Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cornmeal Pancakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cornmeal Pancakes

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on June 04, 2012

      They weren't heavy at all, nice and light and fluffy. The recipe was easy to follow, simple ingredients and directions. They cooked up nicely. However, these weren't for us. My family never had cornmeal pancakes before. I thought we would really like them, we like pancakes and we like corn muffin. I do think they turned out like they were supposed to. They just weren't for us. Thank you for a simple, easy recipe that allowed us to try something new. Like they say, you never know unless you try.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2011

      I made the recipe as posted, with buttermilk, adding 1 teaspoon of salt and a Tablespoon of sugar, since I knew I'd be eating them without syrup. I needed to add 1 Tablespoon of flour for the right consistency -- but my eggs are extra large and that might have made a difference.
      Using 1/4 cup measure I got 7 pancakes.
      They were wonderful -- light, fluffy and tasty. I didn't need oil, but I used a new skillet so nothing sticks yet.
      I will definitely make these again! They'll also be great for when I'm craving a cornmeal muffin, but don't want to take the time to make them. I can't wait to try the leftovers with grape jelly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2010

      Awesome simple savory pancakes. I used soured soy milk and did add about 1/2 tsp. salt after tasting the batter, but I didn't add any sweetener (try tasting the natural sweetness of the cornmeal--you don't need sugar dumped in everything!). I didn't find oil to be necessary except a little butter for the griddle. Great hearty, filling breakfast! Thanks so much for posting...I see these going into the regular rotation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      Corn Meal is drying to recipes and this is why flour is used usually 1:1 ratio. I lowered some of the cornmeal and added 1/4 cup applesauce instead of using oil. I added Agave Nectar for sweetener. The pancakes brown very nicely, and are medium heavy, not light and fluffy. I gave 3 stars as I don't think I will make these again as the taste was just so-so. But adding blueberries would perk them up some.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      These were so dry. They needed some oil or butter to make them palatable. I would have preferred making a corn muffin out of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      Excellent recipe!!! Great crispiness, and I did add about a tsp of oil. I also added a 1/2 cup kernel corn (you can use fresh off the cob or canned is good, too). Thanks for a great treat!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      yummy. I followed the advise of the reviewer that suggested 2T of sugar, 2-3T and salt. I added 1/3t of salt (I tripled the recipe). I will make this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      I've been looking for a good cornmeal pancake recipe for a long time. And after I added 2 Tbsp of Sugar, 1 Tsp of Salt, and 2 or 3 Tsp of oil, I think I found it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      I added the 1 Tbsp sugar as suggested for sweetness, but I felt these pancakes weren't sweet enough. It probably wouldn't matter as much if you put syrup or butter on top, but I like to eat my pancakes plain.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      Very delicious, they are very filling. I made mine vegan, using soured soy milk (add lemon juice), 4 tbsp oil and 1/4 cup applesauce instead of the egg, I also added some cinnamon and chopped walnuts. I also used whole wheat flour instead of white, served with blueberry sauce. I would definitely make them again, thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      DH really enjoyed these. The high cornmeal to flour ratio made him think of mini cornbread cakes. He is a true cornbread fanatic! These baked up with a lighly crisp crust and tender on the inside. They were topped off with Blueberry Sauce for a nice healthy breakfast treat. Made for ZWTIII.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      These were pretty good although I added a bit of yogurt to thin out the batter, and sugar since I like my pancakes sweet. I think I still prefer plain flour pancakes but these are a nice change from the norm. I'm sure I'll make these again though, and try them with fruit and different ingredients. I made half of my batch with chocolate sprinkles - yum! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2007

      these were the best and healthiest pancakes i have ever had. i reduced the recipe to 2 servings but forgot to reduce the skim milk so my pancakes were more like crepes, but they were sooo delicious. I think i actually liked them this way since they were very crispy. This is my new favorite guilt free comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      Yummy! I to added some oil too but also added some salt to accent that corny flavor. Then I added some sugar to balance it. Of course I made these vegan (hence the name) but they were big, fluffy, and better than regular hot cakes. I could not find a recipe that had more corn than flour which doesn't make sense seeing these came out so good. I'm making these right now for thanksgiving breakfast. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      These pancakes do have a beautiful presentation. Since a previous reviewer mentioned they were dry, I order 3 Tsp. of oil - and they came out nice and moist. By the way, these are kosher! (dairy)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2005

      A good pancake recipe with good flavour. HAd them with maple syrup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2005

      I loved the color and crispness of these pancakes, but all my family agreed that they were a bit dry. The kept their shape well while frying and I like the change, but I'll put more butter on them next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cornmeal Pancakes

    Serving Size: 1 (51 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 84.2
     
    Calories from Fat 11
    13%
    Total Fat 1.2 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 19.7 mg
    6%
    Sodium 135.3 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites