Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cornmeal pancakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cornmeal pancakes

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on April 26, 2010

      Great recipe! We chose these to serve smothered in chili and cheese for dinner. I remembered having pancakes like this when I was growing up. Found this nice recipe to be just what I was looking for. Thanks for posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2003

      Dh and I both loved these pancakes. The cornmeal gives them a distinctive taste that we thoroughly enjoy. I froze them as recommended and Dh pops one in the toaster for his breakfast before work.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2013

      For some reason, my pancakes came out very dry. I made the recipe. I have a problem with my cornbread coming out like that, too. The idea is good though. I may try adding more flour in proportion to cornmeal, another egg, or adding some fruit for more moisture. I'll also study the other cornmeal pancake recipes for ideas. The flavor was fair enough but the dryness detracted from my enjoyment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      These were pleasant tasting, but a bit too thick and heavy for my taste. I felt as though I'd eaten a hockey puck, the way it sat in my stomach. I may try them again with a bit more moisture. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      This recipe was o.k. I had to add sugar to sweeten them up a little bit, without the sugar they were very bland. Even with the sugar there was a very little difference between these and normal pancakes, couldn't really taste the cornmeal at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      added about 2 Tbl sugar. added shredded cheese to the last half of the batch. very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      Well these are definitly filling and have a nice texture, they just do not taste like pancakes to me - possibly due to no sugar. But for a healthy option these are definitly up there for texture and very filling. Thanks for posting. Miss Pixie x x x :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      Made these pancakes for breakfast today and my family gobbled them up! They are filling and had plenty left to freeze for a quick breakfast for my 2 y.o. I did make a few adjustments based on some reviews. I used more cornmeal than flour and halved the salt. I did'nt have buttermilk on hand so I did the vinegar and milk trick which worked out fine. I used butter instead of margarine and added 4tbs of brown sugar for some added sweetness(didn't make the recipe overly sweet at all). Some butter and syrup and YUM!! I think next time i'll throw in some blueberries or even try a savory version without the sugar and add some cheddar, mmmm....the possibilities! ;) Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      We enjoyed these golden pancakes, though we found them on the salty side. Next time we will substitute oil for the melted marge, or just reduce the added salt. They were appropriately crisp on the outside and tender on the inside, but otherwise pretty standard. Thanks for a nice variation on a theme!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      My children loved these!! Although, I made them a little smaller and they ate them with their fingers! YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      What delightful pancakes--crunchy on the outside and tender on the inside! My husband and I had these for supper last night and we both really enjoyed them. I cut the recipe in half for the two of us. And I used whole grain pastry flour for the flour, half butter and half light olive oil for the butter/margerine, and I added one tablespoon of brown suger (this recipe looks a lot like a cornbread recipe minus the sugar--and I like some sweetness in my cornbread, so I figured it would be good here too). The results were so tasty that this recipe is destined to become a favorite--thanks integrity1st!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      I tried making these pancakes non-dairy by substituting the buttermilk for oat milk with vinegar. The vinegar obviously would not curdle oat milk, but maybe it added some flavor. I also used safflower oil instead of butter and then tossed in some blueberries. They came out light and yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

    • on July 24, 2007

      Sometimes we like pancakes for dinner and these fit the bill. Both kids, even my fussy 11yo enjoyed them. They were surprising filling, light and tasty, even though they did not rise much. Will definitely move to my keeper file

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      These were good, but not exactly what I was hoping for. They were not a sweet pancake and didn't have as much of a cornmeal texture as I would have liked. I got 16 saucer sized pancakes. They were soft and moist and would make a great addition to a meal, but I preferred the Cornbread Pancakes Cornbread Pancakes, for breakfast. Thanks integrity1st, I will try these with some chili, cheese and sour cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2006

      My pancakes didn't end up as fluffy as the picture, but that was probably bcz I used whole wheat flour. My kids liked them, which really is something. They've been so finicky lately with everything I try! I don't prefer maple syrup, so instead I put some margarine on and some strawberry preserves. Boy was that good! The only change I made was to use 2 1/2 Tbs olive oil for the butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2006

      Just got done eating these. Very good. I was told to save this so we can have it again! Only change was added 1 t sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2005

      These were a great change from the usual pancakes; a lot like a pancake version of corn meal mush with the syrup over it. It went over well with the kids even though they were skeptical at first. I think they would also be great as a savory base; will try that next time. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2005

      Very good! I expected more like cornbread, but was lighter with nice texture. Served with pan-fried ham slice and maple syrup. Yum! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2005

      I made these for brunch today, just as written, very tasty. The slightly earthy flavor was very satisfying. I got 20 2-3" diameter cakes out of this and am going to freeze the rest as suggested. The flavor and texture of the cornmeal makes for a very versatile cake. We ate these with two different toppings, one sweet and the other savory. First we spread them with a little plain yoghurt and strawberry jam. Then we came up with the idea of topping a plateful with fried eggs that had been cooked with a little chopped green onion, cracked black pepper and a little cheddar cheese shredded over the top, and a dash of habanero chili sauce. Both complimented the pancakes very well, though overall I think we preferred the savory topping (takes some "healthy" points off, though!). In future I would want to try this "huevos rancheros" style, adding some refried beans or maybe some black bean and corn salsa, with the pancakes substituting for tortillas. I also might try cooking a sprinkling of chopped green (roasted) chiles into each cake. Will be making this many times, I'm sure, thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cornmeal pancakes

    Serving Size: 1 (974 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 190.7
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    31%
    Total Fat 6.7 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 56.4 mg
    18%
    Sodium 399.6 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes