Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Corned Beef and Cabbage in Guinness Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Corned Beef and Cabbage in Guinness

    Average Rating:

    115 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 115

    Sort by:

    • on June 08, 2007

      I've probably made this 8-10 times now and it's always great. I think the most important part is browning the meat. It's adds a certain richness to the overall flavor. The 2nd most important part is the combination of spices. I would have never thought to put cinnamon, cloves or allspice on corned beef, but believe me it works! After browning the meat, I put it in the crockpot with onions, garlic & spices on the bottom. I add cabbage, carrots & potatoes closer to the end (last hour or so) so they are cooked, but not mush. We're usually anxious to eat it when it's done (it smells so good) that I don't reduce the sauce. Sometimes I omit the potatoes and just serve over wide egg noodles. Probably not very Irish, but tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

      Loved the flavor of the corned beef cooked this way & will make it again! Next time however, we will cook the potatoes separately since noone cared for the look nor flavor of them after stewing in the Guinness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2007

      Cook cabbage seperately. (Simmered Cabbage #100417) Cooked in a crockpot for 8-9 hours. Very tender and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      This is a keeper. We loved it. After I finished cooking the brisket, I removed it and wrapped it in Saran (as one of the posters recommended) Then I put in the potatoes, parsnips and carrots. When they were done, I removed them to a bowl and put in 2 heads of cabbage. I love veggies so doubled them. They were so good cooked in the broth. I did rinse it (the brisket) yesterday and put it in a Ziplok with water and put it in the fridge overnight. So, I had no problem of it being too salty. But, this was wonderful I was at the store and they still had some corned beef left so I bought 2 to put in the freezer. I was telling the butcher about it and printed out the recipe for him. I will make this again and again. MaryAnne

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      Fiexed this yesterday for St. Patrick's Day and my husband and I both LOVED it! I didn't expect it to have such great flavor, but it was REALLY good. The sauce cooked down to a nice, thick, dark gravy that was very tasty and rich. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      I'm not a corned beef fan at all, but I tried this for my husband and daughter for St. Patrick's Day. They loved it! First, my daughter condescended to eating it, and second, my husband said it was better than his Mema's (who was Irish) corned beef and cabbage. Thanks a lot! The Guinness stout must have made the difference. I've tried to make the dish before with mixed (i.e., lukewarm) reviews. I will never make it another way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      very good I made 12 pounds of corned beef with with recipe...mine was not salty...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      We had this today for St. Patrick's Day and it was delicious. I followed directions exactly, but I used my crockpot. I didn't put potatoes/carrots/cabbage in the broth this time since I made colcannon. The Guinness really makes the difference. A great meal for us with yummy left-overs! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      My fiance and I made this yesterday for St. Patrick's Day and thought it was really delicious. We used 2 bottles of Guinness in order to better cover the meat in the pot. Otherwise, we did not alter the recipe at all. For some reason, the sauce came out a little thin (perhaps because of the extra Guinness??), but still tasted very nice, and I didnt find it to be too salty at all, as suggested in other reviews. It was just perfect! I will definitely make this recipe again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      I have been a corned beef lover since I was a child but this recipe IS the best I have ever tasted! I didn't have allspice but it still was wonderful. I used a stout beer,( the local pkg store didn't have Guiness) and my whole house smelled wonderful!!! Thanks for this recipe, I am giving out copies to co-workers!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      We all loved this..made 2 big pots and took it to a friend of mines bar for a cayying in st. paddy's party..it was the first to go..everyone loved the richness and didnt find it salty or strong..but then a few pints Irish of ale may have helped..lol...we will make sure we do this again..Thanks..also served it with Irish Rosie's Irish bread..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      2 Thumbs Up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      This was my first time preparing this dish and I am so glad I chose this recipe!! The flavors were outstanding and the recipe very well written. My guests enjoyed the smells as they arrived and loved the meal!! This will be my only Corned Beef and Cabbage recipe. Thanks so much for posting for all of us to enjoy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      Wow! This was fantastic!! I followed the recipe exactly, except for the sauce at the end. Instead of reducing by half, I instead thickened slightly with some cornstarch. It was perfect for our tastes. I served this with Irish Rosie's Irish Soda Bread Irish Rosie's Irish Soda Bread and our family of 5 enjoyed a perfect St. Patty's Day feast. Thanks so much for this recipe. We decided this would be our annual keeper recipe. Thank you! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      One word...INCREDIBLE! Not much else to say here. I personally had never nade corned beef, but have always been a big fan of someone else making it. So I was quite uncertain of what I was doing, but man oh man-this was SO easy & everyone loved it-including ne! Actually-I'm really looking more forward to leftovers tomorrow! Thanks so much for a truly outstanding recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      I made this recipe (on st. Patrick's day)using a point cut corned beef brisket. I first browned it on the stove top but then transfered the brisket into the crock pot with the remaining ingredients. I skipped the potatoes and carrots and kept the crock-pot on high adding in the cabbage 40 minutes before serving. It had a very this flavor that everyone enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      all i have to say is "wow". i am looking forward to the leftovers :) i followed the advice of another reviewer and doubled the spices because i always like stronger flavors in this type of dish. i didn't add potatoes because i made mashed potatoes instead. the recipe took me an extra hour because it took a lot longer to sear the meat and bring it to a boil than i was expecting. thank you very much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      This was the best corned beef we have ever eaten, bar none. We like stronger flavors so I doubled everything - 2 beers and twice the seasonings. It was WONDERFUL. The brisket I had was 4 1/4 pounds for three people AND WE DON'T HAVE ANY LEFTOVERS!!! I saved the cooking water/beer/stuff and can't wait to make soup with it. This was just so good, I can't thank you enough for this great recipe. BTY, my inlaws make corned beef every single year for St. Patrick's Day, but this was my first, and everyone agreed this was far better than theirs! (and my mother-in-law was our third). We didn't find the au jus too salty, but like I said, we like things strong. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      Deeeeeeeelicious! I always have my doubts about beer in food (I know, I'm weird that way, but I had a bad experience using a dark beer in a stew once), but this was absolutely wonderful! I had a slightly larger than 2 lb brisket, so cut the recipe in half, though I upped the garlic. One can never have too much garlic. The only thing I'd change, and it's just cuz I'm a wussy, is cut the spices down which have a tendency to make a dish sweet. But my husband went back for.... FOURTHS. :shock: I think that's the first time I've ever seen him do that. I guess we'll be adding this to our repertoire. ;) Thanks, Dee!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2006

      Have made this a few times now, in the crockpot. I just put everything in at once and let it cook for the day. Good stuff, and not so sweet as those that add sweeteners. About some overly salty reviews I see: soak the meat in water a few hours to overnite. Definitely lowers the salt content.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Corned Beef and Cabbage in Guinness

    Serving Size: 1 (411 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 717.1
     
    Calories from Fat 390
    54%
    Total Fat 43.4 g
    66%
    Saturated Fat 14.4 g
    72%
    Cholesterol 222.1 mg
    74%
    Sodium 2875.6 mg
    119%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 6.8 g
    27%
    Sugars 7.8 g
    31%
    Protein 45.3 g
    90%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Guinness draught

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites