26 Reviews

These are perfect..light, tender & had a nice crunch to the outside due to the cornmeal. Love scones & these will be a regular at meal time. Really a pleasant change from rolls & biscuits

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iron Bloomers March 29, 2002

Light, delicious and melt-in-the-mouth. had these last night with chilli beans. This will be a much used recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sueie March 13, 2003

I gotta agree with Sueie and Iron Bloomers- love the crunchy exterior and the moist delicate crumb. Served this with Muligatawney soup and the family raved. Then I took 'em in a new direction adiing 2t. of lemon zest and 3T. of sugar to the mix. I then served them with Harvest Pumpkin Butter (#71837) at a buffet I catered. They were a hit! Next time I'm gonna try these with lime zest and jalapeno and serve with chili as suggested. Thanks for such a versatile recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BothFex November 05, 2003

These were perfectly textured scones. The recipe worked exactly as written. And they were delicious. A Keeper!! I may try a sweeter version or lemony version of these as well, as BothFex suggests, for an alternative better suited for breakfast too. But these are perfect for a spicy, wintery meal. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gaia22 December 20, 2011

These were fantastic cornmeal scones. Light and crunchy. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn December 14, 2011

We loved these scones!! The grandkids loved them too! I did add 2 tbsp of sugar, because we like our cornbread on the sweet side. I'm really glad I found this recipe ~ I will be making them often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I_luv_sweets October 20, 2010

This has GOT to be one of my very favorite scone recipes, and that's saying something. I mean they are THAT GOOD. I've served them as an accompaniment to soups, stews, chili, salads, casseroles, as well as setting them out on a plate to go with a mug of coffee. Some folks add butter and/or jam, but personally, I think they're best eaten "straight up," warm from the oven! I wouldn't even CONSIDER using anything but butter in this recipe. And I must confess that I do slip 1 1/2 Tbsp. of sugar into each batch...it seems to enhance the flavor...I am in your debt, Derf...Grammy Bunny

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grammy Bunny October 11, 2010

Nice texture. I added some finely chopped red and green pepper and onion, sprinkled with cheese and baked. Turned out very good! Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L. Davenport January 28, 2010

We enjoyed these very much with our chili this evening. I could definitely taste the cornmeal. I did not have any buttermilk so substituted non-fat yogurt. The dough was still very dry so then I added about 1/4 cup heavy cream. Other than that I followed the recipe as written. The other reviewers are correct, these have a great texture...slightly crisp on the outside and tender on the inside. In my opinion this recipe is far better to serve with hearty meals like chili than the traditional cornbread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swissms October 09, 2009

These were great! I didn't have any buttermilk so I used whole milk instead, and it worked fine. I also added 1 Tbsp. of sugar as I usually do with cornbread...so sorry to say I didn't see if it was good as written without the sugar. I thought it would taste more like cornbread, but to my surprise I couldn't taste the cornmeal at all. We ate them with honey and homemade strawberry jam. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quiltingqueen July 31, 2009
Cornmeal Scones