123 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Love this recipe! I used All Bran cereal instead of corn flakes and added ketchup to the mix. I also let it chill for a couple hours before baking. I'll be making this again and again. Thanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview April 11, 2010

I substituted some taco seasoning instead of the onion mix and it was amazing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LOR #5 March 25, 2010

yummy! it really does taste like meatloaf.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenniferM March 10, 2010

Very easy to make and really good. Prep was super simple and extremely quick - we threw the nuts and onion into a food processor. We used cashews because of a walnut allergy, and subbed Total for Cornflakes, but otherwise followed the recipe. My husband is not a vegetarian and he enjoyed it, also. We will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
domesticdivawannabe February 25, 2010

This recipe turned out better than I expected. I had to make substitutions with what I had on hand - low fat cottage cheese, green onion dip mix, spanish peanuts, and Barbara's whole wheat shredded spoonful cereal. Everything went together well and it was easy. I mixed everything together in the morning so after work all I had to do was throw it in the oven. This went nicely with some garlic mashed potatoes. I ate mine with bbq sauce, my bf preferred it with Super Simple Spicy Ketchup. Thanks for posting. This is something I would make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie November 11, 2009

I was really excited to try this recipe and hopeful that I would some results that matched the glowing reviews. But, I was just on the fence about this recipe. It was a nice, decent meal, but not something that I loved, or would make again without many revisions. I have never had a meatloaf made from actual meat before, so am not comparing it to that. I much prefer Really Good Vegetarian Meatloaf (Really!) as far as veg meatloaf goes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eatrealfood October 02, 2009

Excellent idea! We've always diluted beef meatloaf with rolled oats and used cottage cheese in lasagna, so this sounded great from the start. We used 1.5 cups of "Uncle Sam" wheat/flax cereal plus 1 cup of rolled oats, and left out the nuts completely. We used one small can tomato paste, plus a splash of spicy barbeque sauce and a splash of Worchestershire sauce, and a bit of brown sugar. Dried minced onions replaced fresh. We don't like the preservatives in most onion soup mixes, so we added pinches of salt, pepper, cayenne, onion powder and garlic powder to taste. One last change was to reduce the oil by half to 2 tablespoons of good olive oil. (Without the nuts, you do need to use a little oil.) We stored the uncooked mixture in a plastic container overnight in the refrigerator to really blend the flavors and soften the grains; the liquids from the cottage cheese and sauces absorbed beautifully. We baked the mixture in a greased loaf pan for 30 minutes, then topped it with 2 tablespoons of brown sugar to make a slightly sweet "crust" during the last 30 minutes of baking. After it rested for 15 minutes, we sliced the loaf and served it with a simple potato gratin and steamed asparagus. Absolutely delicious! And, it's almost even better cold on a sandwich. We're trying to reduce fats and cholesterols as we add fiber to our diets, so this will definitely be a repeat dish. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Lauri~ September 07, 2009

Oh My Gosh!!!!! This recipe was so easy to make and it was delicious. My family was convinced it was real beef and I still haven't told them that it wasnt :). I added some ketchup to the loaf and put a simple ketchup brown sugar and molasses sauce on top because we like ours more tomatoey. This is a terrific vegetarian recipe that I can make over and over again for my carnivorous family.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melcat September 03, 2009

Whoaaa....what a weird recipe! I was so skeptical, but it came out AMAZING!!! Just a tiny bit soggy, but that's probably because I over-cottage cheesed it. I'll try it again with a higher corn flakes: cottage cheese ratio. I threw in some bbq sauce and a splash of worchestershire for extra flavor. So good! Even my meat-loving DH LOVED it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NewlywedRunner September 02, 2009
Cottage Cheese Roast (Vegetarian Meatloaf)