Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Corned Beef and Cabbage in Guinness Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Corned Beef and Cabbage in Guinness

    Average Rating:

    115 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 115

    Sort by:

    • on May 16, 2008

      Wow! Awesome recipe. I didn't have ground clove so I used about 5 whole cloves instead. I also didn't have guinness, so I used 3 bottles of fat tire. I only used 2 large white potatoes, skins on and diced large because I decided to use my cabbage in Cabbage Wedges With Cheese Sauce. My sauce had reduced a bit too much and was salty so I diluted it with water and then added some cornstarch like another reviewer. I'm sure this would be awesome with the appropriate veg mix too, but it was great without them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      This was amazing. I made it in the crock pot, 2 1/2 lbs for 5 1/2 hours. It was so tender!! I added the potatoes and carrots at the beginning, but steamed the cabbage separate. I then added the cabbage just before serving, so it could pick up some of the flavor. I will never use another recipe, and can't think of a single change to make for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      This was really good!! I didn't have the problem with salty sauce . . . in fact my sauce was a little bland, had to add some more salt . . . could be due to the brand of corned beef, maybe? Anyway, made Cabbage Soup with the leftover veggies . . . the dish lives on!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      The house smelled wonderful while this was cooking. My husband loved the corned beef, and even my youngest kept asking for more. I will definitely make this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      I have been making corned beef for years and this was without a doubt the best. I cooked it in the slow cooker. The vegtables came out a bit dark in color but it didn't bother us at all. They tasted great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      Served for St. Patty's 2008. Very good. I'll make it again. Notes: * I don't believe that this serves 10. With 4 lbs CB and 2 EXTRA potatoes I ran out of food for 6. (We were forced to have vanilla ice cream with Baileys on top! LOL!) * Cooked in Crock Pot for 7 hours. 1st and last hours on HIGH - added potatoes & carrots at halfway point. * Made as directed with 1 extra Guiness, which I wouldn't recommend * I steamed cabbage in 1" water covered on the stovetop until color started to fade. Added butter and salt. Thanks for posting! It's great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      The best corned beef i've ever eaten! The spices were wonderful and the sauce rich and flavorful. I used Guinness Extra Stout and it made the sauce a little bitter - next time i'll use regular Guinness. Not at all too salty like others mentioned, but i didnt reduce by half. I added some cornstarch and it tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      Absolutely fantastic. I have made a lot of Irish stews and this is by far one of the best. The spices mingle perfectly with the salty, spiced corned beef. I halved the recipe and shouldn't have because I wanted leftovers! Thanks <3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      This is definitely a do-again recipe. It's easy, and has great flavor. what more can you ask for. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      this was simple to make and delicious! I didn't find the sauce too salty at all. of all the corned beef I've tried to make over the years, this is the best tasting. it must be the beer. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      This was such a great recipe! I put all the ingredients into my crock pot and cooked it on high for about 8 hours. Then I took the corned beef, cabbage, carrots and potatoes out and put them in a 9 X 13 pan in the oven set at 350 degrees. I poured the sauce into a large saucepan and reduced it for about 40 minutes. My Dad declared this better than our favorite Irish Pub's corned beef and cabbage. The spices in this added a flavor that I can't really describe but no one knew it was cinnamon, cloves and allspice, just that it was fantastic! I was hoping to have lots of leftovers, but.... None! My 18 month old identical twin granddaughters loved the carrots, potatoes and cabbage covered in the gravy as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      Yum! Yum! Yum!! This recipe is terrific. This is the only one I will use. The only alteration I did was to make a glaze out of brown sugar and mustard and bake it in the oven for 20 minutes (after boiling the meat first). This corned beef recipe with the glaze is the best. I also served this with Irish Rosie's Irish Soda Bread. I believe I have found the perfect St. Patrick's Day meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      I made this using a regular pot roast and it was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      excellent and simple to prepare, this is a delicious recipe. Everyone I serve this to loves it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      This was my first corned beef and cabbage attempt, and I'm glad I picked this one. I don't know what cut of corned beef it was, the package didn't say, but it came out a little bit tougher than I'd like, so I'll assume it wasn't the right one. I threw in a couple extra potatoes considering the salty sauce posts, and mine wasn't at all salty. Other than that, I followed the recipe and it had a wonderful flavor, I'll serve it again next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      This was a huge hit at my house! I followed the recipe except for adding the spice packet with the cinnamon & allspice. I made this and a slow cooked Corned beef cooked only in Guinness and brown sugar and most preferred this one. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      This was the first time I'd seared a corned beef brisket before immersing it in liquid, and I think it made a big difference. I did use a "point' cut rather than a 'flat', since that what's was on sale this week. I also reserved the liquid from the package, and added the seasoning package that came with the brisket. We have cans of Guinness draught at home, so that's what we used. But as for as the reduced sauce...that did not turn out well. It smelled great, especially with the extra cinnamon, allspice, and cloves. The meat and the vegetables were wonderful, but the sauce was exceedingly salty. Even if without any reduction, I don't think it would've been edible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      Got to admit not a huge cornbeef and cabbage fan ,but this was a great dinner coming from a person that doesn't care for it means a good deal. The cornbeef had excellent flavor.We didn't use Guinness stout instead we used Raspberry beer and dark beer that was in the fridge.what one beer can do two can make better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      This is awesome! I've been to Ireland and still think this corned beef and cabbage is better than what I was served there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      I'm making this for the second time. The first time was St. Patty's Day. It is absolutely the best way to fix corned beef. All our guests raved, I should have doubled the recipe! I must admit I used the flavor package that came with the brisket in place of the cinnamon, clove, allspice and pepepr then added the garlic and the bay leaf per the recipe. My husband can't wait for dinner tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Corned Beef and Cabbage in Guinness

    Serving Size: 1 (411 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 717.1
     
    Calories from Fat 390
    54%
    Total Fat 43.4 g
    66%
    Saturated Fat 14.4 g
    72%
    Cholesterol 222.1 mg
    74%
    Sodium 2875.6 mg
    119%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 6.8 g
    27%
    Sugars 7.8 g
    31%
    Protein 45.3 g
    90%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Guinness draught

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes