Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Corned Beef and Cabbage/Pressure Cooker Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Corned Beef and Cabbage/Pressure Cooker

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on August 16, 2002

      I know this one and love it. Makes a Great tender brisket. That 4 cups of water should be cold when you start. And if you can find some Parsnips they go well replaceing the carrots. It'll vanish quickly, {grynn)so save some for the sandwiches..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      As a FIRST TIME PRESSIRE COOKER user, I have one wish...that someone, either the online pressure cooker manual or this recipe would have instructed me to place a kitchen towel over the part where the steam comes out. When it was time to release the pressure, I had it pointed toward the back corner of the stove and was surprised at the amount and force of the steam. The back of the stove, blacksplash, neighboring counter and toaster oven and everything within at least 3 feet was covered in Corned Beefy steam before I threw the kitchen hand towle over it. When I re-opened it after adding the veggies, I used the towel to open it and that worked perfectly. All of you first timers, that steam is SERIOUS!

      Aside from that, the recipe was great. I had bought a pre-packaged corned beef that was seasoned and had the spice packet. So I added some dehydrated sliced garlic and bay leaves to that and it was great. I even forgot to skim the broth and it was still great. I was expecting the broth to be gross because I didn't skim, but it wasn't. It looked great.
      I couldn't believe the potatoes were fully cooked after just 6 minutes.
      I depressurized after the veggies and left everything in the pressure cooker for about 90 minutes until dinner time and the veggies got a bit more done than I like--probably because I left them in. But the corned beef was so tender and flavorful it was ridiculous!
      Next time I'm also going to try adding turnips & parsnips!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      I have made this several times and it is wonderful everytime! I add about a tblspn of pickling spices and 1 bottle of Odoul's with enough water to cover. Sometimes I don't use any vegetables, but I've never been big on boiled veggies. One thing I would like to say to beginners is to make sure you add your garlic and spices AFTER you skim. I didn't and it is difficult to skim the foam and leave the spices. She does specify in the recipe but I just wanted to reiterate it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      This recipe is so delicious. It's going on year three of using this recipe (more than once a year!). Comes off without a hitch every time and cooked just right, with such flavor! We like to half the water add make up the other hal with apple juice. Yum! Time to start it soon for tonight's St. Patricks day dinner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      Yes, recipe is good but I was unable to get all the cut vegetables in the pressure cooker.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      This was great! I used a 6 quart pressure cooker and actually did two 3 lb point cut Corned Beefs. (I cooked the veggies seperately.) I'm at 5200 feet altitute so I added 1/2 cup extra water and tacked on 15 more minutes. It was moist, and tender and got rave reviews all around. So much simpler than the "boil for 5 hours" - this is what I'll do from now on. Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      This is a great method for preparing corned beef. Make sure the water covers the meat. It is easiest to remove the fat layer after the meat is cooked. I cooked the vegetables separately, so they wouldn't absorb as much fat and salt. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2014

      I suggest you consult your cooking times for your pressure cooker. I followed the recipe and later on found out that my cooker suggested only 25 minutes, not an hour! No wonder the meat had scrunk up to half the size it started.<br/>The flavor was good but may have been better had it not cooked for 1 hour. Overall, the recipe is good, just watch your times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2014

      4 cups was not enough, USE more water or better yet beer! Completely cover the meat so it doesn't dry out. We burned the pan pretty bad... couldn't smell it cause the exhaust fan was pulling all the smell out. A least the meat wasn't on the bottom (grateful for the strainer that saved our corned beef) so it wasn't that burnt. Was tender but not falling part. Will try this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2013

      Wow! This was fantastic! I followed the recipe verbatim and it was great, really great! Meat was tender, veggies, just right. I used to make corned beef and cabbage in the crock pot but never will again. Thank you, thank you, thank you for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2012

      Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2011

      This makes the best corn beef and cabbage I have ever had. I followed the recipe as is. I wouldn't change a thing. Just loved it and will make it again and again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

      This makes the best corned beef ever. Brisket is tender, tastey, and not stringy. However, if you plan on serving it on St. Patrick%u2019s Day, I might offer this one suggestion. Protocol dictates that you eliminate the carrots. It is not proper to server orange vegetables on that day. Most people won't mind, but there is always that one that might get upset. But, no matter how you make this recipe....;.it is delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      Absolutely delicious! The meat was really tender and so tasty. Thanks for the great recipe:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      Did not care for this. I liked the vegetables and the meat was tender, but I thought it tasted bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      Excellent- as advertised! Plus you can use the leftover broth for soups!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      This was the best corned beef and cabbage dinner I have ever had. I will never cook corned beef in the crock pot again. Thank you for this delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      No doubt the best way to cook corned beef. I add 1 tsp of Pickling Spice to give added kick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      This is absolutely the BEST way to make a corned beef. The brisket turned out so juicy and delicious. I'm convined, there is not other way to make corned beef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      somehow mine got away with me and the bottom of the pressure cooker burned but it still tasted fabulous after I cut off the burnt fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Corned Beef and Cabbage/Pressure Cooker

    Serving Size: 1 (814 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 712.0
     
    Calories from Fat 327
    45%
    Total Fat 36.3 g
    55%
    Saturated Fat 12.1 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 185.1 mg
    61%
    Sodium 2255.9 mg
    93%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.2 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 10.7 g
    42%
    Sugars 10.7 g
    43%
    Protein 41.5 g
    83%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites