Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cottage Cheese Roast (Vegetarian Meatloaf) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cottage Cheese Roast (Vegetarian Meatloaf)

    Average Rating:

    120 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 120

    Sort by:

    • on April 16, 2008

      Ok, so I made a lot of changes to this recipe but I'm rating on the bones of the recipe which definitely calls for a 5. I've made a lot of vegetarian meatloafs and can never get a good consistency. I happened to be making Vegetable Pancakes vegetable pancakes(fantastic!) so I had some leftover grated veggies so I added them and I added some garlic and covered the whole thing with ketchup cause I like loaf that way. I kept the basics of the cottage cheese,eggs,walnuts (ground very fine because I don't like the taste but they really help the texture) and the cornflakes and that's what made the great consistency and held it together so well. My advice is to play around with extras but keep these things because Connie is right on the money that these make this a great recipe. Thanks much Connie!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      Excellent recipe and so simple to make! I've added some Worchestershire, BBQ sauce and some parsley to the original recipe for some extra flavour and it turned out amazing. You can literally fool any carnivore with it! Connie, big thank you for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      Sorry but both my husband and myself did not like this dish. We didn't like the texture and felt that it really was missing something but we couldn't put our finger on it. Thanks for posting though - I am always ready to try something new.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      Very good!!! Nice flavour, nice texture. I added a little bit more dried onion. And as suggested by others BBQ sauce and worchestshire sauce. I'll be making this one again. Soon!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      This turned out pretty well. It's flavor reminded me of stuffing, but then I haven't tasted meatloaf for 20 years. I made a half-batch, with nonfat cottage cheese & three egg whites. I used a full soup mix envelope, though and probably will again. I also tripled the onion content and added some minced broccoli & carrots. The texture was especially good, and it held up well as a leftover in sandwiches. The flavor was nice-- nutty & oniony-- but a little tame. Next time I'll probably toss in some sundried tomatoes or minced banana peppers for a bit more oomph. Still, definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      THis is a truly surprising recipe. How could these ingredients make a meat-like- loaf? I don't know but somehow they do. Anyway, here are my thoughts. THe taste of this was truly awesome. I would not change a thing. I did not chop my walnuts very well and so wound up with definate chunks of walnuts. I like walnuts so this was not a dissapiontment but if you are looking for a smooth meat-like texture make sure you chop well! And, I did not mix the ingredients very well so I had some small pockets of cottage cheese in the final loaf. All in all, this was truly a great recipe. Make it if you like meat or not!!! Thanks Connie K!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      My niece says meatloaf without meat is just "Loaf" but they all loved this one. Served with mashed potatoes and lemon garlic green beans...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      Well, there you go. 33, mostly 5 Star Ratings can't be wrong. We have been vegetarian for a while now, but one of my husbands fondest Meatatarian Memories is his mothers meatloaf. When I saw this recipe, I knew I had to try it. I added just a couple of things to make it more like hers: 1/2 can tomato soup into the mixture, with about 1/2 cup parmesan cheese. About 1/2 hour before it was ready to come out of the oven, I spread the remaining 1/2 can of soup on top. It came out perfectly. My husband declared it "A keeper; one to add to The Rotation," and then asked for seconds. In our house, that means 5 Stars. Thanks for sharing, Connie K.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      I tried this recipe with hesitancy, but based on the reviews, I was fairly confident it would turn out well. I was not disappointed. I used a low-fat small curd cottage cheese, 1 cup of eggbeaters, and only 1 Tbs oil. I kept the remaining ingredients exactly as the recipe is written. I couldn't understand how this was going to work until I added the onion soup mix. Then it made sense. I added BBQ sauce to the top, but next time I think I'll try a side of salsa. This was moist, delicious and easy to prepare. I am looking forward to trying this as a sandwich. I might even make this dish for some devout meat eaters to see how they react. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      Just like what I remember from church potlucks when I was a vegetarian child. I made this for my daughter this Christmas, as a main dish, because she is vegetarian. Even the meat eaters loved it. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      This was very odd but no one could tell it was mostly cottage cheese. If we were vegetarians I am sure this would be in the weekly line-up. Very unusual and I appreciate the originality.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      This recipe is AMAZING! Based on the recommendation of other reviewers, I added about half a cup of tomato sauce to the mixture, but other than that, stuck to the recipe. EVERYONE in my family LOVED it (which is in itself a very rare occasion - usually we only agree on cake and dessert recipes, and even then, not always :-), and of course, no one could figure out what the heck was in it. Luckily, they liked it so much that they continued to eat it even after I told them what a strange blend of ingredients was in there :-) I wonder who thought this recipe up... I've since shared the recipe with all my friends, and plan to make this on a regular basis. BTW, we are FAR from being vegetarians - 'nuff said?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      GREAT!EASY! Even my meat loving family loved this loaf. I added 1 small can of chopped green chiles, about 1 t of Greek seasoning and some garlic powder. I used olive oil, and cut back the amount slightly. After making this, I know it is a recipe that can be "played with" to get all sorts of flavors. I will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      This was a recipe that I had to try just because it seemed impossible that it would taste like meatloaf. WOW-it did! I am a vegetarian and my husband is not we both loved this and have already made it a few more times. I also used Special K with protein with great results. This one will be around our house for years to come! Thanks for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2007

      I've made this twice now. The first time it was just so-so as I am used to a more tomato-y flavored meatloaf. The second time I took a small can of tomato sauce and mixed it with an equal amount of water. I added half the tomato mixture to the loaf and used the other half spread on top as a sauce. Wow, what a difference, it was fantastic! I also used a dry vegetable soup mix from the kosher section instead of the onion due to personal preference. Great for vegetarians, we loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2007

      It was good, but was pretty lacking in flavor. I added catsup because i was desperate for something extra (after it was cooked), but it would definitely benefit from a tomato sauce in the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      Yes, this really is good! My mother could not believe it tasted so much like meatloaf!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2007

      Wow! This recipe may sound strange, but it is absolutely delicious. Even my DH and picky kids loved it. The kids liked ketchup on top. Also tastes good cold. This is a definite keeper - thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2007

      I had to try this and I have been playing the "Healthy Choices ABC Game" here on Zarr so I took this as my tag choice for letter C. I was delighted with the results. I had been a little unsure about the use of the dry soup mix and a bit fearful that I would have a dish that "tasted like meat". Not a fan of meatloaf in the first place, for me this was taking a risk. I think the taste of the veggies prevailed!!! I made slight alterations in my making of the dish: 2 eggs and 1/2 cup of egg substitute, 2 TBSP of olive oil, a cup of chopped carrots and a 1/2 cup of chopped celery. I did the onions, walnuts and dry soup mix as suggested. I used low fat large curd cottage cheese, 2 cups of bran flakes, a 1/2 cup of grape nuts and coated the top of the loaf with oats. It was a big hit as super with a spinach salad as a side dish. So filling!!! I also liked the leftovers cold!! This is one of those great Zarr finds that you can keep playing with...I have already made a mini sweet cheese loaf base on the same idea with cranberries and pecans. This really is a must recipe for everyone!! Fun, surprising and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2007

      Wow! Looks, smells, and (kinda) tastes like meatloaf! It definately tastes more like meatloaf than Really Good Vegetarian Meatloaf (Really!). Meatloaf was one of my favorite dishes when I was a kid. Now i'm a veggie and this is a good substitute. Be careful not to cook it too long and dry it out. I guess I had the feeling that it was meat so I made sure to cook it well done, but wasn't necessary. I wish it had some tomato sauce in it though, but not sure how to add it to the recipe. I also felt like it would be good with corn mixed in?? Maybe i'm weird.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cottage Cheese Roast (Vegetarian Meatloaf)

    Serving Size: 1 (121 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 282.7
     
    Calories from Fat 192
    68%
    Total Fat 21.4 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 103.3 mg
    34%
    Sodium 580.6 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 12.8 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites