Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Corned Beef and Cabbage in Guinness Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Corned Beef and Cabbage in Guinness

    Average Rating:

    115 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 115

    Sort by:

    • on April 14, 2009

      Great recipe! Great flavor very tender and juicy. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      Delicious! This particular recipe was hard to half though, so only make when feeding four or more people.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      I made two corned beefs so I could compare. WOW-This is my new recipe for my annual corned beef. It is delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      WOW! This was amazing. I have never cooked corned beef before and honestly I didn't know that it could be so juicy and flavorful. My meat was only 2 lbs and was cooked perfectly after 2 hours. I'm not a lover of Guinness but the flavor wasn't overwhelming at all. I didn't have any cloves but I threw in the little seasoning packet that came with the meat and some salt for extra flavor. The house smelled amazing. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      The only change I made was to add a little salt. My husband said this was even better than his mother's. A real winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      I want to tell you this is some awesome corned beef! I made it on vacation in Pam Desert over St. Paddy's day, but baked it in the oven for 3 hrs while we were out and about. Everyone was hovering around the kitchen to sneek a sample before it got to the table...Thank you Dee for such a great treat that will become an annual tradition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      Great corned beef and cabbage -- the corned beef was really tender and flavorful. I did use the stout, but did not like the flavor of the broth and, therefore did not reduce and intensify it. Maybe it was just too salty for me. I did use the the non-reduced broth to pour over the sliced meat and vegetables to keep them moist for serving. Everyone loved the meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      This recipe is the best corned beef and cabbage I have tried. I used a 3-1/2 lb "first cut" - not sure what that is, but it was the only kind the store had. After browning, I put it in my slo cooker on top of the onion and garlic. When 1 bottle of Guinness draught did not cover the brisket, I added another at the suggestion of my husband. Then added the bayleaf and spices. I let it cook on med hi for 3 hours, then added the cabbage wedges and carrots, which were cooked after 40 minutes. The time probably depends on your slo cooker. (We made Colcannon separately so did not add potatoes.) It was a big success - even picky kids ate it - "Oh, good, ham!" The older one had an "Irish ham" sandwich the next day! We did not make the sauce, the meat was just right as far as salt content.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      This recipe was awesome. There was 5 of us and not much left to prove it. I used 1 flat cut and 2 point cuts. They weighed about 8lbs altogether. The most important part of this recipe is to brown the corned beef. What a great flavor it brings to the meat. I used 1 12oz. bottle of Guiness draught, but you could use more if you like. The only othere thing I did was to add about 3-4 tablespoons of red wine vinegar to the water and beer. I usually let my corned beef sit in some water and vinegar overnight in the frig to help cut some of the fat. But adding it to the cooking water was perfect. I used a counter top roaster oven for about 4 hours. You can take the meat out and cook the veggies in the roaster or pour the liquid into a large pot carefully and cook on the stove. The only thing I didn't do was make the sauce. No one missed it. But next time I'll try it. This will be made more than on St Pat's Day. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      Kayarich: The recipe called for Guinness draught, not stout. That's why your dish turned out bitter. You misread one of the steps but don't let that stop you from cooking with Guinness!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      very good, i didn't change anything

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      I was excited with this recipe after reading everyone's great review, however my dish turned out very bitter. Perhaps it's supposed to be bitter due to using Guiness Stout as the recipe called for. I had to neutralize it with lemon juice, orange juice, and sugar. Don't think I will ever use Guiness Stout in cooking corn beef in the future. ps: I bought Guiness Extra Stout, and realized there is also another type called Guiness Draught. Maybe that explains why it's too bitter. On the bright side, the corn beef did turned out fork tender, but most of it's flavor was lost in the bitter sauce. You have a very easy to follow instructions but this recipe is not for me. Thanks for sharing anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      I made this one evening and we liked it very much. My family loves corned beef and I"m always trying new recipes. I really liked the addition of Guinness to this. It really changes the flavor. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      Yum!! A very flavorful version of a classic dinner. I reduced the sauce and added it over the meat before serving. It did keep the meat moist, but it does not refridgerate well so it wouldn't work for leftovers. Still, a really great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      Great recipe!! I have made it twice now and we love it! I have not gotten brave enough to add the spices because I am a little wary having veggies flavored with them. At 2 1/2 hours, I added some chopped cilantro with the carrots and potatoes and then added the cabbage 10 minutes later. By 3 hours everything was perfect. We always add a little rice wine vinegar when eating the cabbage and some horseradish with the meat. All those flavors kind of blended on the plate and it was delicious!! Next time I am going to take out some of the broth, add a little vinegar and horseradish and maybe thicken it with some cornstarch for the sauce. Thanks for the best corned beef ever!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      This was SO GOOD! What more to say? We would be more than happy to make this corned beef, all on its own with no potatoes or veggies, just to have awesome corned beef sandwiches the next day! Thank you - I am SO keeping this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      Love, Love, Love this recipe. I use a huge pot so doubled the Guiness, spices and onions. The flavor is wonderful, a definite keeper. It makes such a difference to brown the meat before cooking. Personal preference I cook the vegetables separately to maintain colour and texture. Thank you so much for posting. Happy cooking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      I didn't particularly like this dish. The guinness/chocholaty flavor overpowered the corned beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      Rasy dish. Not much effort and it tast great. I added peppercorns for a little more spicey flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      Holy WOW, this was incredible! Never made corned beef before, and this was easy to make and delicious! Thanks for helping me make St. Patty's Day a real talked-about party!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Corned Beef and Cabbage in Guinness

    Serving Size: 1 (411 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 717.1
     
    Calories from Fat 390
    54%
    Total Fat 43.4 g
    66%
    Saturated Fat 14.4 g
    72%
    Cholesterol 222.1 mg
    74%
    Sodium 2875.6 mg
    119%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 6.8 g
    27%
    Sugars 7.8 g
    31%
    Protein 45.3 g
    90%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Guinness draught

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites