18 Reviews

They weren't heavy at all, nice and light and fluffy. The recipe was easy to follow, simple ingredients and directions. They cooked up nicely. However, these weren't for us. My family never had cornmeal pancakes before. I thought we would really like them, we like pancakes and we like corn muffin. I do think they turned out like they were supposed to. They just weren't for us. Thank you for a simple, easy recipe that allowed us to try something new. Like they say, you never know unless you try.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom June 04, 2012

Wonderful with blackberry jam and Greek yogurt! I'm thinking they'd be good dinner pancakes with, say, mushroom gravy. Hobbitt food!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryanneglazar48 August 04, 2015

I made the recipe as posted, with buttermilk, adding 1 teaspoon of salt and a Tablespoon of sugar, since I knew I'd be eating them without syrup. I needed to add 1 Tablespoon of flour for the right consistency -- but my eggs are extra large and that might have made a difference.
Using 1/4 cup measure I got 7 pancakes.
They were wonderful -- light, fluffy and tasty. I didn't need oil, but I used a new skillet so nothing sticks yet.
I will definitely make these again! They'll also be great for when I'm craving a cornmeal muffin, but don't want to take the time to make them. I can't wait to try the leftovers with grape jelly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teri-K July 08, 2011

Awesome simple savory pancakes. I used soured soy milk and did add about 1/2 tsp. salt after tasting the batter, but I didn't add any sweetener (try tasting the natural sweetness of the cornmeal--you don't need sugar dumped in everything!). I didn't find oil to be necessary except a little butter for the griddle. Great hearty, filling breakfast! Thanks so much for posting...I see these going into the regular rotation!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
velorutionista December 04, 2010

Corn Meal is drying to recipes and this is why flour is used usually 1:1 ratio. I lowered some of the cornmeal and added 1/4 cup applesauce instead of using oil. I added Agave Nectar for sweetener. The pancakes brown very nicely, and are medium heavy, not light and fluffy. I gave 3 stars as I don't think I will make these again as the taste was just so-so. But adding blueberries would perk them up some.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mikesalc March 27, 2010

These were so dry. They needed some oil or butter to make them palatable. I would have preferred making a corn muffin out of it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awilliams234 January 31, 2010

Excellent recipe!!! Great crispiness, and I did add about a tsp of oil. I also added a 1/2 cup kernel corn (you can use fresh off the cob or canned is good, too). Thanks for a great treat!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
damgoodcook July 19, 2009

yummy. I followed the advise of the reviewer that suggested 2T of sugar, 2-3T and salt. I added 1/3t of salt (I tripled the recipe). I will make this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose M May 26, 2009

I've been looking for a good cornmeal pancake recipe for a long time. And after I added 2 Tbsp of Sugar, 1 Tsp of Salt, and 2 or 3 Tsp of oil, I think I found it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amosfenrisbane May 16, 2009

I added the 1 Tbsp sugar as suggested for sweetness, but I felt these pancakes weren't sweet enough. It probably wouldn't matter as much if you put syrup or butter on top, but I like to eat my pancakes plain.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carlamoose November 01, 2008
Cornmeal Pancakes