Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cottage Cheese Roast (Vegetarian Meatloaf) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cottage Cheese Roast (Vegetarian Meatloaf)

    Average Rating:

    122 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 122

    Sort by:

    • on February 17, 2009

      It's true, this is really, really good. It seems just like meat, so tasty. I thought maybe because I hadn't eaten meat in quite awhile so I gave some to my non-vegetarian friend and she loved it and wants the recipe. I'm emailing it now. Thank you Connie K

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      Not bad. We didn't ring out the liquid from the cottage cheese, so it had to be cooked for quiet a bit longer which resulted in a non edible shell. Flavor is good, if we make this again we will use something other than the cottage cheese

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      I was very dubious about this recipe, and when it went into the pan I was thinking, "No way this can be like meatloaf." But it did brown up and get a good flavor. My hubby (meat eater) kept grabbing more bites of it. It did turn out way too wet though. Next time I will increase from 2 to 3 cups of corn flakes, squeeze out the cottage cheese with a cheesecloth, and increase the cooktime 10-15 minutes (beyond the stated max).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      Even though I read the previous reviews-I was a bit skeptical. Mmmmmm.... and so easy. I've been searching for a veg loaf with the right consistency for some time. I found it! Thanks. I have featured this recipe as my favorite for vegetarian meatloaf here: http://www.squidoo.com/vegetarian-meatloaf !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      I'm glad that I took a leap of faith and tried this recipe. It turned out surprisingly well and I'll be making it again. I used ketchup on the top and baked it for 70 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      It was good for a meatloaf without meat, but my family didn't like it very much. They ate it once it was coated it with ketchup, but by itself the texture made it kind of gross.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      I had to try this. I was a bit skeptical but it turned out great! DH asked what was in it before I served it but I wouldn't tell him. I did afterward and he was amazed. This will be a regular for us. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      I had a really hard time stopping eating this meal. It was so delicious! All the flavors went so well together. I added garlic like someone suggested and it turned out wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      I don't know if I could fool anyone I know into thinking this is meatloaf, but I wouldn't try to trick them because this loaf doesn't need the word "meat" to make it good. I really like it and can't see it going to waste even if I do live alone. I added garlic to it, otherwise made it as written. I agree with other reviewers that the oil could be omitted, especially if you grind the nuts, as I did. I suggest giving it a try, despite your apprehension ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      thank you for posting this!!.. i thought i would never eat something like this again in my life.. my best friend a dish like this in high school.. i added a can of tomato paste and use a veggie cube annnd bran flakes (just because of an empty pantry) i will make this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      Wow! I hate meatloaf but I loved this recipe. My husband loves meatloaf, but we've been going meat-free for a while now and he thought he'd see how this was. I stayed out of the way while he cooked this for us, and I have to say, I LOVED IT. Very good. Can't believe how much the look and texture was similar to a regular meatloaf. Hubbie substituted pecans for the walnuts since that was what we had, but followed the rest of the recipe as written. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      Amazing! I am not a fan of cottage cheese, but you can't even tell once the recipe is complete. My meat-eater husband was thoroughly impressed! I made a few modifications: I scaled down the recipe to 2 eggs but next time I think I will use 3, also left out the oil, and I used fresh wheat bread crumbs mixed with fine Italian bread crumbs instead of the corn flakes and walnuts. Thank you for giving me back one of my comfort foods in vegetarian form!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      Also skeptical when we heard of this, but we had a tub of cottage cheese to go through so we tried it. So tasty that we have made it twice in the past 2 weeks. We substituted chopped almonds for walnuts because we had some on hand and loved it! We also only used 2 eggs the first time and it came out great, and then the second time we also used two eggs and no oil. Even healthier!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      What a crazy recipe! Had to try it - but was a little skeptical. Turned out great! Especially good as leftover "meatloaf" sandwiches! I added tomato sauce to the mix & topped it off with additional sauce. I cut the olive oil in half & I think I'll delete the oil altogether next time. Thanks for the vegetarian treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      YUMMMMMY! Thanks for this! I'm a vegetarian and am always skeptical at "mock meat" dishes as they are very hit and miss. I have made this twice now. I put BBQ on top, but next time may mix like 1/8 to 1/4 C. each ketchup and BBQ right in the loaf. Also, I will certainly be adding a little worstershier next time. Make sure the nuts are finely ground as if they're not you get hard texture in this soft loaf. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      I really wasn't sure what to think of this. I subbed a packet of italian dressing mix in place of the soup mix and crushed cheez-it crackers instead of the corn flakes and crossed my fingers. It honestly came out of the oven looking pretty unappealing so I slathered some BBQ sauce over it and served it up. I was totally and happily shocked by how tasty and hearty this was. It was really comparable to tasty meatloaf!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      AWESOME! This is a weekly staple at our house now. So easy and delicious. My meat-eating husband loves it too. I don't care for onions much so I leave them out. The onion soup flavors it enough for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2008

      Very good but weird combination of ingredients that works! I omitted the oil, mixed in 1/2 cup of catsup, used half of the dry onion soup (not a lover of that stuff), and added in 1 teaspoon of Italian seasoning. The cereal was Special K with Protein. I used my food processor to grind up the walnut pieces. I did line two mini loaf pans with parchment paper and divided the mixture between them-super easy clean up. I, also, divided another 1/3 cup of catsup (for topping) between the two pans and baked for 65 minutes. It would be good with barbecue sauce on top but did not have mine defrosted. I served our meatloaf with baked potato, carrots, and tomato slices for a very healthy meal. Thanks Connie K for posting. Made for I Recommend...tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2008

      this is the best vegetarian meatloaf i have found by far...it will be made again :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cottage Cheese Roast (Vegetarian Meatloaf)

    Serving Size: 1 (121 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 282.7
     
    Calories from Fat 192
    68%
    Total Fat 21.4 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 103.3 mg
    34%
    Sodium 580.6 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 12.8 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes