Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cottage Pie (authentic Irish recipe)
    Lost? Site Map

    Cottage Pie (authentic Irish recipe)

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on March 18, 2002

      I made this for our St. Patricks Day cook a thon. Was very tasty and we all liked the potato topping,I have a similar recipe. Its easy to make. I added a dash of Worcestershire sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2003

      I really liked this recipe. I used homemade garlic-sour cream mashed potatoes to top it and put a layer of shredded cheddar cheese underneath the potatoes. Awesome flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2002

      My husband doesn't like my Shepherd's Pie (even though I love it) so I was hesistant to feed this to him, but he absolutely loved it. He added ketchup to it, but I thought this was a perfect dish as is. A good basic meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2006

      This recipe was great!! My husband and I couldn't get enough of it. The only thing I did different was to use fresh parsley and thyme and to use 1/4 - 1/2 t. poultry seasoning in place of the sage. Thanks for sharing..this is a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2004

      This was great! I made it for lunch today and the kids loved it! I used a large can of diced tomatoes instead of the fresh ones and I also added a package of brown gravy mix when I added the broth. What a good recipe, thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2010

      very nice

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      Great meal for the family. I added tomato paste as suggested to thicken it up and it came out wonderful. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      Very good recipe...we enjoyed it...I did add a little tomato paste to thicken it up some...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      Yum. A good blending of flavours. I will add more thyme and sage next time, as I love these flavours. I also added a heaped teasp of mustard, and some milk and butter to the potatoes as I mashed them. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      Loved it! This is a wonderful recipe, and will stay with our family from now on. Definately a keeper! The first time I made this recipe was for St. Patty's Day, and my husband loved it so much I didn't have enough! So I will have to double up on the ingredients from now on. Thank you so much for sharing this with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      What a great tasting pie. Didn't change a thing. Will have again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      great recipe EASY to make too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2006

      I used this "core" recipe in making cottage pie with another recipe that incorporated a tin of soup and beans. The flavour was spot on and the consistency was perfect. Thank you to both your recipes - the sage and thyme added an extra sparkle to the pallet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      This is one to make when you want to get away from the gravy-based shepherd's pies. The flavors of thyme and sage with the loose meat is very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2006

      Very good, fast dinner, I added a layer of cheese prior to adding potatoes. I used mashed potatoes in cold meat department of super market. "ready made" saved time. We really enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2004

      This was delicious! I loved the addition of fresh tomatoes in this - it gave the filling a burst of color and a nice flavor. I used extra lean ground beef and reduced sodium beef broth. Easy, tasty version of one of my favorite family meals.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2004

      Tomatoes are not native to Ireland, true, but they've found their way into almost every 'national' cuisine where they have been introduced. Look at Italy, for example... Very good recipe(:

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2004

      irish food does NOT have tomatoes in! I am from dublin, I know!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2004

      The flavor was great, but I found it a little soupy, would be better if broth was thickened a little, like a gravy. Family really enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2004

      I needed to prepare an Irish Covered Dish for my office party and came to this website to see what recipes there were. I saw this one and decided to try it. Everyone ate the ENTIRE casserole and RAVED about how excellent it was. Prep time was a little lengthy for me, but not complicated. And I substituted regular mashed potatoes for mashed potatoes with Velveeta melted and mixed in. A huge hit! Highly recommended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cottage Pie (authentic Irish recipe)

    Serving Size: 1 (338 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 524.6
     
    Calories from Fat 245
    46%
    Total Fat 27.2 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 10.5 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 107.9 mg
    35%
    Sodium 257.9 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.4 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 32.8 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes