Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cottage Cheese Roast (Vegetarian Meatloaf) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cottage Cheese Roast (Vegetarian Meatloaf)

    Average Rating:

    121 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 121

    Sort by:

    • on February 29, 2008

      First of all let me say that I AM NOT a vegetarian. But this is a really great tasting vegetarian loaf!! I did make quite a few substitutions due to other reviews and am listing as someone might find something useful. For the cup of walnuts I used 1/4 cup of walnuts finely chopped, about 1/3 cup of ground flax seed and finished the cup with wheat bran. I didn't have any Special K and used ground, high protein, whole wheat bread crumbs (2 cups). For extra flavor I added ketchup (about 1/3 cup), worchestershire sauce (1- 2 Tablespoons), garlic, parsley, salt and chervil. Did not use any of the vegetable oil as there is enough oil in the walnuts and ground flax seed. No need to add extra fat and calories. The eggs hold this loaf together wonderfully. Baked in mini loaf pans for about 40 minutes and topped with more ketchup. Absolutely outstanding flavor, moist and just as good if not better than any meat loaf I've ever made! You can be sure I'll be making this again and again. I served this with steamed asparagus and cheesy mashed potatoes. Thanks so much for posting Connie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2011

      In short: this meatloaf is AMAZING. Go make it now. Stop reading reviews, don't even bother to get out of your pjs, just leave the house and run to the store now to make this.

      This will now be a permanent part of our frequent dinners rotation. To die for delicious vegetarian meatloaf. Tastes just like the meatloaf I remember from childhood, but without that meaty-gross aftertaste. WOW. THANK YOU FOR THIS!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2012

      like everyone has said, it's an impressive approximation of meatloaf.
      and yes, it all seems an odd fit and you don't think it looks right when you put it in the oven, but it is!

      if you're making your own spice mix, 1oz = 2T, though keep in mind 2T of say, cayenne, will not be pleasant.

      i'm not really a fan of the medley texture, so really mincing the nuts to keep the different textures down, helps me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2014

      I was very eager to try out this recipe, and wanted so badly to like it. I made it as written, but could not eat it. Let me just say that the consistency was pretty accurate, though obviously true meatloaf will be firmer. The flavor was entirely lacking, with the exception of a ketchup-based glaze I made on the top. If I were ever to take another crack at this recipe, here is what I would do: 1) follow another poster's suggestion to use Stove Top stuffing in lieu of the corn flakes 2) add more finely chopped onion and put in chopped bell pepper as well and 3) make sure those walnuts are ground to oblivion. Hope this is helpful, as it is intended to be!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2011

      I was looking for a way to use up cottage cheese and stumbled on to this recipe. I had never heard of this before but all the ingredients were things we like and the photo by Kathy228 was so impressive that I thought I'd give it a try and am glad I did. I hate reviews were people change every ingredient but after I started making this I discovered I had no corn flakes so I had to substitute Stove Top dressing mix and I'm so glad I did. It really added a good flavor. Other than that I wouldn't change a thing. I loved the nuts in the meatloaf. This smelled heavenly while cooking. I didn't tell my family it wasn't meatloaf and no one knew. Amazing! Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      This was great!! Instead of the oil I added 6 TB of flax seed. I used 1 1/2 cups of bran flakes and 1/2 cup of oatmeal. And fat free cottage cheese. I used the sauce from recipe http://www.food.com/recipe/meatloaf-yes-virginia-there-is-a-great-meatloaf-54257 to put on the top. I made sure that the pan was well greased.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      OK, how funny is this stuff?!?!? Love that it tastes great and that it stays together (not crumbly like many other "veggie loaves"). I used sunflower seeds in place of the walnuts, added a handful of grated carrots (totally melted in and were undetectable), and instead of oil I added some Heinz 57 sauce. Mine was a tad bit salty, so next time I will not use Heinz 57 sauce, but use some unsalted tomato sauce. We topped ours off with some mushroom gravy. . .yummo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      I'm quite impressed with this recipe. I only made one ingredient change, which was adding dried onions instead of fresh. This is easy to make and all 3 of my kiddos love it. DH is very much a carnivore and even proclaimed it 'ok'. Instead of making this in a loaf pan I portioned it out into muffin cups. I froze the leftovers but I haven't tried the frozen portions yet (I'll post on the outcome of this once I try it). The frozen portions are all gone and they were as wonderful as the just-baked. Thanks so much for this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      Just amazing! I've been searching for a meatless recipe that tastes like actual meatloaf and this definetly fits the bill. I only made a few very small modifications- instead of walnuts I used almonds and I didn't use any chopped onions. This will be made again. I can't to use the leftovers on sandwiches tomorrow. Update: I made this 2x in one week- that's how great it it... Leftovers are excellent, and I love using the leftovers on hamburger buns with pickle and mustard- it kind of reminds me of "sliders". I have made this with and without nuts, and both are great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2014

      We've made this for years from a recipe from my SDA friend. We prefer Special K (in fact it's called Special K loaf). For the last half hour, cover with ketchup, a delicate sprinkle of brown sugar and vegetarian bacon strips. It's simply fantastic. We serve it with cauliflower "mashed potatoes" and peas and it's a family favorite. Do try - you won't be sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2014

      I've also used pecans and that is good too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2013

      I've made this several times now since it is so good. To keep it from being too salty, I just use half a package of seasoning (onion soup, taco seasoning or meatloaf mix.) I then boost up the flavor with extra fresh onions or dehydrated vegetables. I've also made this with all Italian seasonings, including fennel seeds. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2013

      Well I must admit I was pretty skeptical, even more so when I saw the big mess of stuff in the bowl. But I had come this far so I decided to cook it up. Well...I am currently eating this and I must say I like it! It has a nice texture and pleasing taste. I added a couple of finely chopped sauted mushrooms to mine....<br/>Smelled really good while cooking and looks just like regular meatloaf other than the curds of cottage cheese which somehow maintained their shape. (I think I used large curd). Regardless, tastes good and I give it 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2013

      So delicious! Made recipe as directed with some flax seed added, very yum. Next time I will use less onion soup mix, was a bit too salty for me. Another review was dead on when they said that it does not look like much when you put it in oven, but when you take it out, it looks like old fashioned meatloaf! Used my leftovers in wheat pita pocket with spinach, that was even delicious. Will be making this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2013

      Husband & I Vegetarian since 1989. Have made many a loaf/roast. This one is a wonderful find. Easy, fast and unbelievably good. Great consistency, texture and taste. Only changes I made: subbed dried onion for fresh and a packet of dry ranch dressing for dry onion soup mix - what I had in pantry. Baked in convection oven for full 70 minutes. Will reduce 15 minutes next time. Will make this frequently, varying the seasoning and add-ins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2013

      This was absolutely amazing! Being a vegetarian in the south, it is incredibly difficult to find home-like comfort food and this is by far the best recipe I have found to match that description. I followed the recipe exactly, using two cups of store brand corn flakes. I also used low fat cottage cheese. I was amazed with how good this was and how closely it resembled real meat loaf. I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2012

      Wow I really loved this "meatloaf." It only has a vague meaty flavor, but I don't really like vegetarian food that tastes like meat anyway I ended up using bran flakes instead of corn flakes, and left out the onion, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Very tasty- I will be making this often :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2012

      good texture but very bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2012

      Loved, loved, loved it! Followed recipe exactly. We served it with mashed potatoes, corn and barbecue sauce. My young kids only ate a few bites but my husband had three servings. This is a keeper for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2012

      I just couldn't believe how these simple ingredients make such a great meal! My husband's a vego but I'm not so we're always trying to make dinners to satisfy both our palettes and this did! Delicious and filling :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cottage Cheese Roast (Vegetarian Meatloaf)

    Serving Size: 1 (121 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 282.7
     
    Calories from Fat 192
    68%
    Total Fat 21.4 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 103.3 mg
    34%
    Sodium 580.6 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 12.8 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites