Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cornbread With Jalapeno and Cheddar Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cornbread With Jalapeno and Cheddar Cheese

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on March 22, 2008

      This is the best jalapeno cornbread recipe I have ever made, hands down. Baked perfectly, no sticking to the pan, and the perfect consistency, moist yet dense. Followed exactly as written but added 1 cup corn kernels as another reviewer suggested. Also, I didn't have fresh jalapeno on hand so I used about 1/4 cup diced canned jalapeno (the kind that they put on nachos at baseball games). PERFECT! I think that I may even put more jalapeno in next time, but this is a personal preference as I love my food super spicy. This was a hit with chili.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2012

      This recipe is also fantastic adding hamburger meat to it..My father in law (RIP) use to make this for me every time we came home for the weekends. The hamburger gives a whole meal deal. It is warm and tummy full feeling...Use your on amount of hamburger meat..cook it first before adding to your wet ingredients...mmmmm mmmmm good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      DH gave this 5 stars :) I used regular milk, vegetable oil, and 1/4 cup diced canned jalapeno and made this in a 12 cupcake pan with liners and cooked for 12 minutes. Perfect. Will be a regular addition especially now that its soup and chili weather! I think I may try this recipe with some cooked ground chorizo and throw the muffins in the freezer for DH's breakfast :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      This was really good! I used jalapeno from our garden and olive oil because I was out of canola. I don't think it affected the taste at all. Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      This was fantastic!! The consistency of the cornbread was perfect. Next time will spice it up a bit more, but overall great recipe! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      delicious! lacked some ingredients so, i substituted honey for sugar, monterey jack for cheddar, 3 tiny bags of red pepper powder for jalapeno (will use more next time), + added a cup of frozen corn kernals, 1/2 a cup of pumpkin seeds. Baked in muffin tins. OMG... this is phenomenol. Everybody raved. It was hearty, filling and nothing's more fun than breaking off a chunk and watching that cheese stretch. Mmm... yum! Thank you for an awesome recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2013

      This was ok for me but according to my husband its the best corn bread he has ever had. Probably cuz he made it to go with a chili I made. He added a little bit of corn. He said he used more cheese than the recipe called for but I don't really taste any.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2011

      We kicked up our heels upon tasting this kicked up cornbread! Thought the balance of cheese, jalapeno and sugar were all spot on. I did make one minor change in that I used whole wheat flour. DH who is not overly found of Jalapenos ate two pieces. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      My wife was raised in Texas and said this is the best cornbread she has ever eaten, and I never argue with my wife. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      These were nice. I was looking for a not-too-sweet cheesy cornbread for my chili. These gave my meal a nice balance. I did add about 3/4 cup of cheese, otherwise I followed the recipe as directed. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      Tasty! I was worried about it being too salty with all the cheddar already, but it's just right. Great directions except for that one errant apostrophe that I will swallow due to the food being so good! thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      Made for Flour Power April 08 challenge. Excellent...I added lots of jalapeno..hehehe.I also used olive oil and it worked out just great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      If eaten alone, these are a little on the bland side, but the flavors really come to life w/ a little butter spread on them. They went very well w/ our chili tonight. I think I may use more cheese next time. I made them into muffins and they cooked about 16 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      I made these in mini muffin pans to take as an appetizer to a cocktail party. They took about 10 minutes at 350, and this recipe made 4 dozen mini cornbreads. Thanks for the recipe, it tastes great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      I don't like cornbread but made this for the family & they really enjoyed this recipe...(& I even forgot to add the oil, oops). I made this in a muffin tin. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      Superb! I added an additional 1/2 cup cheddar and used canned jalapeno slices (about 7-8). I also used butter flavored shortening. Everyone enjoyed this! It complimented the Blackened Chicken quite nicely. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      I made this for ZWT3 to serve with Charmie's Creole #126488. I prepared this meal on the spur of the moment, and had to substitute chiles for the jalapenos as I was out of them. The bread was delicious with a hint of heat and was a perfect accompaniment to the Creole.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      Rita this is a great recipe. Me and my husband fixed it for a potluck, and everyone loved it. It's very simple and practically fail proof. (especially if my hubby can fix it). :-) thanks a bunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2006

      first time I made cornbread ! I left out the chillies, was a little doubtful about the amt of bak.pdr but it turned out fluffy, light and yummy in a 9" round cake pan. Next time round, I'll skip the cheese - it'll still be great. Thanx a ton,Rita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2006

      YUM! I've found cornbread is often rather dry and crumbly, but this was delicious, soft, moist, and wonderfully spicy. Paired together with Ridgely's Mexican Chicken Salad (#93448) -- a perfect supper for a hot, humid day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cornbread With Jalapeno and Cheddar Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (736 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 247.5
     
    Calories from Fat 96
    38%
    Total Fat 10.7 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 31.8 mg
    10%
    Sodium 517.4 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 7.9 g
    31%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes