Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cornmeal Molasses Skillet Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cornmeal Molasses Skillet Rolls

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on December 09, 2013

      These were excellent and easy if you are a beginning baker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2011

      These were a hit with my family tonight with beef stew. I thought they would rise more, but I think it was just because of the angle of the picture. Looking at it again now, I can see that mine were smaller, as I made the 16 called for in the recipe, as opposed to the 12 in the picture. They did rise to fill my 10 inch cast-iron skillet. I loved the texture of these, with the slight crunch of the cornmeal, and the molasses was just right. You could taste it, but it wasn't overpowering or too sweet. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      I made these for Thanksgiving, thought it would be a nice change from regular white rolls. We really loved them they had a great flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      Delicious! I love that these only require a short rising time. I mixed in 2 1/2 cups of flour into the mixture and then sprinkled the remaining 1/2 cup of flour onto my wax paper for kneading. I did not have a problem with dough sticking. These do rise more in the oven. I will be making these again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      Great! Loved the combination of molasses and cornmeal. You can definitely taste the molasses and it adds a great color. Used the KitchenAid to mix and had to add additional flour to make it workable. Even so, it was still very sticky forming into rolls. Served with pork chops but would be great with any stew or soup. Something about serving a pan of rolls in the cast iron skillet says homey to me:) Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      I thought these rolls were really good. My family wasn't quite as interested in them though. Maybe the molasses flavor was too intense. I think I'll try 1/2 cup of honey next time. They baked up beautifully in the iron skillet. I did find the dough extremely hard to work with though. The melted butter on top (salted butter) really made them delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

      If you're looking for a change from the usual white dinner roll, this is it! I made these to go with Crock Pot Ham and Beans and it was a perfect match. They are soft and fluffy but are much more filling than other dinner rolls. All of the kids loved them too which is something I always love to see. I baked them in a 9" stoneware pie pan and it worked perfectly.Thanks for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      These are wonderful!! I just took them out of the oven and there's 3 left. Oh my word, delicious! I used my stoneware bundt pan so I uneven rolls but that doesn't matter at all! I followed the recipe exactly, otherwise. This is definitely a keeper! Delightful to have warm rolls right out of the oven so quickly! A big 5-star recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

      I had problems with the recipe, but it was my fault for not fully reading the instructions. I hate to admit I scanned the recipe and failed to notice the rolls only needed one rise. I also dumped everything in the breadmaker on the dough cycle & was dismayed at the amount of flour I had to add. I then formed them into rolls and let rise (again). One pan promptly fell when I placed it in the oven. Not my best bread making day. =( I came back to the computer and quickly saw where I messed things up. The flavor though is FANTASTIC. I loved the texture and the sweetness from the molasses. I will definitely be making these again and promise to FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS next time. Thanks Susie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2007

      These are so good!!! I made the recipe as written. The thing to note about this recipe is the reduced time to make. You can start late and still have hot rolls for dinner. Thanks for a keeper recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2007

      *Awesome* rolls!! These are so easy to make. With the boiling water mixture I let it cool to lukewarm then added the egg. Also in step 2 I dissloved the yeast and water and added 1/2 tsp sugar. I like the taste of molasses I only had blackstrap and cut it back to 2 tbsp it was just right for us. I found that the dough was very sticky so I greased my hands(with shortening) before kneading. These buns baked up beautifully I made only 12 buns and baked them in a 10 1/2 inch cast iron skillet. Thanks so much Susan for a great bread recipe that will be enjoyed often in our home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      I made these last night for supper and they were delicious and soooo easy to make. They rose perfectly and came out light and fuffy. Also, very pretty to look at--very tempting. I couldn't wait to eat one with lots of butter. My husband liked them, too. I will make these again and next time will try some black strap molasses as I always have that on hand--it has wonderful flavor (and it's good for you). Most of the time I do half and half molasses when using black strap. Thanks SusieQusie for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2007

      Wow! These are fantastic! I love how much quicker to make they are than traditional rolls. I also love that, because of the extra flavor and substance, they go so extremely well with soups and stews. Everyone in the family told me to make sure this went into the "make again" notebook! I also put 8 rolls each in two 8-inch round cake pans. Next time I might try all 16 in my 10x7 pan so they won't be as spread out and they might rise higher. I used black strap molasses and it made for a darker roll but they tasted great. Thanks for sharing this unique, tasty recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2007

      WOW these are delish!! The cornmeal softens and creates a wonderful texture with the flour. The molasses flavour is very very subtle, giving a bit of a sweetness to the rolls, without people really knowning they contain molasses. The molasses does give the rolls a nice browned color. I used a bit less non hydrogenated margarine instead of butter (because of the higher water content) and didn't brush them with butter afterwards for personal preference. I made mine in the baking pan option, but found that I could only comfortably fit 8 rolls in one pan, so used two 8" round pans instead. The rolls came out fluffy and moist. I enjoyed them for breakfast with peanut butter! :) YUM!! Thanks so much SusieQusie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2006

      These are divine! They come together really well. And don't rise too high. You end up with a lovely light flavoursome roll. I will make these again and again. It is a nice change from cornbread or "normal" rolls. Thanks for posting this! I am putting this one in my permanent recipe book!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cornmeal Molasses Skillet Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (58 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 145.7
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    22%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 19.2 mg
    6%
    Sodium 179.6 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.9 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites