Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cottage Cheese Roast (Vegetarian Meatloaf) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cottage Cheese Roast (Vegetarian Meatloaf)

    Average Rating:

    122 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 122

    Sort by:

    • on April 16, 2007

      I had to try this and I have been playing the "Healthy Choices ABC Game" here on Zarr so I took this as my tag choice for letter C. I was delighted with the results. I had been a little unsure about the use of the dry soup mix and a bit fearful that I would have a dish that "tasted like meat". Not a fan of meatloaf in the first place, for me this was taking a risk. I think the taste of the veggies prevailed!!! I made slight alterations in my making of the dish: 2 eggs and 1/2 cup of egg substitute, 2 TBSP of olive oil, a cup of chopped carrots and a 1/2 cup of chopped celery. I did the onions, walnuts and dry soup mix as suggested. I used low fat large curd cottage cheese, 2 cups of bran flakes, a 1/2 cup of grape nuts and coated the top of the loaf with oats. It was a big hit as super with a spinach salad as a side dish. So filling!!! I also liked the leftovers cold!! This is one of those great Zarr finds that you can keep playing with...I have already made a mini sweet cheese loaf base on the same idea with cranberries and pecans. This really is a must recipe for everyone!! Fun, surprising and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2007

      Wow! Looks, smells, and (kinda) tastes like meatloaf! It definately tastes more like meatloaf than Really Good Vegetarian Meatloaf (Really!). Meatloaf was one of my favorite dishes when I was a kid. Now i'm a veggie and this is a good substitute. Be careful not to cook it too long and dry it out. I guess I had the feeling that it was meat so I made sure to cook it well done, but wasn't necessary. I wish it had some tomato sauce in it though, but not sure how to add it to the recipe. I also felt like it would be good with corn mixed in?? Maybe i'm weird.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      Absolutely loved it. Perhaps I didn't cook it long enough, but mine was a little too moist; however, it was delicious! It browned nicely and I put ketchup on the top because DH likes it. He really liked this. It tastes just like a meatloaf. Since we're vegetarian, we appreciate anything that appears to be the kind of comfort food we had when we were young. Made it with mashed potatoes too. MMmmmmmmm You're so kind to share it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2006

      Awesome!!!!!!!!! It was outstanding. Needless to say I was somewhat leary about it. Only one change I made was to substitute the corn flakes for oatmeal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2006

      It is quite amazing how good this is and how much it tastes like meat. My DH could not believe what the ingredients consisted of!! I love finding good vegetarian recipes. I left out the vegetable oil as I could not see the point of adding more fat and it was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2006

      Wow what a hit! Very easy to make! I substituted pecans for the walnuts as that was what I had on hand. I have several people asking for the recipe. My husband loved it too! Next time I might follow 'PKG's idea and add ketchup and put the BBQ sauce on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2006

      I served this for my husband and some company for dinner. The first response they had was, "...Wow....wow." I had let them know before hand about the ingredients. DH said, "If you hadn't told me it was meatless, I would have just suggested to add more egg to the recipe." It was delicious! I read the other reviews and added 1/2 c ketchup mixed with 1 tb of BBQ sauce on top of the loaf before putting it into the oven. Mine cooked for 70 minutes and I let it sit for 10. This is a keeper, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2006

      I have been making this for years and everyone loves it. My father would NEVER eat cottage cheese, but he loved this roast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      I used Grape Nuts cereal because I didn't have any Corn Flakes. The oil I used was walnut oil. It tasted (and looked) like meat to me, but it may not fool a meat lover. It was very good, but I think it needs a sauce of some kind. I spooned some homemade spaghetti sauce on top and served it with pasta and vegetables sauteed in the sauce. Thanks for a good recipe Connie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2006

      We aren't vegetarians so take my review with a grain of salt. I was compelled by curiousity to try this recipe and was hoping to fool my family but no such luck. Lot's of "what did you do to the meatloaf?" and "why does it look funny?" The color was a turn off, so maybe the addition of a browning sauce would be nice. The texture wasn't quite like beef, but not too bad either. I'm glad we tried something new & different and I thank you for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2006

      If you have ever made Ann Lander's meatloaf, this is what it tastes like. It is the onion soup mix that gives it its flavor. I would never have tried it except for the glowing reviews. I agree with DangerBun that small curd cottage cheese is best, and grinding the nuts instead of chopping makes them less noticeable and gives the loaf a texture more like meat. If you don't want your loaf to be a meat substitute but rather to stand on its own as a veggie loaf, then chopping the nuts to add texture is the way to go. I used only 1 T. oil instead of the 1/4 cup and it was fine. You could probably omit it altogether. Also used two eggs, and EggBeaters to replace the other two eggs, and that worked fine also. Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2006

      This loaf is just wonderful, everything the other reviewers said! I used 1% cottage cheese, Lipton onion soup mix (my vegetarian friend warns me that not all are truly vegetarian, so read the ingredient list), and low sugar flakes (bought in bulk at the health food store, so I think they were kamut/flax). The resulting loaf was a burnished deep brown, but very moist...lovely to look at, delicious to eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2006

      A must try recipe! Usually when I try a meatless meal, the family grins and bears it, but they all ready enjoyed this. If you don't want your family to know what's in it... don't let them see it before it's cooked. We will enjoy this again, soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2006

      Bravo! I had almost given up on meatloaf, but this one is the keeper. I love it so much, the walnuts make it top notch. I put them in the processor to make very fine

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2006

      I finally tried this recipe, and we are very happy and full! Like others, I didn't tell my husband it was vegetarian. He didn't even know. Instead, he said it was one of the better meatloaves he's eaten. I agree. It looks like meatloaf and smells and tastes like meatloaf except it's not heavy or greasy. There's no drippings to make a gravy, though. I used 2% cottage cheese and 1/2 cup almond meal in place of the walnuts. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe. From now on I will be making this "meatloaf".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2005

      I've been wanting to make this for awhile, and finally got around to it! I used Special K and didn't quite have enough cottage cheese so added a little sour cream. Delcious tasting loaf. I took this to a pot luck and it was well revieved! Thanks so much Connie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2005

      I've been making this delicious & somewhat bizarre recipe for a few years. It's quite nutritious and couldn't be easier to make. I use pecans or sunflower seeds instead of walnuts, and small curd cottage cheese seems to work best. I line the loaf pan with parchment and removal (& cleanup) is a breeze. I often use leftovers in sandwiches. Thanks for posting, Connie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2005

      The finished loaf was a delicious, amazing surprise! I made this mostly out of curiosity because I had no idea how this crazy mixture of ingredients could taste like anything even vaguely resembling meatloaf. But it does, and it even fooled my DH who flipped when I told him how it was made. This first time I followed the directions and the list of ingredients, (except for substituting a whole grain spelt and oat flake for the Special K), but like the other reviewers I will probably add my own favorite seasonings and serve it with a creamy mushroom sauce or a spicy tomato gravy. I can't wait to make it again. I hope more people discover this fun, healthy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2004

      Tried this based on the reviews, not really expecting much and had some sliced ham in the frig as backup, just in case. Didn't need the ham. Loved this. Really, really good even to red meat addicts like Dh. Plan to have a spicy sauce ready on the side for those who like a little zip to their meatloaf. I used 1% cottage cheese and whole grain wheat and flaxseed flakes and they were perfectly acceptable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2004

      This was absolutely AWSOME!! Kitchen Alchemy or whatever, this was just excellent. I am not a vegetarian, however, I do like lots of non meat dishes. This will be at the top of the list. It handles just like meatloaf. And it makes great sandwiches too. Any sauce (chili, ketchup etc.) or mustard goes well with this. I'm really glad I stumbled across this recipe. Thanks Connie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cottage Cheese Roast (Vegetarian Meatloaf)

    Serving Size: 1 (121 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 282.7
     
    Calories from Fat 192
    68%
    Total Fat 21.4 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 103.3 mg
    34%
    Sodium 580.6 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 12.8 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites