33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was really good! I used (cheap) beer since I didn't have apple juice and I kind of missed seeing the part about adding enough water to just cover the meat, not that I could have in my too-small crock pot. I had a 3 lb brisket and cooked it for about 7 1/2 hours, the last 2 hours on High. It was absolutely the most tender corned beef I've ever made. It was the first time my son had had corned beef and cabbage- now he and the husband are arguing over who gets the leftovers, what little there are.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KMLWPA March 17, 2010

I just want to comment on the Horseradish sauce.. it was fantasic and out of this world! it made the greatest addition to the corned beef other than the same ole' brown mustard I have used for years. I tripled the recipe and handed it out to all my family members to try and just got a phone call that it's pretty much gone! everyone went crazy for it! many thanks! and we will certainly add it every year!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
D. Rose March 17, 2010

This was decent. The amount of water could have been cut way down, and the veggies needed to be cooked longer on high to be tender. The sauce was fabulous, though!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Niki Tiki Tavi March 19, 2010

This rating is for the horseradish cream sauce alone as I cooked my corned beef in Guinness this year. But oh my goodness, this sauce was so yummy. My husband and I loved it and were coming up with all the different things it would bo good on! Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
troseOR March 17, 2010

Excellent Meal. I made as directed except that I cooked for 10 hours on low and then just added the cabbage without removing meat. Cooked on high for 45 minutes. It was so good I even forgot to take a picture:( Thanks carolinafan.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happynana March 10, 2010

This was EXCELLENT! My husband is an Irish man that LOVES corned beef and cabbage, and he had 4 extra servings! I changed the horseradish slightly, I used greek yogurt instead of mayo and sour cream, and left out the prepared mustard but added mustard seed. Great job!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DaniRoze November 06, 2008

Since I had previous commitments on St. Patrick's Day until 10PM, I put this on for my sons. One was home too early to prepare the cabbage steps, the other one only arrived home not long before I did. I ended up doing the cabbage steps and we ate at 11PM.
It was wonderful. I really don't like it when people change up so many ingredients and then rate it. It isn't the same recipe, but...I had missed the apple juice and used applesauce. The beef was very tasty, as were the vegetables.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peej2 March 28, 2011

Delish !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! My go to recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moon River Gal March 18, 2015

This turned out well. I used the ingredients as listed in the recipe with the exception of water quantity (reduced). I actually cooked this overnight, so that it would be ready after Sunday Mass, and I just added the cabbage to the top of the pot before leaving the house without removing the corned beef- it was perfectly done when we returned an hour later. The sauce is great on sandwiches, too! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Transplanted Entwife March 16, 2014

Easy & delicious. I used apple cider vinegar instead of apple juice. I also soaked the corned beef in water for about an hour before I put it in the slow cooker to reduce the saltiness. The sauce is very good with or without the horseradish. This will be my go-to recipe for St. Patrick's Day from now on

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Sister March 18, 2013
Corned Beef and Cabbage Dinner for the Slow Cooker