Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Costa Rican Tilapia Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Costa Rican Tilapia

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on March 11, 2011

      This meal is EXCELLENT -- my hubby and I both immediately said "This is a keeper!" Spices are perfect -- I also used mandarin oranges, but otherwise kept the recipe pretty much as written. A Must Try !!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      A colorful and flavorful meal! The only thing I changed was the number of fish fillets used and I may have thrown in a little more cilantro because I'm such a big fan of it. Next time I might throw a little more cayenne in it or just chop up a fresh hot pepper for a little more kick. Also, if you use fresh oranges, don't forget to get rid of as much of the pith (the white stuff between the peel and the fruit) as possible to avoid a bitter taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2013

      Pretty good. I too used mandarins. Fish was well done in the time listed. Seems like it needed a little something more like some cumin maybe. Topped fillets with green onion after baking to add some visual appeal. They looked a little anemic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2012

    • on August 07, 2009

      I made this today for a lady I cook for. She wanted a black bean and fish recipe and didn't have access to mine so I thought I would try something new. Cilantro is a must for this. 15 minutes is not enough marinade for me. Tilapia I found was too thin and the cooking time too long. My rice did not cook through all the way and I would cut down on the tomatoes for my liking. Black beans definitely and more cayenne. It overall has great flavor, but the fish to me was too overdone. It may be just me and my tastes. The orange I didn't like in the dish either I would leave that out. I'm sorry ... I eat tons of fish and maybe that is why I am more critical. It is a good recipe, but for my tastes I would have to change a few things.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      This is really good and healthy. I'll definitely make this again with a couple alterations. This time I only used one can of diced tomatoes and used the mandarin oranges as other reviewers thankfully inspired me to do. Hubby is not a fan of tomatoes or cilantro though so next time he suggested I use maybe fire roasted tomatoes for a mellower tomato taste and skip the cilantro. I'll just add some fresh cilantro to my plate only which I think would be even better. Thanks for this one SouthernBell.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      We loved it, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      YUM YUM YUM!!! This dish is so delicious and pretty easy to prepare too. I used canned mandarin oranges but besides that didn't make any changes. Thanks so much for this awesome recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      LOVE THIS!!! I've made it w/ tilapia and with shrimp as another poster suggested. My husband raved about it. The combination of flavors is very refreshing andclean tasting. Definitely go w/ the cilantro. I used brown rice and canned mandarin oranges as that's what I had in the pantry. Impressive enough for company!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Zowie! After spending a little over a month in Costa Rica back when I was in college, I can say without reservation that this recipe made me nostalgic for a return trip! Not only were the flavors authentic, but they were also just plain awesome. I did make a few substitutions based on what I had on hand: 4tsp dried cilantro instead of 4tbsp fresh; 3/4c canned, drained Mandarin oranges instead of 2 whole, fresh oranges; and 1 14.5oz can diced tomatoes instead of a 28oz. can. Also, purely for convenience, I subbed some pre-prepared yellow rice instead of cooking my own. And, although this recipe is a complete meal on its own, my fiance and I enjoyed it with a side of Fried Tortilla Chips (Fried Tortilla Chips), which added some nice salty crunch. Absolutely delicious--we're looking forward to eating the leftovers later this week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      We really loved this dish. The directions were kind of confusing in the order, etc., but it turned out to have delicious results! Next time I will add more cayenne since I like it spicy. Highly recommended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      This was really good. Good enough to have twice this week! I choose to use fresh tomatoes and home-prepared pinto beans , and of course we always add more cayenne than called for in any recipe! We enjoyed the results so much, we're serving it to company tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      Love this recipe. After returning from Costa Rica, I planned several dinner parties and featured this dish. What a hit. They loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      My family and I loved this recipe. We will be traveling to Costa Rica next month and we hope that the food we have there is as good as this was. It was absolutely delicious and I look forward to making it again. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      We love this with tilapia, but last night we made it with a pound of shrimp instead-INCREDIBLE!!! Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      We eat a lot of tilapia and I am always looking for different ways to prepare it. This was delicious. I only cooked 3 fillets for the two of us but kept the marinade to the same amounts. I used 1/2 cup of rice and a large can of mandarin oranges because I didn't have any oranges. I also used only a 14 ounce can of diced tomatoes. We just finished the leftover rice for lunch! YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      This dish was unreal! WONDERFUL!!!! My husband and I were both VERY PLEASED! We will make this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      This was a wonderful dish. It is nice to have a recipe that creates a whole meal, not just the entree. It was definitely different than the run-of-the-mill talapia recipe, and it will make many repeat appearances at our table. Thanks for a real treat, SouthernBell2627.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2007

      this was FANTASTIC! very unique, fresh, and healthy. my family LOVED it and only paused eating long enough to say "WOW this is DELICIOUS" every minute or so. i made it exactly as posted, no changes at all. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      We enjoyed this dish although I wished the rice was more "saucy". I will make it again but make less rice... Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Costa Rican Tilapia

    Serving Size: 1 (437 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 409.6
     
    Calories from Fat 89
    21%
    Total Fat 9.9 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 70.8 mg
    23%
    Sodium 665.4 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.1 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 8.1 g
    32%
    Sugars 9.0 g
    36%
    Protein 36.7 g
    73%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites