15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Love this recipe. Love it so much I posted it on my blog docaitta.blogspot.com so others can love it too. It is clearly credited to you, with a link back to this page. Thanks again. Will definitely make this corned beef again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gourmand January 06, 2011

I made this for St. Patrick's Day and it was absolutely the best corned beef I ever had. (I happen to start with an awesome piece of small farm, grass fed brisket so I couldn't be terrible!) I used 2 3/4 cups of sea salt and added 1 Tbs hot pepper flakes to the brine and more peppercorns to the pot. I kept it in the fridge for 4 days and cooked it. FABULOUS! I had enough for dinner for the two of us and enough left over to make great Reubens using my homemade sauerkraut. Great recipe, Evelyn!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PeachyFreak March 26, 2010

This is a very good corned beef recipe. However when I went to school 60 hours was 2.5 days not 5 days, so this was about right time to brine the brisket. It is better than most corned beef that you can buy ay wally world or most stores. thanks for the recipe Evelyn

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mr gene March 11, 2009

Excellent. I started brining almost 5 lbs of beef brisket on Thursday night and served it Easter Sunday afternoon. I followed your recipe except that I used a few more pepper corns. We enjoyed the corned beef with boiled potatoes and cold sauerkraut on the side. I cooked the potatoes in the corned beef broth--not the brine. And I made some rye buns. DH and I are looking forward to leftovers today. Evelyn, I'll me making this one again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dustbunni April 12, 2004

This is an EXCELLENT recipe!! I will never buy corned beef at the store again!! I got a beef brisket that was close to 4 1/2 pounds.(If you can't find a brisket in your store, ask the butcher if they have any.) It was too big to fit in my stock pot for brining in one piece so I cut it in half. I put both pieces in the stockpot and added the brining ingredients. I then put a plate on top of the meat to weigh it down.(as directed) I started it on Monday (March 15th.) I brined it for 5 days!! On Saturday(5 days later)I took one piece of the meat out of the brine solution and set it aside. I put the other one in a smaller pot, covered it with the brine solution, returned it to the fridge and continued brining it. My crockpot was too small for both pieces. I took the piece of meat I had set aside and rinsed it really well to get the brine solution off of it. This makes the meat less salty when you cook it. I then put it in my crockpot and followed the rest of the directions in the recipe. I cooked it for about 8-9 hours. I put the cabbage in during the last 20 or so minutes of cooking time. It absorbed the flavors in the meat juices. The meat was VERY tender and VERY tasty!!! I cooked the other one today (Monday) on the top of my stove, following the recipe directions. It was very good too. I couldn't tell any difference in flavors by brining it longer. I think I added too much water to the pot when I cooked it today. Next time I make this, I will add less water to cook it in. I might be able to tell a difference then. Thanks Evelyn for an excellent recipe. This is the only way I will cook corned beef from now on...no more store bought, packaged corned beef for me!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AuntWoofieWoof March 22, 2004

This recipe was great and had an excellent flavor. HOWEVER, the salt level was way, way, way too high when leaving it to marinate for 60 hours. Even when thoroughly rinsing and drying the meat before cooking. When making this recipe again, I will try to halve the salt (to only 1 cup) if marinating for the full 5 days. Alternatively, a shorter marinade time should also help.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Court2 January 29, 2009

I am also a convert. My family loves corned beef and requests it often. this is so much cheaper than the bought kind I can indulge them more often. I use all different kinds of sauces on it, depending what I have in the house. All in all, it's easy and delicious. Thanks!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chava Cohen October 10, 2008

Raves from all the tasters! I let it corn a full five days and then cooked as directed. No cabbage or mustard for us--Corned Beef Specials! Corned beef on rye with cole slaw and Russian dressing. As good as we ever got in a deli in the city! Thanks from all of us!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate March 24, 2008

Just want to say thank you. I made it three days ago. The beef was so tender. My husband loved it. And guess what... my aunt who came for a visit said she would like to make it for the xmas lunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tombloktempe November 22, 2007

I'm making this for St. Patrick's Day for the second time (guess I forgot to review it last year). It's easy and delicious! Fresher tasting than store-bought, but with that distinctive "corned beef" taste. Because I cook the cabbage and potatoes in the water I don't like having whole spices in it. Since I'm too lazy to strain it (and don't want to lose the bits of meat floating in it) I used the full amount of spices for the curing and none in the cooking water.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elisa72 March 17, 2007
Corned Beef (Corn Your Own)