Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Costa Rican Black Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Costa Rican Black Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on July 17, 2012

      This soup has tons of flavor. The flavor is even better when reheated the next day. Most black bean soups have the predominent cumin and coriander taste. This one has those flavors plus so many other as well.... and they all play nicely together. A cool dallop of light sour cream is a great garnish for serving. Thanx for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      This a really good soup. I halved the cayenne pepper, and it was still fairly spicy. I also subbed celery seed and 1/4 tsp of salt for the celery salt, since I didn't have any. I topped this with cilantro and squeezed lime and lemon over it at the table, and that definitely brightened up all the flavors. Served 4 as an entree. Here is my video of the soup being made: http://www.recipezaar.com/sitenews/post.php?pid=944&pn=1&pageref=Photo_Video-927138&vw_arrange_order=DESC&vw_sort_order=MOST_RECENT

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      Really great combo of flavors! I made a few adjustments in using a can of fire roasted diced tomatoes, adding some chipotle pepper and cilantro soup base but the overall combo of seasonings in this reacipe give it a fresh light taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      Yum, this is definitely a keeper. I love the blend of spices. It is a wonderful variation on black bean soup. I omitted the salt and added a little water because I like to rinse my beans before use to get rid of the excess sodium, so I didn't have any canned liquid to add. I garnished with sour cream, chopped parsley, and a little bit of 4 cheese blend. Excellent! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      Lovely soup. The seasonings were just right. The only thing I did differently was add a little corn. I served it over rice, topped it with sour cream and had tortilla chips alongside. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      Delicious! Wow...we loved the spices in this quick and easy soup. I made a half recipe as there was only two of us eating, but I kept the written amounts of garlic and ginger. Also, I used chicken stock because that is what I had on hand. I served this topped with Mexican 4-blend cheese, sour cream, and chopped fresh cilantro. Thank you for sharing this fabulous recipe...it is definitely a keeper! *Made for ZWT4*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      I loved this soup. I used 3 19 oz cans of beans and followed the recipe as written. I served it with a dollop of plain yogurt. The flavour of the spice mixture was interesting. It had just the right amount of heat from the cayenne. Made for ZWT4 Family Picks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      Good?? No way, this was great! I've never tasted any black bean soup like this. I served with Cumin-Dusted Pita Chips which complemented this dish very nicely. DH said 'I really like this soup, you're making this soup again!' Wow, he doesn't usually have much of a say in what we're going to eat... Other reviewers noted that it was spicy, but I think I'd call it spiced because I didn't feel that it was overly hot, but the flavors were intense and very unique! I didn't have coriander powder, so I used dried cilantro leaves. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      FANTASTIC! I made a half recipe with 1 can of beans and extra veggies. I also used coconut oil and sauteed the spices with the veggies the last couple of minutes before adding the beans and broth. I subbed black pepper for the cayenne. This smells and tastes WONDERFUL and it's good for you too! Made for the ZWT4 -Jefes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      We really enjoyed this wonderful soup. I have not had much Costa Rican food, but if it's all like this, I'm a big fan. It was spicy but not too spicy. All of the spices were so good together. Made for ZWT4 for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      This soup is worthy of more then 5 stars! We love Costa Rican food and this soup brought us back to our favorite country. The flavors are so typically Costa Rican it was surprising! The combination of spices was much like their famous Lizano sauce. We sopped up every last bit of the soup and I wished that I had not changed the servings to 4! Pura Vida! Thank you for posting. Zaar World Tour 4. Whine and Cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2008

      OOOh Yum! The spices in this make this black bean soup into something very special. I used chicken stock because it is what I had on hand and otherwise followed the directions. My DBF got into this even before I added the beans, because he thought it was finished. LOL- He enjoyed it both ways! I noticed my 15 oz can held 1 1/2 cups of beans and liquid, but because my dbf ate half of the soup early- I wasn't exactly sure how many beans to add - I just eyeballed it. I'm sure I'll be making this one again. Made for ZWT 4 by a fellow Jefe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      A total 5 stars from us on this recipe. Firstly, it was super (no pun intended) easy to make but it also tasted wonderful. It was full of spice but not really spicy which is just how I like things. It was also very lot fat and vegetarian which just ticks so many boxes for us. The only changes I made was to cut the recipe in half since there are only two of us (we like meals that are just huge bowls of soup now and then) and I used a can of chopped tomatoes with the juice instead of the fresh tomatoes. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Costa Rican Black Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (1051 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 119.9
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    17%
    Total Fat 2.3 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 13.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    27%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    celery salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes