Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Corned Beef and Cabbage in Guinness Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Corned Beef and Cabbage in Guinness

    Average Rating:

    115 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 115

    Sort by:

    • on March 20, 2011

      I've made this the last two years, but I put it in the crockpot. I love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      This is by far the best corned beef I've ever had! The recipe is written very well and needed no adjustment in my kitchen. My family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      First off I should say that I am NOT a corned beef fan....until now! This recipe was fantastic. Made as directed and served with horseradish sauce from Corned Beef and Cabbage Dinner for the Slow Cooker. Today for brunch we used the leftover corned beef to make hash with eggs! Thanks so much Dee!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      Perfect, perfect, perfect! Loved the spices in this---much better than the spices that come in the little packet with your corned beef. It was a hit with the whole family. I agree with another poster that the flavors are even more intense the second day (thankfully I set aside "leftovers" before I served!) Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      This is SO close to the recipe I keep in my back pocket and use every year. I stuck my briskets in the crock pots (yes, multiple, we throw a big party every year) with your ingredients but I added beef stock to raise the amount of liquid because my briskets were 4.5 pounds a piece.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      We enjoyed a super Corned Beef and Cabbage St. Patricks Day dinner last night thanks, in part to this wonderful recipe. I soaked the brisket for about 3 hours prior to cooking and I went ahead with the reduction of the broth. We did not find it salty at all. We might have had 10 servings of the veggies -- but the 4 of us ate all the corned beef!!!!! Thank you for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      I used to hate corned beef, but made it every year for the family - Now I love it too! So good, so easy, so tasty! The flavor is fantastic. Soaking the corned beef was very important. Mine usually comes out too salty, but not this time. The only change I made was to leave out the cabbage and fry it in a little butter in a skillet (yum!). Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2011

      This was sooooo good! Will be making this again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2011

      Excellent traditional recipe for spiced beef. I added thick slices of rutabaga and some parsnips. The aroma was so heavenly our neighbors came to call. Beautifully arranged on a platter with speckled bread and a pint and who could ask for anything more? Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      This was great! More flavorful than my usual recipe and I will definitely use it again! I did add 1 tsp of black peppercorns rather than the ground pepper and also 1 tsp of whole mustard seed. The cabbage was also wonderful, and DH loved the carrots, though I thought they were a little bitter. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      This was pretty good, as far as corned beef goes. I prepared this way ahead of time and cooked in the slow cooker. I'm glad I did too, because the Irish restaurant we went to for lunch ended up LACKING, so we went to an Italian place instead. (viva italia!!) We had our corned beef/cabbage, black and tans and Irish Rosie's Irish Soda Bread at home and enjoyed it all the more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      made it last night, very yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      This was DELICIOUS! I made it tonight for St. Patrick's Day dinner. I loved the flavor, even though I'm not a huge fan of cabbage. Even my picky husband loved it! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      We had this tonight (day before St. Pat's) to celebrate the holiday. It was absolutely wonderful! It fell apart so easily, just melts in your mouth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      WOW!!! This was fantasiic!! My family and I loved it, even my 2 picky kids!! Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      My DW loves this recipe. Have never made corned beef before. I modified it for crockpot as I just don't have the time or patience. Turned out great... this is what I did. Corned beef seared all sides, fatty part on bottom then put in crockpot. Smallest red potatoes I could find, leaving most skin, removing eyes. Carrots peeled and in 3rds. Cabbage in quarters with stem holding together. Used spice if comes with corned beef or whole peppercorns, bay leaves, and combo of onion powder, whole cloves, garlic powder, and cinnamon. Added whole peeled garlic and onion if I could fit (threw away after, for flavor only). Add Guinness draught and water to fill rest. Crockpot on low for 10 hours. Sliced across the grain of meat and served with potatoes (and some carrots, although apparently Catholic Irish don't like Orange b/c it reminds them of the Orangemen). Yum! Thanks Dee!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      This was my first time making corned beef and cabbage and I was excited that it turned out so well. This recipe was perfect! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      This is rating with out actually making your recipe, but this is the same recipe I have used for years. The only difference, I use a large onion and a few more spuds. It is exact down to all the spices. I mix of little of the broth with sour cream, horseradish and dijon mustard as a sauce JUST THOUGHT I WOULD POST THIS as St Patties day is coming up and this recipe is just a perfect one to use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      King of a neat fall aroma and taste, but just not my cup of tea. The cloves are a bit overwhelming, but I can see how some might really enjoy this. None in my family liked it very much. Just O.K.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      Made this for St. Patrick's Day, but forgot to post. It's deeelicious! The meat is tender & flavorful. The only way I'll make it from now on. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Corned Beef and Cabbage in Guinness

    Serving Size: 1 (411 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 717.1
     
    Calories from Fat 390
    54%
    Total Fat 43.4 g
    66%
    Saturated Fat 14.4 g
    72%
    Cholesterol 222.1 mg
    74%
    Sodium 2875.6 mg
    119%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 6.8 g
    27%
    Sugars 7.8 g
    31%
    Protein 45.3 g
    90%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Guinness draught

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites