123 Reviews

My husband and I did not care for this meatloaf. It seem to lack flavor, and it didn't even come close to tasting like a meatloaf.! We ended up topping our slices with Sweet Baby Ray's Sweet 'n Spicy Barbecue Sauce, which was the only thing that gave this meatloaf flavor. We did eat 2 slices, but ended up throwing out the rest. Guess we much prefer our meatloaf made with real beef.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Domestic Goddess January 07, 2015

We've made this for years from a recipe from my SDA friend. We prefer Special K (in fact it's called Special K loaf). For the last half hour, cover with ketchup, a delicate sprinkle of brown sugar and vegetarian bacon strips. It's simply fantastic. We serve it with cauliflower "mashed potatoes" and peas and it's a family favorite. Do try - you won't be sorry!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thenIsaid May 20, 2014

I've also used pecans and that is good too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aaron fair January 11, 2014

I've made this several times now since it is so good. To keep it from being too salty, I just use half a package of seasoning (onion soup, taco seasoning or meatloaf mix.) I then boost up the flavor with extra fresh onions or dehydrated vegetables. I've also made this with all Italian seasonings, including fennel seeds. Delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jwoodrome2001_9467046 May 14, 2013

Well I must admit I was pretty skeptical, even more so when I saw the big mess of stuff in the bowl. But I had come this far so I decided to cook it up. Well...I am currently eating this and I must say I like it! It has a nice texture and pleasing taste. I added a couple of finely chopped sauted mushrooms to mine....<br/>Smelled really good while cooking and looks just like regular meatloaf other than the curds of cottage cheese which somehow maintained their shape. (I think I used large curd). Regardless, tastes good and I give it 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Reggie's Mom April 29, 2013

So delicious! Made recipe as directed with some flax seed added, very yum. Next time I will use less onion soup mix, was a bit too salty for me. Another review was dead on when they said that it does not look like much when you put it in oven, but when you take it out, it looks like old fashioned meatloaf! Used my leftovers in wheat pita pocket with spinach, that was even delicious. Will be making this again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sassy12376 March 22, 2013

Husband & I Vegetarian since 1989. Have made many a loaf/roast. This one is a wonderful find. Easy, fast and unbelievably good. Great consistency, texture and taste. Only changes I made: subbed dried onion for fresh and a packet of dry ranch dressing for dry onion soup mix - what I had in pantry. Baked in convection oven for full 70 minutes. Will reduce 15 minutes next time. Will make this frequently, varying the seasoning and add-ins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateMcD March 19, 2013

This was absolutely amazing! Being a vegetarian in the south, it is incredibly difficult to find home-like comfort food and this is by far the best recipe I have found to match that description. I followed the recipe exactly, using two cups of store brand corn flakes. I also used low fat cottage cheese. I was amazed with how good this was and how closely it resembled real meat loaf. I will definitely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cmjennings1590 February 15, 2013

Wow I really loved this "meatloaf." It only has a vague meaty flavor, but I don't really like vegetarian food that tastes like meat anyway I ended up using bran flakes instead of corn flakes, and left out the onion, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Very tasty- I will be making this often :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer December 11, 2012

good texture but very bland.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laureen in B.C. October 27, 2012
Cottage Cheese Roast (Vegetarian Meatloaf)