96 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

It's a good recipe.

It however fails to mention that you need to put the cabbage in the last hour. That's why many of you are getting overcooked cabbage. Also.... the potatoes should be put in the last 2 hours or so. If you cook them from the start they WILL be brown and mushy.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CreamOfWeber August 18, 2012

wow! this is the only way to go. i followed the recipe almost to the letter. only exception was i also, like many other reviewers, used a whole can of beer. my corned beef was a little over 3lbs. i cooked it in my 51/2 qt. crockpot. after 9 hours, it was perfect. i removed the corned beef, and covered it with foil. let it rest at least 20 minutes before cutting. i did rinse the corned beef before cooking, did not use the liquid in the package. however, i did use the seasoning packet, and added a dozen whole peppercorns. like others have suggested, use a flat cut, not pointed. oh, also cook it fat side up. this keeps the meat even moister as the fat is an insulator, and the fat slowly melts over the beef. this will be my go to recipe for corned beef.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jackcheese_11416616 January 08, 2012

Fantastic! This was my first time cooking corned beef and it went very well! I followed the recipe exactly as written. I did, however, take the suggestion of other reviewers and soaked it, but only for the amount of time it took me to cut up the other ingredients. We used Sam Adams Honey Porter beer and I definitely suggest using a good beer as it infuses the brisket. We cooked it for 10 1/2 hours and couldn't wait to tear into it when we got home from work. Thanks for a great recipe! **Update 2/5/10** Made this again., still amazing! This time we used Sam Adams Boston Lager and we agreed it was even better. Hope this helps someone!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JennyLynn99 February 07, 2010

Fabulous! I've been following this recipe as my base recipe for CB&C over the past 3 yrs, tweeking it with a few minor variations, & it comes out great every time! We've experimented with different beers, from lagers, porters, stouts (like Guinness), red ales & IPAs. We've found the hoppier beers work the best, such as pale ales, red ales & IPAs (IPA being my favorite). They give excellent flavor to the meat & veggies. A note on the cabbage: since this is being cooked over a long period of time, we put in the cabbage for the last 2 hrs or so. If you cook the cabbage for the whole 9 hrs, it will turn to mush. Thanks for posting!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scubapanda March 18, 2011

This was the best corned beef I have had in awhile. The only exception was adding a whole can of beer, although the roast does make more juice, it still was nice and tender and easily pulled apart with a fork! The only thing is, you need a real big crockpot because I was unable to put as much cabbage in it as I would have liked! But all in all, great! Will use again! Thanks!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KristyLynn1481 January 21, 2010

This was a hit at my house! I used the whole can of beer and it didn't see to be too much. The crockpot was quite full. I rinsed my brisket before putting it in the crockpot and I did not use the seasoning packet that came with it. My husband loved it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smlusk February 06, 2010

We really enjoyed it. I rinsed the corned beef then only used half the seasoning next time full pack. It's a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FromKatesKitchen September 29, 2009

This corned beef had good flavor and was very easy since I didn't have to add veggies later as with some recipes I have tried. Next time though I will use a dark beer as I used a light beer the first time and couldn't taste any difference from other recipes I have used without beer. I gave it 4 stars because it was so simple to put together. You definitely need a BIG crock pot though.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WINNIE246 May 12, 2008

Very good. My husband and I had a dinner guest, and we all loved this recipe. Only thing was that I was unsure if I should use the spice packet that comes with the corned beef. I used half of it. Everything turned out great!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
starsugarb October 05, 2003

Great recipe - very simple to follow and tasty results. I used a Samuel Adams Honey Porter (the whole bottle), petite carrots, onions and bay leaves to start with the brisket. I followed the suggestion to add potatoes and cabbage 2 hours before and it was perfect The meat was juicy and not salty at all. I served it with veggies on the bottom with meat on top and a little extra juice to form a stew. This is a keeper and will be our St. Patrick's Day tradition from now one.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MamaWicks March 15, 2015
Corned Beef in Beer (Crock Pot)