123 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was AWESOME! We made it for dinner for a vegetarian couple of ours and weren't sure what to expect. NOW - this will become a staple in our weekly rotations! DELICIOUS. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ennoia September 01, 2009

WOW!!! I was doubtful about this recipe with the ingredients until I read all the reviews and then I made it this week. Unbelievable how much it tastes like real meatloaf. I used 3 eggs and oatmeal and added garlic powder and worchestshire sauce. I also lined the loaf pan as DangerBun suggested. Came out so easy. Looking forward to leftovers and will definitely make again. Thanks for a winner!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty August 06, 2009

My 14 year old new vegetarian is eating this!! Thanks so much. I snuck in a little shredded carrot and a little wort sauce. It is really great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rosana T. July 09, 2009

mmmm!!! absolutely fabulous! I didn't have any nuts to add, so I just used 2 cups of corn flakes and called it good. I also added 1/4 cup of chopped olives, and I think they were a pretty darn good addition. maybe i'll add more next time. coming out of the oven it looked amazing, but it sort of fell shortly after. it was probably my fault, but just an observation. however, the taste was absolutely fantastic and I will definately make this again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katemonster8 June 08, 2009

I didn't have onion soup mix, so I added a few of my own seasonings - salt, dried peppers, garlic powder, seaweed flakes, and some dry mustard. I also topped the loaf with marinara sauce, drained the cottage cheese as was suggested, and omitted the oil. It turned out fantastic! I can't believe there was no meat in there whatsoever! And my husband, the picky one, told me this was a keeper. Fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Mellie~ June 03, 2009

This tasted great, but I am rating it 4 instead of 5 because I followed the recipe exactly but the meatloaf fell apart and it was mushy. I cooked it for 65 minutes, so I don't think it was undercooked. If I make it again I'll try cooking it for 70 minutes and see if that fixes the problem.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcG April 28, 2009

I was skeptical after looking at the list of ingredients, but it turned out as promised and is very tasty too. When my husband walked in I asked what does it smell like i'm cooking?, he said meatloaf and I asked what does it look like? and he said meatloaf! I topped it with a mix of half bbq sauce and half ketchup. Next time I would use others advice and throw everything in the food processor. This recipe really surprised me. I will make it again for sure. I love the leftovers cold, reminds me of being a teen and stealing Mom's meatloaf from the fridge late at night when I got home.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrVanilla April 18, 2009

This is amazing. I've tried every vegetarian meatloaf recipe out there, and this is far and away the BEST!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb 3663 April 05, 2009

This is extremely good! I put all ingredients in a food processor to get rid of the evidence of what was actually in this (given the slightly odd combination), and it was well received by all those who tried it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zach #3 March 21, 2009

I am not a vegetarian, but gave up eating meat for the month of March as a Christmas gift to my brother. I also like meatloaf so I was very curious to try this, given the reviews that it's just like meatloaf. Maybe if you haven't had meatloaf in a while, you'd be fooled. I did enjoy it, but it was not as similar as I would have hoped. The modifications I made (based on previous reviews) were to use 2/3 c. chopped walnuts with 1/3 c. ground flax seed, 1/3 c. ketchup in the mix, and omitting the oil. It was perfectly moist without the oil - and maybe a little to spongey.. I think a key for the future would be to grind the walnuts in a food processor to make them more the consistency of bread crumbs. Also, crushing the corn flakes (I actually used Total) might help it be less soggy. I did enjoy it, but I'm only giving 3 starts because it was not the "Wow! Just like meatloaf!" I was expecting. By the way, I think it has more of a meatloaf taste and texture when cold.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KimRaber March 04, 2009
Cottage Cheese Roast (Vegetarian Meatloaf)