13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these pancakes this morning. It was an excellent, reliable recipe, with great flavor, texture and rise. I will definitely use this again, and have some ideas for making savory cakes as side dishes with dinner- less sugar, add fresh herbs, etc. I'll let you know how that works!

Just a note to those in low-humidity areas: the batter was a little thick, so next time I may add just a little more liquid to the recipe. I live in the desert, so our flours hold less moisture than in other regions.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PhoenixReborn February 05, 2011

Nice blend between a flour pancake and a full on cornmeal pancake. I used whole wheat white flour and they were wonderfully light! (I also added a tad of vanilla as another reviewer suggested) I will make these again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
surfin' chef August 08, 2010

This recipe makes absolutely fantastic pancakes that are light, fluffy, tasty and easy. I added 1 tsp of vanilla and cut the sugar to 1 tbl. I also added 1/2 C frozen blueberries. served with melted butter, real maple syrup or blueberry preserves...yum! Thanks for sharing this great recipe. BTW, I used soymilk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Macbeadweaver January 26, 2013

These pancakes were a good change. Typically I find cornbread pancake recipes to be flat and heavy. These were light and good. I will make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Nurse August 04, 2012

I tried a few different recipies and my husband loved this one. I will make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazvic1289 January 22, 2012

These are delicious,,,I used gluten free flour blend #438139 instead of ordinary flour and the taste and texture were as described,,,light and delicious thank you for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WicklewoodWench February 18, 2011

These were very good, and easy to throw together. I used white cornmeal and needed to add a bit more liquid to mine, I also may add some vanilla next time. Made for the Best of 2010 tag game. Thanks for sharing, The Daycare Lady!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl February 15, 2011

This recipe is great! Perfect batter consistency, I didn't have to doctor it at all. Cooked up wonderfully as well. Thanks for posting. : )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ltemple99 January 29, 2011

I wanted to make something different than regular pancakes. I came across these and they sounded so good I had to make them when I had company. We all loved them. I doubled the recipe to serve 6 people and they were all gone!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Crystal Cooks May 14, 2010

Really nice pancakes. Flavorful and filling, with a great texture. They are good for you and great tasting. These lovely pancakes rose beautifully and were perfect served with real maple syrup. Loved them. Thanks so much for sharing. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato February 04, 2010
Cornmeal Pancakes