Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cottage Cheese Fruit Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cottage Cheese Fruit Salad

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on April 15, 2013

      This turned out to be light and delicious! We didn't think it was overly sweet at all. I used strawberry jello, fruit cocktail, and small English walnut pieces. Terri F., thank you for the recipe! It's a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2012

      Subbed a cup of full fat sour cream plus 1/4 cup plain kefir for the Cool Whip to avoid the hydrogenated palm kernel oil (blech). Used parfait glasses and poured a layer of sugar-free orange gelatin mixed per usual instructions. Once it set, split a can of light syup drained mandarin oranges between the 4 glasses. Made the smush using sugar - free orange gelatin. Plenty sweet w/o so much empty carb. Pretty and filling Keeper. Will try w/peach gelatin and canned peaches next w/same layering.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      This was very good, but it just seemed too sweet to me with the addition of the jell-o. Next time I guess I wouldn't add the whole packet. Also, it really didn't seem like it had enough fruit so next time I am going to add more. It comes out pretty mushy so I definitely recommend adding some kind of nuts into this; I added pecans and they were a great addition. I also added some miniature marshmallows.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      We have tasted better fruit salads, and I blame it on dull fruit cocktail. Perhaps fresh fruit instead, like strawberries or raspberries, would have made it tastier, although no one seemed to care for the cottage cheese consistency either. Sorry, Terri, for being in the minority--just not for our taste buds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

    • on February 28, 2010

      I made this for my family birthday dinner last night. It was very well recieved. We really liked this and I loved the fact that it is soooooo easy to make. I always have these ingredients on hand. I did use orange jello and mandarin oranges, but can't wait to try other combinations. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      I made this for Thanksgiving and used oragne Jello and mandarin oranges. The kids and adults loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      What a yummy fruit salad. I used raspberry sugar free jello, fruit cocktail and fat free coolwhip to make it a little lighter for my waist. I had it along with breakfast and also had it as a snack. The pecans gave it a nice crunch. I can see making several combos of this in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      Easy nice fruit salad. Everyone loved it, but I had a tiny issue with the cottage cheese texture. It didn't bother anyone else so I rated it 5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      This has been a favorite in my family for years. We use orange jello, and mandarin oranges. It is so easy and excellent as a desert or with the main dish. We don't use nuts since so many people in our family cannot eat them, we top it with marciano cherries and it is just as good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      Yum, Yum, Yum, The best!! And so easy to make. Made a batch to feed 50. Came out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      This fruit salad is one of our faves! (We call it Cool Whip Salad, though... sounds a little more appetizing to kids, lol!) We use orange jello and a can of mandarin oranges, though. I usually omit the nuts and sometimes, I'll even add in some marshmallows just before serving. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      This salad was perfect! I love that it can be so varied by using different jello and fruit. I was amazed at how yummy this was, the kids fought over the last serving. This will become a staple salad at our dinner table!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      I loved how easy this recipe was but when it came down to taste and texture- I have to say that I was disapponted. It just didn't turn out like I'd hoped it would. I like the way the recipe can be "adapted" to different tastes so I may try again to find a better fit for my family. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      I was interested to see how cottage cheese worked in this and it really does! I used mixed berry Jell-o,tropical fruit mix and I ground up pecan halves. I also used lite cottage cheese and low-fat Cool Whip. This salad will make a great side dish in the Summer when it's hot. I like the idea of changing the flavors and fruit combos. Thanks so much for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

    • on March 05, 2008

      This was phenomenal! I absolutely love the fact that it has only 4 ingredients (I omitted the nuts), is so simple to make yet so delicious! I will be making this wonderfully refreshing dish often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      My mom has been making this for years. The only difference is hers has mini marshmallows in it and we call it Pink Salad. Good stuff! It's best if it sits in the fridge overnight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      Wow, this is good! I used strawbery jello, strawberry cool whip, and one pound of cut up strawberries. I left out the nuts since it was for a potluck function where some people have nut allergies. The texture was great and it was not overly sweet. I put the salad into cupcake liners for individual servings, it (very generously) filled 24. Thanks for a simple and adaptable recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2007

      I have been searching for a similar recipe for a long time... this recipe is very very close to what I remember eating as a small child. I used cheryy Jello, fruit cocktail in juice and pecans. It was hard to keep my spoon out of it as soon as I done mixing, so only about 3/4 of the salad actually made it to the refrigerator! Thanks for some great memories and a yummy snack!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cottage Cheese Fruit Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (125 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 216.5
     
    Calories from Fat 86
    40%
    Total Fat 9.6 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 9.6 mg
    3%
    Sodium 265.4 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 24.6 g
    98%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites