Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Corned Beef Brisket - from Scratch Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Corned Beef Brisket - from Scratch

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on March 20, 2010

      My DH made this for our annual St Paddy's day party and it was a hit! It was a little dry but that may be because we didn't use a big enough pot (it was a tight fit for the 8lb brisket). When the beef was done he removed it from the simmering liquid and threw in a quartered onion, 3 heads of cabbage (quartered), and potatoes (halved). These were some of the BEST potatoes I've ever had - I'd make the simmering liquid again just to cook veggies!!! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      I have been looking for a simple how to recipe . This sounds perfect. I will be using venison . I can't believe it is this simple. I paid way too much $$$ for the butcher to make this for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      Totally AWESOME five stars for leaving out the saltpeter......

      20 stars for this simple recipe keeping them simple always make for better meals.... Thanks Angie Ed's a lucky Guy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      I tried this recipe a week ago and was amazed at how well it came out. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of the meat. Brisket was well over $3.00 per pound so I substituted a bottom round roast that was reduced to $1.80 a pound. It came out tender and in my opinion was better than store bought corned beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      Fantastic recipe! The first time was a little salty, but the second time I cut the brine recipe in half and used it on a 6# brisket and it was perfect. I am now thinking of preping 2 or 3 briskets at a time for different uses. One of these would make for a great Christmas gift. Just a thought.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      I saw this recipe and it peeked my interest. I did it just as directed and it came out good. It is a little salty for my taste, but the flavor is GREAT! I will maybe try next time with a little less salt. Will definitely try again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      I have never tried to make any thing like ths before, I thought a week in the fridge never, but I was pleasantly surprised. I also cooked mine in the slow cooker and the result was well, wonderfull! the flavour and the tenderness of the meat was like nothing I have made before we had the family for dinner and everyone loved it my D/H said I had exceled my self so Ithink it will be on the menu again and again.Thank's again EdsGirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2005

      I am so happy you posted this recipe and that I found it here on Zaar! I used a 4 lb brisket and halved the ingredients. I cooked it my crockpot for 9 hours on low and it was very tender. We had this on sandwiches and with mashed potatoes and cabbage. The flavor was exactly like the salt beef we buy in London (England)exept it did not have that pink color! Many thanks again for a recipe that will be made often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2005

      Fabulous! We love corned beef and this recipe is SO much better than the corned beef briskets you buy at the store. It actually tastes like real meat; we didn't miss the wierd red color at all. I bought a big trimmed brisket and used half, about 4 pounds, and followed the other recipe ingredients exactly. Simmered in the crockpot, just because I had to go out for a while, and ended up with a wonderful, tender, flavorful, but not overly salty, corned beef. Also, very little fat since my brisket was so well trimmed which was another bonus. One of those Reynolds turkey cooking bags worked great for brining the brisket. Looking forward to Reuben sandwiches tomorrow! Thanks, EdsGirlAngie, for a wonderful idea and recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2013

      FANTASTIC......JUST FINISHED COOKING FOR 4 HOURS, The most tender and flavorful<br/>corned beef ever, and I worked in the restaurant business as a chef for many years...thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2012

      This was very good. I used Morton's Tender Quick Salt and the meat was nice and red. Also I used a rolled rump roast (had one in freezer) Will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      This was my first time trying a brine from scratch, and I must say I was superbly happy with the results (as were my guests)!! I did end up cutting the brisket in half after it was brined and only cooking part of it the first night, freezing the other half for enjoyment at a later date. I will say I thought it was a touch too salty for me, but that may be the use of a 6.82lb brisket instead of an 8-10lb brisket. There was just no way I could handle that much beef in my kitchen! Next time, I will cut the salt just a bit, but still greatly enjoyed this whole experience.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      I did a "test run" on this recipe because I wanted to use it for St.Patrick's day! I used a locally grown grass fed brisket. It was so awesome, I cannot say enough about it! Everyone loved it! I used a 2 gallon ziplock bag to marinade it and that worked great! I'm making 2 of these for St. Patrick's day! Thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      OMG!!! This is worth every second of the week it takes to brine. I had never made corned beef and didn't know that I was supposed to start with an already corned beef brisket. Since what I bought was a regular brisket, I used this recipe to brine and then finished with Kevin's Best Corned Beef. Hands down the best corned beef I've ever had!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      No Potassium nitrate?

      It is a must use for proper Corned Beef

      Potassium nitrate Keeps the meat pink

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      I'm Renaissance woman...bring it home, brine it, cook it, eat it. My King Arthur loved it. Made for Alphabet Soup Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      this sounds fantastic and it is just what I was looking for!!! Tired of paying $4-5 for the store stuff. and since I am 90% Irish; this will become a monthly must!!! thank you very for submitting it; can't wait to make it!!! Joan

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

      Superb recipe, my family loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      I was looking for a "healthier" substitute to store bought corned beef and this recipe was the answer. The beef turned out great and now we do it every year on St. Patty's Day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      This was better than any I have ever purchased from the grocery store. Yes, it takes some planning and time, but it is well worth it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Corned Beef Brisket - from Scratch

    Serving Size: 1 (752 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 985.0
     
    Calories from Fat 403
    40%
    Total Fat 44.7 g
    68%
    Saturated Fat 15.7 g
    78%
    Cholesterol 374.9 mg
    124%
    Sodium 19351.8 mg
    806%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 125.7 g
    251%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes