Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Corned Beef in Beer (Crock Pot) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Corned Beef in Beer (Crock Pot)

    Average Rating:

    90 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 90

    Sort by:

    • on August 18, 2012

      It's a good recipe.

      It however fails to mention that you need to put the cabbage in the last hour. That's why many of you are getting overcooked cabbage. Also.... the potatoes should be put in the last 2 hours or so. If you cook them from the start they WILL be brown and mushy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      Fantastic! This was my first time cooking corned beef and it went very well! I followed the recipe exactly as written. I did, however, take the suggestion of other reviewers and soaked it, but only for the amount of time it took me to cut up the other ingredients. We used Sam Adams Honey Porter beer and I definitely suggest using a good beer as it infuses the brisket. We cooked it for 10 1/2 hours and couldn't wait to tear into it when we got home from work. Thanks for a great recipe! **Update 2/5/10** Made this again., still amazing! This time we used Sam Adams Boston Lager and we agreed it was even better. Hope this helps someone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2012

      wow! this is the only way to go. i followed the recipe almost to the letter. only exception was i also, like many other reviewers, used a whole can of beer. my corned beef was a little over 3lbs. i cooked it in my 51/2 qt. crockpot. after 9 hours, it was perfect. i removed the corned beef, and covered it with foil. let it rest at least 20 minutes before cutting. i did rinse the corned beef before cooking, did not use the liquid in the package. however, i did use the seasoning packet, and added a dozen whole peppercorns. like others have suggested, use a flat cut, not pointed. oh, also cook it fat side up. this keeps the meat even moister as the fat is an insulator, and the fat slowly melts over the beef. this will be my go to recipe for corned beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      Fabulous! I've been following this recipe as my base recipe for CB&C over the past 3 yrs, tweeking it with a few minor variations, & it comes out great every time! We've experimented with different beers, from lagers, porters, stouts (like Guinness), red ales & IPAs. We've found the hoppier beers work the best, such as pale ales, red ales & IPAs (IPA being my favorite). They give excellent flavor to the meat & veggies. A note on the cabbage: since this is being cooked over a long period of time, we put in the cabbage for the last 2 hrs or so. If you cook the cabbage for the whole 9 hrs, it will turn to mush. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      This was the best corned beef I have had in awhile. The only exception was adding a whole can of beer, although the roast does make more juice, it still was nice and tender and easily pulled apart with a fork! The only thing is, you need a real big crockpot because I was unable to put as much cabbage in it as I would have liked! But all in all, great! Will use again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      This was a hit at my house! I used the whole can of beer and it didn't see to be too much. The crockpot was quite full. I rinsed my brisket before putting it in the crockpot and I did not use the seasoning packet that came with it. My husband loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      We really enjoyed it. I rinsed the corned beef then only used half the seasoning next time full pack. It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      This corned beef had good flavor and was very easy since I didn't have to add veggies later as with some recipes I have tried. Next time though I will use a dark beer as I used a light beer the first time and couldn't taste any difference from other recipes I have used without beer. I gave it 4 stars because it was so simple to put together. You definitely need a BIG crock pot though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2003

      Very good. My husband and I had a dinner guest, and we all loved this recipe. Only thing was that I was unsure if I should use the spice packet that comes with the corned beef. I used half of it. Everything turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2010

      I came across this recipe this morning and decided to prepare it for dinner. My cornbeef was frozen so I boiled it for 30 min. I believe with this method it will eliminate some of the saltiness. Other than that, followed the recipe and served with macaroni salad and homemade rolls. Great dinner, raved compliments, and will make it again. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      I cooked as directed, for 9 hours on low. The corned beef was really good, as were the carrots (I added extra, good thing !) BUT, sorry to say the potatoes were not our favorites ...kind of bitter and brown... I made mashed potatoes, which went great with the corned beef anyway). And the cabbage...don't know if it was the beer in the pot or what. I did put it on top of the beef, but it came out brown, way overdone and disappointing. I think I'd just boil the cabbage separate in the future.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      This is fantastic and easy. We like lots of veggies, so next time I'll increase the carrots and potatoes but otherwise it will be a St. Patty's Day staple at our house.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      neither my family or myself cared for this recipe. I think the beer created a bitterness that we just didnt like. I love the chicago style corned beef and I think the beer overpowered it for me. Unfortunatly most of it was thrown away.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      I was so skeptical of this recipe because I cook corned beef all of the time by the boiling method. All I can say is try it. It was wonderful. I didn't think there was enough liquid but it was perfect because it made more as the day went on!! Try it you will like it!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      Perfect! I couldn't have asked for better results!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      I wanted something easy for our New Years Eve dinner - This was perfect. I didn't add the cabbage until 1 hour before serving. - I did add 1 onion right at the beginning for flavor but we like our veggies a bit crunchy so added a second one along with the cabbage. Used "Hell's Gate" Lager. Will make it again Cooking time was on low for 7 hours

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      Definitely a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      Sensational. Short prep...wonderful flavor. Especially the vegtables that take on the full flavor of the corned beef and seasonings vs just "boiled vegtables". This one is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      This made probably the best corned beef I've ever had! I've made corned beef numerous times but it always seemed to come out tough, but not this time :-) My only complaint was that it was very salty even though I rinsed the meat, but I would have to attribute that to either the meat or the seasoning packet (wasn't sure if I was supposed to use that or not so I threw it in) Will be keeping this recipe for every year. Thanks papergoddess

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      I'm reviewing this based on techniques and cooking methods because when I went to make it I found that someone had consumed the beer (lol)!! I substitued apple juice for the beer and was very pleased with the resulting flavors and textures of this meal. People who want to drink their beer - or not - will find that one cup of apple juice does not make this sweet so is better than water as a substitute for the beer. We'll make this again - thanks papergoddess!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Corned Beef in Beer (Crock Pot)

    Serving Size: 1 (656 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 773.4
     
    Calories from Fat 389
    50%
    Total Fat 43.3 g
    66%
    Saturated Fat 14.4 g
    72%
    Cholesterol 222.1 mg
    74%
    Sodium 2600.9 mg
    108%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.1 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 46.2 g
    92%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes