Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cornucopia Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cornucopia Salad

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on July 05, 2007

      I liked it!! So did my adult friends. The kids, however, were picking out the stuff they didn't like. I don't like bell pepper, so I didn't use that. The recipe has 2 16-oz cans of water chestnuts, but the real recipe on the food network calls for 2 8-oz cans. I also toasted the nuts (pecans) and used golden raisins instead of regular ones. It kept really well over night and is still crisp on the third day! One key to the recipe, I think, is to use bananas that are not very ripe. I used yellow ones that still had a touch of green and no brown spots. I think riper ones would have been too overpowering.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2014

      Weird and wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      Took this to a friend's house as a side dish to fried chicken and it was a HUGE HIT! This traveled well and was loved by all. I will definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2010

      This is lick-the-plate delicious! I've made it a few times over the years and it's always a huge hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2008

      This is truly wonderful! I tried it after seeing Paula make it and have been a fan ever since! Don't let all the odd ingredients scare you! This truly is an awesome salad....you'll be beggin' for more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2006

      Yes this recipe may sound weird, or even gross, but it's not! I was hesitant to try it but my daughter insisted that she wanted it at her birthday party. Everyone who tried this recipe with an open mind at the party loved it! It makes a ton as a side dish so don't double unless that is all you plan to serve.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2006

      This salad is delicious. i tried it today. I used real bacon bits instead of sliced bacon & i added 1/4 cup od O'Charley's honey mustard salad dressing to the dressing. Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2006

      This is out of this world! A unique combination that WORKS. Be sure and have the recipe ready as everyone wants it. I only use 5 ounces water chestnuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2006

      I have had this many times and I think it is WONDERFUL! It's easy to make and keeps for a few days,I'm going to make it today and I think I might add some cooked chicken breast and maybe an apple and make a meal out of it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2005

      i have not made this, but it was served at 2 parties i went to this summer and it was disgusting- i thought the first time the people had made a mistake (banannas and peas???) but then at the next function i realized it was not a mistake- everyone that was sitting near me commented on how gross it was also- if you like the idea of all these ingredients together great, but i would not serve this to company!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2005

      Decided to give this a try since I had all the ingredients already. As I was reading this, I realize it included 2 cups mayo..that part was not for me so I came up with another dressing idea and it turned out just yummy. Thanks for a great idea. BTW, I am posting this dressing as a separate recipe since it came out so well. Don't know what the # will be but I am calling it "Joltin' Juice Dressing".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2004

      My husband and I had this salad at Paula's restaurant (Lady and Sons) in Savannah. It is wonderful and very filling. Not difficult to make--most work is in gathering the ingredients. Salad is hearty enough to make the meal with some good hot crusty bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cornucopia Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (324 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 597.3
     
    Calories from Fat 329
    55%
    Total Fat 36.6 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 8.1 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 36.9 mg
    12%
    Sodium 643.1 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.2 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 29.1 g
    116%
    Protein 10.1 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites