14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

First time that I've made Corned Beef Hash, we loved the crust! I like anything of Julia Child's!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Home Cookin' March 14, 2007

A post St. Pat's tradition from here out! Made with leftovers (beef, potatoes, carrots and gravy) from the annual boiled dinner the night before. I started the dish with a sheet of foil and a second skillet pressed on top, but decided that it really needed to dry up a bit so removed the top after about 5 minutes. After it developed the bottom crust I finished it under the broiler (adding eggs on top at the end).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blue Plate Special March 18, 2011

Tasty recipe but I had a hard time with it. I didn't really get good crust and the crust I did get stuck to the pan vs. being able to scrape it up into the dish. I used some leftover prime rib and beef broth. Made it "as is" and tasted good but it didn't have very good looks. All operator error I'm sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW March 08, 2010

When DH says he liked and that I should make it again, then it is a 5 Star rating. I followed exactly and it was not too dry or too wet. I would never had thought to make hash this way and was surprised that it turned out so well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChiefCook&BottleWasher January 01, 2010

I followed this recipe exactly except that I was a bit shy on 3 cups of corned beef left from my St. Patrick's Dinner. I had no problem with it being dry, for me it was very wet, even after the subscribed cooking time. I decided to put portions into small baking dishes, place an indentation in, place a raw egg, seasno, and bake for 30 minutes at 325. This came out very well and we enjoyed it. The flavor was very tasty, and I'll try this again on the stove top but may start off with less liquid and add more as needed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeniseBC March 21, 2009

PanNan, how wonderful and flavorful! I loved it! Cooked it just as posted, which is a first for me! The only thing I did was just use oregano and parsley and added some crushed red pepper flakes for more of a kick! I have always liked the hash they served at diners but this was truly awesome! Thanks you so much for posting, Diane :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manami June 24, 2008

I was skeptical at first. But followed the recipe - only substituting canned gravy for the "leftover". I used my leftover roast from Christmas dinner. The results were served with scrambled eggs and a fruit salad and well received. I let it get really crunchy and then flipped it like a pancake. It was good. The crunchy parts were the best.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AQueen January 09, 2008

I used some leftover corned beef for this flavor packed dish. The crust is the best part!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 April 16, 2007

I followed the recipe as printed and it crisped nicely and was tasty. Not sure if I would make it again. My husband really, really liked it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buttrdish January 13, 2007

I used the left-overs from #18487 Bleu Cheese Beef Tenderloin which I made with the potatoes and used them and the broth to make this hash. Wow, it is excellent. You've got to try it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smokey Garguillo July 12, 2006
Corned or Roast Beef Hash