Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cornmeal Blueberry Wheat Germ Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cornmeal Blueberry Wheat Germ Muffins

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on June 28, 2010

      I will say first off I did change a few things. First off, I added honey and some vanilla for a little added sweetness. I used whole wheat flour, and I baked for 25 min at 350 for a nice perfect golden color. :) Oh, and I didn't have non-fat yogurt so I used strawberry banana yoplus yogurt. lol. It worked. These are so yummy, nice and moist yet thick. Perfect breakfast meal. They have a sweet fruity flavor with a cornbread taste too. Very good. I used a 12 muffin tin that I greased with crisco and they slid right out.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      excellent!! instead of yogurt i used another 1/4 cup of skim milk. I also added 2 tbsp of ground flaxseed! They also made 12 muffins, straight to the top of the muffin holders!! I did use the oil, which was great in the removal of the muffins from the rubber muffin holders. I WILL make them again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      Oh man, these are delicious! I used 1/2 C whole wheat & 1/4 C all-purp flours, and used a whole cup of plain yogurt instead of the milk/yogurt combo. I also omitted the egg white, as others did, and used half applesauce/half oil. Instead of blueberries, I used frozen mixed berries (raspberries, marionberries, and blueberries). I have no idea how you guys got 12 muffins out of this, though. I filled the cups about 3/4 full or more, and ended up with 19! Only thing I might change is to add something for more flavor (honey instead of sugar? vanilla? almond extract? not sure yet...). Oh, and they stuck to the paper liners really bad, so I'll probably just spray the tins really well next time instead. Thanks for the amazing recipe, Dorel!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      These are so good! I like that they can be made from things I usually have on hand. They will be part of my regular baking rotation from now on. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2006

      I made these muffins with frozen blueberries, using buttermilk and only one egg. I'm not usually a big fan of cornmeal, but my mother really liked these, and I also enjoyed their wholesome taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2006

      These turned out great. Easy, healthy and tasty. I followed some of the other raters lead, and used whole wheat pastry flour and no egg white, and they are great. Didn't change anything else. I used two cups of frozen blueberries, and it made exactly 12 muffins. This recipe is a keeper. Thanks so much for posting it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2005

      Lovely unique muffins with great texture and flavor. I substitued the flour for whole wheat pastry flour and used Sucanat instead of sugar. I was running short on yogurt, so I just used a full cup of buttermilk. I actually ended up using half blueberries, half rasperries, which was good, although I think they'd be better with all blueberries. I didn't use the egg white, as Dorel said she hadn't either. The texture is awesome, and I was surprised at how well the wheat germ flavor goes with cornmeal. I was surprised that these were not very sweet- I mean, they are plenty sweet, but I thought they might be sweeter because they have a whole half-cup of sugar. I thought the sweetness was just right though, and they make a GREAT breakfast or snack. A keeper in my book, I don't think I would change a thing. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2005

      Yum! A rustic muffin that gets texture from cornmeal and wheat germ complimented nicely by lots of blueberries. I tagged these for Healthy ABC and made as directed. Wonderful with a cup of coffee. Thanks, Dorel, for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2012

      Made this recipe last night because I have recently started using wheat germ. These muffins were fantastic! I used vanilla nonfat yogurt and added in a tsp of honey as well. I definately plan to make these again. Thank you for posting this recipe! I will be passing it along so that other friends of mine can enjoy them as well :-) As the other poster said it filled up all 12 cups in the pan perfectly and came out nicely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      These had a very good flavor but I used a medium ground cornmeal and it stayed gritty after being cooked. I'll have to try again with finer ground cornmeal. Thanks Dorel, for posting. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cornmeal Blueberry Wheat Germ Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (74 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 176.2
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    29%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 16.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 74.8 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.5 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 11.8 g
    47%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites