11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is exactly what I was looking for!! Nice baked "fried" chicken. It baked nicely & stayed crispy. Plus, it looked great! Only complaint - I can usually handle hot stuff, but it was just a tad too spicy for me. Next time I'll use a little less cayenne & I think it will be perfect. Otherwise, FANTASTIC!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heidi T. August 17, 2011

FABULOUS!!! Loved it. For the last 5 minutes I turned my oven to broil just to add some extra crispness! I also used gluten-free cornflake crumbs to make it fit in with my GF diet. This was a huge hit with both me and my husband! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly0412 November 10, 2009

Oh My....Where do I start. I made this last night. I used boneless, skinless chicken breast (fresh NOT FROZEN). I used chicken poultry seasoning instead of the cayenne. I put the seasoning as well as salt and pepper on the breast and in the cornflake mix. I used butter (land of lakes) instead of olive oil. I did lighly oil pan so bottom would crisp as well. GEEEE WHIZ this turned out so FREAKING GOOD. I will never make another breaded baked chicken any other way again. Even the leftovers I had for lunch was great!!!. I did have to make a little extra of the cornflake crust to put on tops of the chicken before I baked it. I served it with mashed potatoes and White peppered gravy. The gravy on the chicken was very similar to chicken fried chicken dish, but WAY less guilt. My daughter and hubby SOOOOO loved it too!!! I cant say enough good things here !!! THANKS

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy@TN October 03, 2008

This is crispy, and wonderful. I added a couple tablespoons of grated parmesan to make it even more crispy. I used egg substitute and left out the olive oil so I guess it evened out calorie wise. Reheats beautifully.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff September 17, 2008

my mom used to make it this way, minus the olive oil (she used crisco or veggie) and the cayenne...it was always my fave way to have chicken! I do the same nowdays or substitute panko for the crispiness. use the cornflakes for chicken fried steak too....really good and great gravy with the drippings!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sesstina September 15, 2008

This recipe was loved by my family. Trying to watch our weight it fix right in our meal plan. My husband, who is very picky found it to be great. This is my second time using this recipes. First time I made it as the recipe stated; the second time I added taco seasoning. Boy was that good. Great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Natural Health #263621 May 20, 2008

We loved this. I was afraid that with such simple seasoning that it would be bland, but it was tasty. We subbed butter for the olive oil, and used 3 large boneless skinless chicken breasts. We did sprinkle a little parmesan on the breasts about half way through baking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy2two January 30, 2008

This was a tad salty but i overdid i think...this really reminds me of the japanese version of fried chicken katsu! it was really good served with a japanese barbeque sauce called tonkatsu. very good, i recommend doting the top of the chicken with a little butter or spraying it lightly with oil before baking to help the cornflakes get crispy. great recipe. thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sophia Foley October 02, 2007

This one is going in the keeper file. I used 6 boneless breasts sliced about an 1 to 1 1/2 inch thick. I doubled the cornflakes (even added a tad more because I seem to run a little short.) Instructions indicate garlic so I added about a teaspoon of powdered garlic. I have been making other versions of baked tenders for a long time but I think this is the only one I will use from now on. Thank you Japanese Delight!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
concretegirl September 20, 2007

WOW! Great dish overall. The crust is just crunchy enough and the meat is tender. EXCELLENT

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alicia P July 05, 2007
Cornflake-Crusted Baked Chicken