay leaf, and I did thicken it with flour and lots of turkey chunks. Also, I added an egg to the leftover mashed potatoes, my mom always did that, so I do too. Thanks, Joy for letting me play with your recipe! Made for Make my Recipe Reunion, 2012

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      First time I ever had a Cottage Pie and I can tell you that it won't be the last. Thank you JoyfulCook for sharing this delicious recipe. It was easy to make with excellent results. The flavor of the meat is exceptional, we really enjoyed it. I used a combination of leeks and sweet onion with the meat and green onions in the mashed potatoes. Loved the flavor that the bay leaf adds to the dish. I will be making this again often, into my keeper box, this goes. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2013

      I really liked this. At the last minute, just before topping with the mashed potatoes, I added about 3/4 Cup of frozen peas to the meat mixture. Didn't bother to thaw them, figured the warm mixture and the baking would work to heat them just fine (it did). I added some grated cheese to the top of the mashed potatoes and that gave it a very good extra flavor. No fresh mushrooms in the house so I used a small can of sliced mushrooms. I added extra Worcestershire Sauce (1 or 2 tsp. I suppose). Baking in a 350 deg. F oven did not brown it much so I turned it up to 375 for the last ten minutes. Next time, I'll bake it at 400° F for the 25 or 30 minutes cooking time. I liked this from the first bite and I liked it better and better as I continued to eat it. I'll be making this often during the upcoming cold weather. I've no basis for comparison since I've never had Cottage Pie or Shepherd's Pie before, but I really like this! Thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2011

      The family demolished this in seconds, but while cooking, it nearly drove Dog crazy. His black lips parted showing me his white canines in his peculiar doggy-smile kind of way. He repeatedly ran one side of his head along my leg. Dog's at my mercy. Make no mistake. He relies on my grocery list. (Uh oh, better go check my charge card.) Made for A-NZ Reunion Recipe Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2011

      Very tasty recipe. I added extra parsley and some shredded cheddar cheese to the potatoes. I also used instant potatoes because I was short on time (fortunately no one seemed to notice). Because I didn't have fresh carrots on hand, I stirred in a can of sliced carrots just before placing into the baking dish. Also, after adding the stock I cooked on medium heat stirring constantly in order to reduce the liquid quickly rather than simmer over a low heat. It thickened nicely on its own. Everyone loved it and DH has asked that I make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2010

      If you are an experienced cook I would not recommend this recipe. It turned out great but only because I had to add a ton of other ingredients to it to get rid of the blandness. Also a bit confusing on how much onion goes where. First it says to cook the diced onion then later on in the recipe it says to use one of the onion and cook with the potatoes. What is the point of that? The boiling water dilutes the onion flavor. I also added an egg to the potato to give it the brown crust outside. This is a good BASE recipe but as I said if you make it exactly as written it will be very bland. It is rated high and I couldn't understand why. After I made it I went back and read the reviews. My ultimate pet peeve had taken place, If you are not following the recipe exactly don't rate it! That means you are rating your recipe. People are saying it was so wonderful "I added this and this and this and changed this" etc. Well, then you just changed the whole recipe, lol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2010

      Yum yum yum yum yum!!! I love it (can you guess?!). I ate two huge portions. I have to confess to having used Auntie Bessie's frozen mashed potato, but the meat was exactly as per recipe. Wonderful. will make again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      We had this dish tonight with a nice crisp salad. It was wonderful! I did cheat, tho, and used instant potatoes-- also added a little bell pepper and red wine to the meat sauce. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      Yummy. I've been testing cottage pie recipes. I really like this one because of the mushrooms. I put a can of chopped tomatoes in place of the tomato puree. I did not use oil, but browned the meat, drain and discard grease, put meat aside and saute the vegys in the same pan, the mushrooms release enough fluid so the vegys were not burnt. I added a tablespoon of flour to thicken the gravy. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      oooooo, this is YUMMY! i made a few changes though, because of time restrictions. i used 1/2 can of beef broth, 1/4 cup of red wine (this REALLY brought out the flavor...i highly recommend it and i don't like cooking with wine) and a packet of brown gravy mix and simmered that all together after the beef browning step. i only let it simmer about 10-15 minutes, but because i added the gravy mix, it thickened up nicely. then, just before putting it in the oven, i stirred in a can of peas. topped it with garlic mashed potatoes and i cooked this at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes and it turned out FABULOUS. really wonderful flavor. i've already been asked by my man to make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      I made this for the first time for my partner and i and we loved it it will be great for the winter, i added grated cheese and sliced tomato as an extra finished touch but overall a yummy recipe !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      We loved the flavor. I only used 1/2 of an onion and I used a bag of frozen veggies to replace the carrots and mushrooms. Also used 2 lbs. beef and doubled the seasonings. Next time I might try to save some prep time by using packaged mashed potatoes and by letting it bake (covered) in the oven longer and eliminating the stove-top cook time for the meat mixture - I'm not sure that it will turn out as good that way, but I'll at least try it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      very good and very nice with all of the vegetables!!!!! I added about a can of drained peas as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      JoyfulCook - this was wonderful. I made it a few days ago and stuck to your recipe. Even the leftovers were as good as the first night - if not better. DH says to keep it handy - particularly as winter will be heading our way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      Fabulous taste! I think it is the worcestershire that makes it so yummy! Just perfect! I made it per the recipe, except I used one of the new Idahoan instant mashed potatoes - I think it was Red Potato parmesan-herb. Just divine! I'm going to make one for my neighbor tonite and I'll use the Yukon Gold Idahoan for them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      Omg this is just brilliant! I'm a huge fan of cottage pie anyway, but this was just the best one ever. Made this for my boyfriend last night and even though we both weren't very hungry, we ended up eating this until we were almost sick! It's that good! I added a little tabasco sauce, garlic powder, peas, beans and other left-over vegetables as well - such a great way to use them up. We also used marisk's Mashed Potato instead and added some cheddar cheese on top. This will definitely become a regular in our household.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      This is a really good recipe, I really enjoyed the addition of mushrooms, which I have never had in a cottage pie before. The kids ate it all up which of coarse made me really happy. This will be a regular on our menu. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      Oh Joy, this was excellent! Yummy is right! Peter and I both went back for seconds! I used some leftover mash that I had in the freezer, so I let that thaw out and added it to a saucepan with melted butter and milk...I didn't even bother with the onion in the mash. I also used one very large red onion and had to used dried mushrooms as I was out of fresh. I baked it at 190C/375F for 30 minutes...yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      Best Cottage Pie I have ever tasted. Really loved this! Very easy to make. Followed recipe exactly except added grated cheddar cheese to top of potatoes which gave it a lovely finish. Will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2007

      My family loved this! I love it when everyone is happy! I added a little red wine when it was simmering. I also added 1 more tablespoon of tomato puree. We will definitely make this a lot. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cottage Pie-Simply the Best

    Serving Size: 1 (343 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 529.6
     
    Calories from Fat 210
    39%
    Total Fat 23.4 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 8.1 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 113.9 mg
    37%
    Sodium 895.0 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.7 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 39.7 g
    79%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    milk

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes