21 Reviews

Awesome, awesome, awesome! That's what I can say about this. So good, there were no leftovers. Seasonings do need to be tweaked by you, but stil this recipe was Awesome!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chuck Baird March 15, 2002

Used garlic (naturally!), lowered the bread content and added more cornbread.....a little more sausage wouldnt hurt either

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joli November 23, 2002

This was an easy recipe to make and was very tasty. You may need to tweek the seasonings to your taste, though.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy6 December 31, 2001

This was great, I used pre-made corn bread cubes as well as the regular bread. It was great and my family absolutely loved it telling me to file it away for next year. Will make again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joshuainboden November 29, 2008

I made this for Thanksgiving and it was delicious. Be generous with the chicken broth to keep it moist. I used a little extra of the spices to give it more flavor. It was a hit with the extended family.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spencer #2 December 23, 2014

I've never been a fan of dressing and I picked this recipe for my husband. I'm now a fan! I used light dry rye bread cubes and sage sausage. Made the recipe the day before and baked for 20 min. and finished baking the next day. Cut the recipe in half because we were having smoked turkey and the stuffing was going to be a side dish -- this stuffing was delicious and I would love to have more leftovers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stir crazy November 25, 2012

Great!! I made similar version but wasn't able to locate my original recipe and as usual food.com to the rescue. I used a Marie Calendar's corn bread mix to make the corn bread and a mild italian pork sausage. I thought the recipe was either corn bread or other bread crumbs and when I re-read it figured out it should be both. Since I didn't have the other bread crumbs on hand, I had to adjust by reducing the amount of broth but everyone still liked the end result. The amount of bread seemed plenty and it was a big hit.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OCMom1 November 25, 2011

Made this for christmas eve dinner. My entire family really enjoyed it. We had never had stuffing with sausage before so this was a great change and I'm sure it will stick around for many many more christmas eve's to come!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin_nurse January 01, 2009

I gave this recipe 3 stars. I made this stuffing for my families Thanksgiving dinner. My family really liked this stuffing except my picky 5 yr old newphew. I made a few minor changes. I cut the recipe in half. I forgot to cut the seasoning in half and used full amount. This did not affect the flavor this stuffing tasted great! I did use pork sausage and made my cornbread in muffin cups. My only complaint I would liked to have more cornbread in the stuffing. Overall this was very good and we will have this again. Thanks for posting a really good recipe! Christine (internetnut)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut November 27, 2008

I used your ingredients and method with two packs of stovetop in place of the dry breads - it was wonderful! I also added 1/2 cup carrots and 1 apple.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Random Rachel December 25, 2007
Cornbread & Sausage Stuffing