13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This soup has tons of flavor. The flavor is even better when reheated the next day. Most black bean soups have the predominent cumin and coriander taste. This one has those flavors plus so many other as well.... and they all play nicely together. A cool dallop of light sour cream is a great garnish for serving. Thanx for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* July 17, 2012

This a really good soup. I halved the cayenne pepper, and it was still fairly spicy. I also subbed celery seed and 1/4 tsp of salt for the celery salt, since I didn't have any. I topped this with cilantro and squeezed lime and lemon over it at the table, and that definitely brightened up all the flavors. Served 4 as an entree. Here is my video of the soup being made: http://www.recipezaar.com/sitenews/post.php?pid=944&pn=1&pageref=Photo_Video-927138&vw_arrange_order=DESC&vw_sort_order=MOST_RECENT

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito July 11, 2008

Really great combo of flavors! I made a few adjustments in using a can of fire roasted diced tomatoes, adding some chipotle pepper and cilantro soup base but the overall combo of seasonings in this reacipe give it a fresh light taste!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meghan January 18, 2010

Yum, this is definitely a keeper. I love the blend of spices. It is a wonderful variation on black bean soup. I omitted the salt and added a little water because I like to rinse my beans before use to get rid of the excess sodium, so I didn't have any canned liquid to add. I garnished with sour cream, chopped parsley, and a little bit of 4 cheese blend. Excellent! Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews November 12, 2008

Lovely soup. The seasonings were just right. The only thing I did differently was add a little corn. I served it over rice, topped it with sour cream and had tortilla chips alongside. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. July 11, 2008

Delicious! Wow...we loved the spices in this quick and easy soup. I made a half recipe as there was only two of us eating, but I kept the written amounts of garlic and ginger. Also, I used chicken stock because that is what I had on hand. I served this topped with Mexican 4-blend cheese, sour cream, and chopped fresh cilantro. Thank you for sharing this fabulous recipe...it is definitely a keeper! *Made for ZWT4*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill July 10, 2008

I loved this soup. I used 3 19 oz cans of beans and followed the recipe as written. I served it with a dollop of plain yogurt. The flavour of the spice mixture was interesting. It had just the right amount of heat from the cayenne. Made for ZWT4 Family Picks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario July 10, 2008

Good?? No way, this was great! I've never tasted any black bean soup like this. I served with Cumin-Dusted Pita Chips which complemented this dish very nicely. DH said 'I really like this soup, you're making this soup again!' Wow, he doesn't usually have much of a say in what we're going to eat... Other reviewers noted that it was spicy, but I think I'd call it spiced because I didn't feel that it was overly hot, but the flavors were intense and very unique! I didn't have coriander powder, so I used dried cilantro leaves. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI July 09, 2008

FANTASTIC! I made a half recipe with 1 can of beans and extra veggies. I also used coconut oil and sauteed the spices with the veggies the last couple of minutes before adding the beans and broth. I subbed black pepper for the cayenne. This smells and tastes WONDERFUL and it's good for you too! Made for the ZWT4 -Jefes

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed July 06, 2008

We really enjoyed this wonderful soup. I have not had much Costa Rican food, but if it's all like this, I'm a big fan. It was spicy but not too spicy. All of the spices were so good together. Made for ZWT4 for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 June 29, 2008
Costa Rican Black Bean Soup