Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cornish Miners' Pasties Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cornish Miners' Pasties

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on May 09, 2011

      ground beef? carrots??? my Cornish grandmother is rolling in her grave. I'll use the crust recipe but the filling is only steak, onions, potatoes, turnips and salt and pepper. NEVER ground beef and certainly no vegetables.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2011

      Sadly, this is NOT a CORNISH miner's pasty! As before, ground beef isn't used. It should be skirt beef, cubed. Neither should there by turnips (the Cornish name for a swede or rutabaga) or carrots. Pasties are never served with gravy, because there should be sufficient juices from the potatoes and meat to do that - maybe a knob of butter can be added.

      So, it may be a meat pie, turnover or whatever, but it can't be called a Cornish Pasty. In fact, if you tried to sell them like this in the UK, you'd be banned from using that name!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2013

      I've already reviewed this recipe and my question is to the lady Debber: what, in your estimation, is a " traditional Cornish street "? Cornwall is a very large county located in the Southwest of England and, in some parts would like to gain it's independence from England, and you make it sound like it's a small town or village! You, obviously, have a limited knowledge of UK geography and a romanticised view of British history! If you can't give accurate and informed reviews on here then just don't bother, will you?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2011

      That's right! No ground beef, carrots nor gravy! My husband is from the UP in Michigan. They would NEVER make them with ground beef, cat tots nor gravy! Best pasties are from the UP!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      Very good. I felt that there were too much potatoes and carrots for the portion of ground beef the recipe called for, so next time I'll double the amount of beef. As others have said, I also was left with a lot more mixture, so I'll be doubling the pastry dough as well. Additionally, instead of using the cream of mushroom soup gravy, I used recipe 204187 for beef gravy, which was perfect with th the pasties!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2010

      Very good! My husband thought it would be nice with more beef and some mushrooms, peas, and corn. May try that next time. The "cream of mushroom" gravy was okay, but we will try it next time with brown gravy. Thanks for the delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      I haven't gotten to eat any, but I made a batch of these for my man to take to work for lunch, and he LOVES them. I froze them (he's not exactly a Cornish miner, but it still works). He takes one out of the freezer every morning and reheats it in the microwave for his lunch break. Oh, and I did make the pastry that goes with it. I ended up with leftover filling and had to make more pastry. I think next time I will make a double batch of the filling and a triple batch of the pastry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      These are very good and filling! Made 2 kinds here. Made individual crescent shaped pasties using ready made puffed pastry sheets and a big pie using the recommended pastry since it was difficult to fold. Tastewise, both were equally wonderful even if the pastry sheets had different tastes. The crescent ones were ready to go, have softer crusts and could be eaten as is with or without the sauce, while the pie with the brown biscuit texture topped with mushroom gravy's just so delicious and homey. I'm sure having it as individual pasties would be equally great as well. Despite making 2 kinds, I still had a bunch of leftover filling enough to make another batch. Thanks, Debber! Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2008

      These turned out delicious. Easy to make just a bit tedious. I followed the pastry recipe also, but I seemed to have a lot of mixture left over so next time i think I'll double the the pastry

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2007

      DH said this is the best cornish pasty he's ever had! I made your Pasty Pastry for Cornish Miners' Pasties for the crust. The only change I made was added a tsp of dried mixed herbs and some freshing ground black pepper to the filling and did not bother with the gravy. Thank you, Debber, for sharing yet another one of your wonderful recipes! Made for PAC '07.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2007

      This was really tasty! I was lazy and used a frozen pie crust I had and just made up half of it. I also microwaved the vegetables so I didn't have to bake it for an hour - and it was excellent. I made an impromptu beef gravy with milk, butter, flour and beef broth. I plan to freeze the rest of the filling to have later. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cornish Miners' Pasties

    Serving Size: 1 (237 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 393.4
     
    Calories from Fat 242
    61%
    Total Fat 26.9 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 13.1 g
    65%
    Cholesterol 86.2 mg
    28%
    Sodium 1321.2 mg
    55%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    18%
    Protein 17.7 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites