8 Reviews

I must have done something wrong, but what can go wrong with a recipe like this, unless I had a bad cut of corned beef. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out horrible. I put carrots in with the beef and cabbage and the beer taste was quite overpowering, especially for the carrots. The meat was chewy -- the worst meal I've ever made. This was the first time I made corned beef. I'm determined to try again, though. I'll be more selective in my beef purchase next time, will use a milder beer or maybe I'll just try another recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lori1950 March 18, 2013

This was excellent! I followed it exactly and it was perfect and easy!! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*SpeechTeachMe* March 18, 2011

What a PERFECT recipe! Outstanding taste. I used a cream ale beer I had on hand and think it really added to the flavor of the meat. Even the pickiest of my kids had to admit to liking this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefKristine March 16, 2008

Delicious! I had wanted to make this for the ZWT3 Great Britain Region after my Teammate Shari2 made it and said it was awesome, but the store near my house didn't have any briskets! I went to a SuperStore across town and they had them so better late than never:) DH and I think this is the best recipe we have had for Corned Beef. I put it in at 7am on "low" and had DH turn it to "keep warm" about noon as I was out all day. (My crock pot cooks on the hot side so "keep warm" is probably like low.) We weren't able to eat until 5-ish so the meat was fall apart tender and still very juicy. The cabbage was super soft the way I like it. I used St Pauli Girl for the beer and I did put the seasoning packets that come with the corned beef into a tea ball and dropped it in as well. I highly recommend this recipe. I do apologize for lack of photo, but cabbage made the way I like it is not appealing in appearance :) We are having the leftovers in sandwiches for work. Thanks for posting, into the keeper file this goes! Nick's Mom

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda. June 10, 2007

This was very quick and easy to make. I also threw in some potatoes with mine. It smelled great as it was cooking and the taste was great too. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shari2 June 02, 2007

You can't get much easier than this! It tastes great and takes only minutes to put into the crockpot. I found it to be rather salty. I would certainly make this again, but just add a tbsp or two of sugar to counter some of the saltiness of the soup mix. Thanx for sharing this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* May 27, 2007

This was delicious and got rave reviews from the guests at our St. Patrick's Day dinner! I used an envelope of Lipton onion DIP mix (thought that would be close enough, didn't we used to use onion soup mix for the dip?). Traditionalist that I am I threw in half of the peppercorns that came with the corned beef. It was interesting, there was an ever so slight hint of cinnamon, that while not traditional in Irish meals, was really great for our meal. I'm thinking maybe that was from the beer?? I used Sam Adams, black lager beer. It was great that I could put it in the crockpot, as I had a very busy day, but still wanted to have a great St. Patrick's Day meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debloves2cook March 18, 2006

So easy and delicious. I used the pressure cooker instead of the crockpot, and set it on high pressure for 60 minutes. I typically don't care for meat cooked in beer, but this was great. DH said it needed more than five stars. It's going right in my favorite beef recipes cookbook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan October 09, 2005
Corned Beef & Cabbage Easy Style