Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Corned Beef Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Corned Beef

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on October 19, 2006

      This was wonderful! I had never cooked corned beef before (other than boiling in a bag) and this was a great, easy recipe. My corned beef was a little smaller, maybe 1.5lbs so I simmered it for about 1.5 hours instead of 2. Great taste, easy to make, my family of 4 loved it. We also used the mustard Mustard Sauce for Corned Beef which was a perfect match. Loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2011

      My husband said this was the best corned beef he'd ever had. My brisket came with a little packet of spices (I recognized juniper, bay, and whole mustard, not sure what else was in there) which I added along with everything else. My brisket started floating about midway through the cook time, so I weighted it down with a salad plate. I also completely forgot to buy cabbage, so we turned off the heat about 15 minutes shy of 2 hours and left it to cool in the broth for almost an hour while we went to the store--with no apparent harm done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      Yum! Like Pat not a lot different to how I normally cook corned beef but the ketchup and little extra sugar gives an extra touch of sweetness that was great. I cooked a few vegies along with it but gave the beef a bit of a soak and rinse before hand so it wasn't too salty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      I loved this, I'd never made corned beef before but it seemed like the right combination of flavours. I had a smaller piece of silverside, and my only regret is cooking it too long, it was a little dry. Eaten too quickly to take a photo! Thanks Jan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      This is an excellent recipe. Easy and delicious. Since I am always boiling things over on the stove... I starting this boiling then but the dutch oven in the oven..250 degrees for 3 hours.. instead of boiling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      Got to admit the only difference to how I normally do a corned beef and this one is the addition of ketchup (tomatoe sauce) and we thoroughly enjoyed it tonight for dinner with mashed potatoes, steamed vegetables and cheesy white sauce. I used a 1 kilo piece of corned silverside and it took 1 hour to cook. Thank you Jan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2006

      Wonderful...just wonderful!! The corned beef turned out excellent. My family loves it to be served with mashed potatoes & veg. I know they will be fighting over the leftovers this morning...who will end up getting yummy corned beef sandwiches for lunch today?? Lucky I'm first up in the morning and always have first pick at leftovers...cold corn beef on toast...YUM!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2006

      This was a very good corned beef recipe. It was wonderful. Really easy to make. Will be using this recipe from now on. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2006

      I was out of vinegar so used some chardonnay instead! :-) It worked brilliantly - a great recipe, thanks Jan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2005

      I usually make corned beef once a year and thats for my husbands birthday (Im not a great fan) this is similar to the recipe I use except I use brown sugar and minus the ketchup, this is very tasty..I used a 1.5 kg piece of silverside..and I actually enjoyed the birthday meal..thanks Jan. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2005

      This was excellent! Dh really loved it. I used a dash of ground cloves in place of the whole ones, fresh ground pepper in place of the peppercorns, and used a mixture of beer, beef stock and water to cook in. Thank you for the wonderful recipe! I served this with your mustard sauce which was also excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2004

      Outstanding corn beef! Very delicious and I agree with you, the veggies cooked with the corn beef are almost always inedible, I have a steamer that fits over my duch oven and for the last hour my veggies are steamed over the corn beef, they come out succulent and with a certain amount of taste picked up from the steam , just enough with added salt, pepper and butter added when ready to serve. The spices, vinegar, sugar and onion were a perfect combination and the corn beef was fork tender. I was out of ketchup so I used chilli sauce, it worked just fine. Thanks for a great corn beef recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Meat Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Corned Beef

    Serving Size: 1 (366 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 866.4
     
    Calories from Fat 569
    65%
    Total Fat 63.3 g
    97%
    Saturated Fat 21.1 g
    105%
    Cholesterol 326.6 mg
    108%
    Sodium 3836.6 mg
    159%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 60.8 g
    121%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cloves

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes