12 Reviews

We thought this crust was just okay, but it's a good option when you need dough right away. The cornmeal added a nice crunch to the dough, but was not a dominant flavor. Nice with a BBQ-based pizza.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinnamon Turtle January 12, 2012

I halved the recipe which gave me 2 52 inch rounds. I found the base quite biscuity in texture and slightly sweet inf lavour. Add toppings is a must.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EliteTwig July 14, 2010

This was real good, especially for it having little or no rise time. Great to make during thge week when you have no time to wait! Really enjoyed the corn flavor throughout! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marz August 09, 2009

Very easy, and turned out very nicely. I did as another reviewer suggested and partially baked the dough rounds before adding some sauce and toppings. The dough was easy to work with and the directions very clear.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather June 15, 2009

Excellent. I love the texture that the cornmeal added to the crust. I changed the method a little. I used my kitchen aide instead of the food processor and added a little more olive oil because the dough seemed a little dry. I cut the dough in half and froze one half. I spread the other half out on a medium pizza pan and baked it at 400 F for about 8 minutes, after poking holes in it with a fork. Then I added pizza sauce and cheese, then jalapenos, red onion, pepperoni, red peppers and mushrooms. Baked it for 15-20 minutes. Excellent. :) Love this pizza dough. Thanks. Made for Zaar Stars

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ June 05, 2009

The dough is very easy to do. But I found it too salty. And also since you didn't mention to grease the baking sheet, I didn't. But I should have done it. The crust was stuck on the pan. On mine I added sundried tomato pesto, sliced mushrooms and sliced onions, and cheese of course. And also I would bake them maybe at 400 F for a longer time to let the ingredients to cook through even though they were. But I would have like to have the cheese a bit browned. And I couldn't because the crust was already enough golden. Thanks Duonyte. Made for Zaar Star Game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette March 18, 2009

This is a really delicious dough with a great texture - crunchy on the bottom if you like and not too heavy. The first time I made it the crust came out a bit dry. Now I add just a splash more olive oil and I like the results better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Emma Jo March 13, 2009

A nice crunchy base for personal pizza variations.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
realbirdlady February 27, 2009

I can not believe how quickly this came together! I usually find that I have to add more flour or water to doughs, but this one came out perfect just as the recipe reads. My dough was all rolled out before the oven was even heated. I didn't find that mine puffed up too much, I think the 8" circle is just right.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jean February 27, 2009

I have a similar recipe, differences are as follows: calls for only a pinch of sugar, 1 1/2 t. salt, and 2 1/2 - 3 cups all-purpose flour. I found the recipe on Food Network, Emeril Lagasse. Serves as an excellent base for a Mexican pizza. For a Mexican pizza, spread refried beans over crust rather than tomato sauce. Top with taco meat, cheddar cheese, chopped tomatoes and onion, shredded lettuce, etc.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swissms February 03, 2009
Cornmeal Mini-Pizza Dough