Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cornbread, Sausage, Apple, & Pecan Stuffing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cornbread, Sausage, Apple, & Pecan Stuffing

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on November 25, 2010

      I made this for today's Thanksgiving dinner and the family was in awe! This recipe is definitely a keeper. I made a few minor modifications based on some of the reviews and experience making stuffing: 1)peeling the apples is a must; 2)used 3 different types of Stove Top Stuffing (turkey, chicken, and cornbread) to save time; 3)omitted all spices since they were contained in Stove Top Mixes; 4)Added 1.5 cups dried cranberry for added taste and color; 5)Used 20 oz Chicken Broth vs. 14 oz; 6)Used the remaining ingredients as listed. 6)Made this last night and baked at 325 for 40 minutes fully covered; Cooled and then refrigerated overnight; 7)In preparation for today's dinner, I took it out of the refrigerator and let it set covered at room temp for about an hour before I wanted to reheat; Added 10-12 oz Chicken Broth into the mix and stirred; Reheated fully covered for 30-35 minutes at 350;

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2002

      A wonderful dressing. Moist, flavorful; I served it as a side dish with turkey breast and raspberry sauce. I halved the recipe and still had an 8X8 baking dish full of dressing. I didn't have any broth or drippings, so I dotted the top of the dressing with a tablespoon of butter before covering, and it came out very moist, but not greasy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2011

      Loved this recipe! I'm definitely making it again this year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2008

      I had seen this recipe in my Silver Palate cookbook, and finally got around to trying it when I saw your recipe. I left out the sausage (personal preference) and it was wonderful! The apples and nuts are delicious, keeping the stuffing moist and adding crunch as well. I also found that using three different types of breads is a must. This is my new favorite stuffing recipe and I thank you for posting it. ***As an afterthought, I should note that I also added chicken stock (at least a cup) to moisten the stuffing to our liking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      I had to substitute cornbread for all 3 types of bread used, due to allergies. It turned out dry and the flavors just weren't what I was looking for. But, had I been able to follow the true recipe, it might have been good. So, I did not enter any stars at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2012

      I have been making this for years so I figured I better review. It is very rich and almost like a meal in itself. Even given that, I can never go back to a basic stuffing. We love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      The flavor was good but the texture was a little sticky for me. I would not use the pecans again as the flavor did not seem to match the rest of the ingredients. The fresh parsley was a nice touch. I would recommend more seasoning next time, possibly some poultry seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      We made this tonight for dinner and we enjoyed it. I really liked the addition of the granny smith. I did forget to add the pecans, oops, still good and we will make again. thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      Excellent stuffing. I used homemade cornbread, french bread and whole wheat that had been dried. I did peel the apples and forgot the nuts. I also had to add chicken broth as I didn't have much for drippings. I will be making this one for many years to come. Loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      Incredible! I made it with Field Roast vegan smoked apple sage sausages (http://www.fieldroast.com/products.htm) and added about a half cup of vegetable stock. It was loved by all - herbivores and omnivores. :) I will definitely be making this again - certainly every Thanksgiving. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      This is absolutely wonderful and so full of flavor. I am so happy I found this, when it was cooking all the flavors filled my home. Thank you and extra thanks for my thanksgiving stuffing. Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours. Tammy Rumberger

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      I can tell even before it's fully cooked that this is gonna be a real winner. I used a package of cornbread stuffing mix, two everything bagels, and some rye bread for the breads just because that's what I had on hand. I also used five small field apples (a type common here in N.C.). Otherwise it's pretty much as explained. I did use a can of broth to moisten the stuffing. Oh and I chopped the pecans, large nuts in the stuffing didn't sound appealing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      Wonderful! We cooked it in a separate dish, and used a little bit of the liquid from the bottom of the Turkey roaster to moisten it up a bit. Actually, we did that with one tin, and in the other we used 28 oz of chicken broth (each tin was a whole recipe). Both were wonderful, but the one with 'Turkey Juice' was the best! Thanks for the recipe, we'll leave it in the rotation for next year, I think!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2003

      This was the very first dressing I ever made and it was sooo good! After mixing it up , it seemed a little dryer then I was used to so I added some chicken broth to it. About half way through I added a little more. Perfect! My family raved, even my husband and brother, both of which are not too keen on stuffing. This will definitly be on the table for the holidays.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      Absolute love this recipe!! It's my first attempt with making homemade stuffing. I grew up on Stove Top. I'm glad I switched. My husband can't stop talking about this yummy stuffing. I followed everything in the recipe except instead of using wheat bread I used Sourdough. I'm not sure I wouldn't have been able to taste a difference though. It's very yummy. Oh and I did add a can of chicken broth half way through as suggested. YUM!!! Thanks for posting this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      This is a Holiday favorite. I use two white breads instead of the wheat. Chiabatta and french or sour dough are good. I toast in the oven first and then just break up. I cook the onions in all the butter and add PEELED chopped apples at the end for just a few minutes or they get mushy. If you like pine nuts, you must use those instead of the pecans...it is the best!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      I made this in the crockpot to save oven space, the day before Thanksgiving and reheated it in the micro. I left out the nuts, (personal preference) and added 2 cans of chicken stock to moisten it, near the end of cooking. Everyone loved this dressing! This is our new favorite dressing for holidays.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      this was good but probably would chop the pecans and apples smaller up next times. makes a very large amount.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      I liked this very much- my mom made it for Thanksgiving. My siblings didnt care for the pecans, so if making myself I might grind them up. Also, I would like to double the apples. Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      Oh my goodness...this was so good! I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. The sausage didn't make any leftover grease, so I poured two 14 oz. cans of chicken broth over the top of it while it baked. The flavor is soo yummy. And leftovers taste even better. I used Jimmy Dean sage flavored bulk sausage. Thanks for the wonderful recipe, I'll for sure be making it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cornbread, Sausage, Apple, & Pecan Stuffing

    Serving Size: 1 (198 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 521.4
     
    Calories from Fat 292
    56%
    Total Fat 32.5 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 11.9 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 62.3 mg
    20%
    Sodium 788.0 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.0 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    17%
    Sugars 7.9 g
    31%
    Protein 16.5 g
    33%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cornbread

    whole wheat bread

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes