16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very nice, served topped with creamed chipped beef gravy. Next time I'll serve topped with chicken & gravy (and will definitely double the recipe, as this barely makes 4 full sized waffles). Would also be nice topped with honey & butter. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau January 05, 2014

This is THE perfect recipe for my cast-iron waffle iron. Wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jodid February 28, 2010

Wow.. I can't believe I haven't reviewed these yet, I've been making them for several months as my standby-waffle. They're great! Crispy on the outside and waffle-esk in the middle. Very adaptable as well. I've done LF versions with skim milk/Smart Balance Light and Lower Carb/Whole Wheat version, both with equal success. Wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AKillian24 January 01, 2009

I made these this morning for my folks and son. This is the second time I've done waffles for them and dad was super pleased with every aspect of them. I used 1/2 applesauce for the oil and 1/2 EVOO. Skim milk for the milk. I took them out of the waffle iron and put them in the oven on broil for a couple of minutes, because my iron just doesn't seem to get them crisp the way they like them. Mom said they were a bit heavy, but aren't waffles supposed to be? :D Thanks so much! It's a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SmoochTheCook May 23, 2008

These were delicious! Probably the best waffles I have ever made. I did however alter the recipe to make it lower in fat and sugar. I doubled all the ingredients to make more, EXCEPT --- - Used 1 cup skim milk and 1/2 cup fresh squeezed orange juice - Used 1/4 cup oil and 1/4 cup applesauce for other half - Only used 2 tsp sugar instead of doubling it The only problem was my blender wasn't really big enough (or powerful enough) to accommodate twice the ingredients. Maybe I need a bigger blender or could just do it in bowl? Served with nonfat plain yogurt and strawberries! YUMMY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mapsmay May 10, 2008

I have made these waffles twice in two days! They are so good, and I like that they don't contain a huge amount of butter or oil. The cornmeal flavor is very mild; really, the addition of cornmeal affects the texture more than the flavor. I used my immersion blender for this, and it took less than five minutes to prepare the batter this way. On my round waffle iron, this recipe yielded 3 waffles. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Cookie January 22, 2008

These greatly exceeding my expectations - they were wonderful! Super easy to make, a gorgeous color when I lifted the lid, light and crispy but not dry, and with a very light cornmeal taste that was much more subtle than I'd anticipated. I got two sets of 4 waffles each from this. I love that it's simple enough for the older kids to make themselves and fast enough to have a quick breakfast be something other than cereal or a granola bar. The kids have put them high on their list of favorites, and so have I. Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
winkki February 09, 2007

With such simple ingredients I was surprised how tastey these were. My waffle iron isn't very big - it's an old round one, and it only made 3 waffles. I served them with peaches and blueberries, sauted in brown sugar, cinnamon and butter and whipping cream. But even plain they were yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet August 12, 2006

Wow! These waffles were great - crispy on the outside and creamy and light on the inside. The only adjustments I made were to use buttermilk and add 1 tsp of vanilla. Everyone loved them. I will definitely be making these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri in Georgia August 06, 2006

I wish I could give this 10 stars!! First, I love that they came right out of the waffle maker, no sticking whatsoever! Second, I love the addition of the cornmeal! They were perfect. I added a bit of vanilla and I might add some cinnamon next time too! These were a huge hit with my kids & DH!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieMarie July 30, 2006
Cornmeal Blender Waffles