17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made for ZWT 2012. Absolutely delicious. My partner who isn't a huge eater went back for seconds. One housemate had already had dinner, but had two servings and my other one asked me to rate it A would eat the **** out of it again. I also enjoyed it greatly and a six serving meal was devoured by 4 thoroughly impressed people.

Very easy to follow recipe, easy to make and goes down like a treat. Thanks so much for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Satyne August 07, 2012

Really delicious pasta dish that my entire family enjoyed. I had only crushed tomatoes so I used those and topped with some freshly grated parmesan. It was terrific and easy to make. I would use this as a make ahead meal in the future, I think it would freeze nicely. Thanks for posting Nan! Made for ZWT #8 :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leslie~ September 01, 2012

This is a delicious dish - so flavorful! I assembled and baked the same day, then ate it the next, so I think that gave it time for the flavors to meld. Will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marcasite Queen August 13, 2012

This reminded me of a dish that I used to make. The old recipe used cream cheese and a lot more ground beef and cheese - it was very heavy but very tasty! This recipe has a lot of the same flavours but you don't have to have a nap on the couch after eating! I was low on cottage cheese so I supplemented with plain yogurt. I thought I had some regular pasta but had to use brown rice pasta instead. I tossed a little bit of cheese on top to add a bit of colour. Small changes to a great recipe. Very good! Made for ZWT8. Thanks PanNan! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif August 06, 2012

Great recipe. Did substitute just over 2/3 cup diced feta for the grated cheese & doubled the white sauce. Lovely, fast & satisfying. Best of all 0 it reheats perfectly! Keeper recipe - plan to make with a bit of ground lamb next time round. Thanks for another real keeper PanNan!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buster's friend January 05, 2011

I made this with Boca Veggie Crumbles and it was amazing! I also used penne pasta. This was very easy and well worth the time it took to make it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annette NC April 05, 2010

This was a really delicious pasta dish. I read all the reviews first and I added 16 oz of Tomato sauce and I had a little bit left over of diced tomatoes, so I added them with the other 14 oz. That is all I changed and it turned out really great. We all loved this dish and will definitely make again. Just to mention I chose to use yogurt since that is what I had. Great flavor. Thanks for posting PanNan this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrenchBunny June 18, 2009

This has very nice flavor, but was very very dry. I followed the recipe, and after reading previos reviews, I decided to add 8 oz of tomato sauce and double the beef broth. Next time I would add at least an additional 2 cups of tomato sauce and probably double the creamy topping. The creamy topping was excellent; like icing on a cake. This is definitely worth making again, just saucier. Thanx for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* June 13, 2009

*Reviewed during ZWT5 for Family Picks Australian & New Zealand with the Chow Hounds Team* My family loved this. A great child friendly dinner that was alos enjoyed by adults. I used gluten-free quinoa penne pasta to make this dish gluten-free suitable. Made to the recipe and used a mixture of cream cheese with somw creme fraiche that I had left-over and grated Tasty Cheese. This is a great cook ahead dinner and reheats well in the microwave for individual serving portions. Photo also being posted

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** June 08, 2009

Very tasty and easy dish. Enjoyoed by the kids and adults alike. I madded a bit more of the cheese sauce and tomatoe as mentioned by other reviewers as we like it saucier (personal preference). TERRIFIC dish - thank you for posting! **MADE for ZWT5**

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Diva May 20, 2009
Cottage Beef and Pasta