38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for today's Thanksgiving dinner and the family was in awe! This recipe is definitely a keeper. I made a few minor modifications based on some of the reviews and experience making stuffing: 1)peeling the apples is a must; 2)used 3 different types of Stove Top Stuffing (turkey, chicken, and cornbread) to save time; 3)omitted all spices since they were contained in Stove Top Mixes; 4)Added 1.5 cups dried cranberry for added taste and color; 5)Used 20 oz Chicken Broth vs. 14 oz; 6)Used the remaining ingredients as listed. 6)Made this last night and baked at 325 for 40 minutes fully covered; Cooled and then refrigerated overnight; 7)In preparation for today's dinner, I took it out of the refrigerator and let it set covered at room temp for about an hour before I wanted to reheat; Added 10-12 oz Chicken Broth into the mix and stirred; Reheated fully covered for 30-35 minutes at 350;

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rickandemilyprice November 25, 2010

A wonderful dressing. Moist, flavorful; I served it as a side dish with turkey breast and raspberry sauce. I halved the recipe and still had an 8X8 baking dish full of dressing. I didn't have any broth or drippings, so I dotted the top of the dressing with a tablespoon of butter before covering, and it came out very moist, but not greasy.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leta December 16, 2002

Loved this recipe! I'm definitely making it again this year.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yellsbells November 21, 2011

I had seen this recipe in my Silver Palate cookbook, and finally got around to trying it when I saw your recipe. I left out the sausage (personal preference) and it was wonderful! The apples and nuts are delicious, keeping the stuffing moist and adding crunch as well. I also found that using three different types of breads is a must. This is my new favorite stuffing recipe and I thank you for posting it. ***As an afterthought, I should note that I also added chicken stock (at least a cup) to moisten the stuffing to our liking.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Great!full February 29, 2008

I had to substitute cornbread for all 3 types of bread used, due to allergies. It turned out dry and the flavors just weren't what I was looking for. But, had I been able to follow the true recipe, it might have been good. So, I did not enter any stars at all.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jackie's Mom December 09, 2007

I have been making this for years so I figured I better review. It is very rich and almost like a meal in itself. Even given that, I can never go back to a basic stuffing. We love it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrl November 15, 2012

The flavor was good but the texture was a little sticky for me. I would not use the pecans again as the flavor did not seem to match the rest of the ingredients. The fresh parsley was a nice touch. I would recommend more seasoning next time, possibly some poultry seasoning.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spencer #2 January 01, 2012

We made this tonight for dinner and we enjoyed it. I really liked the addition of the granny smith. I did forget to add the pecans, oops, still good and we will make again. thank you for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour October 17, 2010

Excellent stuffing. I used homemade cornbread, french bread and whole wheat that had been dried. I did peel the apples and forgot the nuts. I also had to add chicken broth as I didn't have much for drippings. I will be making this one for many years to come. Loved it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound November 27, 2009

Incredible! I made it with Field Roast vegan smoked apple sage sausages (http://www.fieldroast.com/products.htm) and added about a half cup of vegetable stock. It was loved by all - herbivores and omnivores. :) I will definitely be making this again - certainly every Thanksgiving. Thank you for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hlkljgk November 26, 2009
Cornbread, Sausage, Apple, & Pecan Stuffing