Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cottage Cheese Roast (Vegetarian Meatloaf) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cottage Cheese Roast (Vegetarian Meatloaf)

    Average Rating:

    122 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 122

    Sort by:

    • on March 25, 2010

      I substituted some taco seasoning instead of the onion mix and it was amazing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      yummy! it really does taste like meatloaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      Very easy to make and really good. Prep was super simple and extremely quick - we threw the nuts and onion into a food processor. We used cashews because of a walnut allergy, and subbed Total for Cornflakes, but otherwise followed the recipe. My husband is not a vegetarian and he enjoyed it, also. We will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      This recipe turned out better than I expected. I had to make substitutions with what I had on hand - low fat cottage cheese, green onion dip mix, spanish peanuts, and Barbara's whole wheat shredded spoonful cereal. Everything went together well and it was easy. I mixed everything together in the morning so after work all I had to do was throw it in the oven. This went nicely with some garlic mashed potatoes. I ate mine with bbq sauce, my bf preferred it with Super Simple Spicy Ketchup. Thanks for posting. This is something I would make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      I was really excited to try this recipe and hopeful that I would some results that matched the glowing reviews. But, I was just on the fence about this recipe. It was a nice, decent meal, but not something that I loved, or would make again without many revisions. I have never had a meatloaf made from actual meat before, so am not comparing it to that. I much prefer Really Good Vegetarian Meatloaf (Really!) as far as veg meatloaf goes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

    • on September 07, 2009

      Excellent idea! We've always diluted beef meatloaf with rolled oats and used cottage cheese in lasagna, so this sounded great from the start. We used 1.5 cups of "Uncle Sam" wheat/flax cereal plus 1 cup of rolled oats, and left out the nuts completely. We used one small can tomato paste, plus a splash of spicy barbeque sauce and a splash of Worchestershire sauce, and a bit of brown sugar. Dried minced onions replaced fresh. We don't like the preservatives in most onion soup mixes, so we added pinches of salt, pepper, cayenne, onion powder and garlic powder to taste. One last change was to reduce the oil by half to 2 tablespoons of good olive oil. (Without the nuts, you do need to use a little oil.) We stored the uncooked mixture in a plastic container overnight in the refrigerator to really blend the flavors and soften the grains; the liquids from the cottage cheese and sauces absorbed beautifully. We baked the mixture in a greased loaf pan for 30 minutes, then topped it with 2 tablespoons of brown sugar to make a slightly sweet "crust" during the last 30 minutes of baking. After it rested for 15 minutes, we sliced the loaf and served it with a simple potato gratin and steamed asparagus. Absolutely delicious! And, it's almost even better cold on a sandwich. We're trying to reduce fats and cholesterols as we add fiber to our diets, so this will definitely be a repeat dish. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      Oh My Gosh!!!!! This recipe was so easy to make and it was delicious. My family was convinced it was real beef and I still haven't told them that it wasnt :). I added some ketchup to the loaf and put a simple ketchup brown sugar and molasses sauce on top because we like ours more tomatoey. This is a terrific vegetarian recipe that I can make over and over again for my carnivorous family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      Whoaaa....what a weird recipe! I was so skeptical, but it came out AMAZING!!! Just a tiny bit soggy, but that's probably because I over-cottage cheesed it. I'll try it again with a higher corn flakes: cottage cheese ratio. I threw in some bbq sauce and a splash of worchestershire for extra flavor. So good! Even my meat-loving DH LOVED it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      This was AWESOME! We made it for dinner for a vegetarian couple of ours and weren't sure what to expect. NOW - this will become a staple in our weekly rotations! DELICIOUS. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      WOW!!! I was doubtful about this recipe with the ingredients until I read all the reviews and then I made it this week. Unbelievable how much it tastes like real meatloaf. I used 3 eggs and oatmeal and added garlic powder and worchestshire sauce. I also lined the loaf pan as DangerBun suggested. Came out so easy. Looking forward to leftovers and will definitely make again. Thanks for a winner!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      My 14 year old new vegetarian is eating this!! Thanks so much. I snuck in a little shredded carrot and a little wort sauce. It is really great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      mmmm!!! absolutely fabulous! I didn't have any nuts to add, so I just used 2 cups of corn flakes and called it good. I also added 1/4 cup of chopped olives, and I think they were a pretty darn good addition. maybe i'll add more next time. coming out of the oven it looked amazing, but it sort of fell shortly after. it was probably my fault, but just an observation. however, the taste was absolutely fantastic and I will definately make this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      I didn't have onion soup mix, so I added a few of my own seasonings - salt, dried peppers, garlic powder, seaweed flakes, and some dry mustard. I also topped the loaf with marinara sauce, drained the cottage cheese as was suggested, and omitted the oil. It turned out fantastic! I can't believe there was no meat in there whatsoever! And my husband, the picky one, told me this was a keeper. Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      This tasted great, but I am rating it 4 instead of 5 because I followed the recipe exactly but the meatloaf fell apart and it was mushy. I cooked it for 65 minutes, so I don't think it was undercooked. If I make it again I'll try cooking it for 70 minutes and see if that fixes the problem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2009

      I was skeptical after looking at the list of ingredients, but it turned out as promised and is very tasty too. When my husband walked in I asked what does it smell like i'm cooking?, he said meatloaf and I asked what does it look like? and he said meatloaf! I topped it with a mix of half bbq sauce and half ketchup. Next time I would use others advice and throw everything in the food processor. This recipe really surprised me. I will make it again for sure. I love the leftovers cold, reminds me of being a teen and stealing Mom's meatloaf from the fridge late at night when I got home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      This is amazing. I've tried every vegetarian meatloaf recipe out there, and this is far and away the BEST!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      This is extremely good! I put all ingredients in a food processor to get rid of the evidence of what was actually in this (given the slightly odd combination), and it was well received by all those who tried it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      I am not a vegetarian, but gave up eating meat for the month of March as a Christmas gift to my brother. I also like meatloaf so I was very curious to try this, given the reviews that it's just like meatloaf. Maybe if you haven't had meatloaf in a while, you'd be fooled. I did enjoy it, but it was not as similar as I would have hoped. The modifications I made (based on previous reviews) were to use 2/3 c. chopped walnuts with 1/3 c. ground flax seed, 1/3 c. ketchup in the mix, and omitting the oil. It was perfectly moist without the oil - and maybe a little to spongey.. I think a key for the future would be to grind the walnuts in a food processor to make them more the consistency of bread crumbs. Also, crushing the corn flakes (I actually used Total) might help it be less soggy. I did enjoy it, but I'm only giving 3 starts because it was not the "Wow! Just like meatloaf!" I was expecting. By the way, I think it has more of a meatloaf taste and texture when cold.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      I used this recipe bc I had tons of cottage cheese in the frig I purchased on sale. I used extra chopped onions, beef bullion paste, mushrooms, and italian seasoning in place of the soup. I didn't have the flakes, so I used a kashi high fiber cereal instead. I forgot to aid the oil. It came out very good. My husband called it "another high quality meal". Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cottage Cheese Roast (Vegetarian Meatloaf)

    Serving Size: 1 (121 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 282.7
     
    Calories from Fat 192
    68%
    Total Fat 21.4 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 103.3 mg
    34%
    Sodium 580.6 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 12.8 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes