29 Reviews

My DH made this for our annual St Paddy's day party and it was a hit! It was a little dry but that may be because we didn't use a big enough pot (it was a tight fit for the 8lb brisket). When the beef was done he removed it from the simmering liquid and threw in a quartered onion, 3 heads of cabbage (quartered), and potatoes (halved). These were some of the BEST potatoes I've ever had - I'd make the simmering liquid again just to cook veggies!!! Thanks for a great recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dee Licious March 20, 2010

I have been looking for a simple how to recipe . This sounds perfect. I will be using venison . I can't believe it is this simple. I paid way too much $$$ for the butcher to make this for me.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jburr01 September 28, 2009

Totally AWESOME five stars for leaving out the saltpeter......

20 stars for this simple recipe keeping them simple always make for better meals.... Thanks Angie Ed's a lucky Guy

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
czacc September 19, 2010

I tried this recipe a week ago and was amazed at how well it came out. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of the meat. Brisket was well over $3.00 per pound so I substituted a bottom round roast that was reduced to $1.80 a pound. It came out tender and in my opinion was better than store bought corned beef.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thepoetnmotion March 29, 2009

Superb recipe, my family loved it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
timeforu2 March 20, 2009

Fantastic recipe! The first time was a little salty, but the second time I cut the brine recipe in half and used it on a 6# brisket and it was perfect. I am now thinking of preping 2 or 3 briskets at a time for different uses. One of these would make for a great Christmas gift. Just a thought.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
larrykocen August 26, 2008

I saw this recipe and it peeked my interest. I did it just as directed and it came out good. It is a little salty for my taste, but the flavor is GREAT! I will maybe try next time with a little less salt. Will definitely try again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FREIBERG93 July 23, 2008

I have never tried to make any thing like ths before, I thought a week in the fridge never, but I was pleasantly surprised. I also cooked mine in the slow cooker and the result was well, wonderfull! the flavour and the tenderness of the meat was like nothing I have made before we had the family for dinner and everyone loved it my D/H said I had exceled my self so Ithink it will be on the menu again and again.Thank's again EdsGirl

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tea Jenny March 17, 2008

I am so happy you posted this recipe and that I found it here on Zaar! I used a 4 lb brisket and halved the ingredients. I cooked it my crockpot for 9 hours on low and it was very tender. We had this on sandwiches and with mashed potatoes and cabbage. The flavor was exactly like the salt beef we buy in London (England)exept it did not have that pink color! Many thanks again for a recipe that will be made often!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pets'R'us July 25, 2005

Fabulous! We love corned beef and this recipe is SO much better than the corned beef briskets you buy at the store. It actually tastes like real meat; we didn't miss the wierd red color at all. I bought a big trimmed brisket and used half, about 4 pounds, and followed the other recipe ingredients exactly. Simmered in the crockpot, just because I had to go out for a while, and ended up with a wonderful, tender, flavorful, but not overly salty, corned beef. Also, very little fat since my brisket was so well trimmed which was another bonus. One of those Reynolds turkey cooking bags worked great for brining the brisket. Looking forward to Reuben sandwiches tomorrow! Thanks, EdsGirlAngie, for a wonderful idea and recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama June 08, 2005
Corned Beef Brisket - from Scratch