24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these with the mini muffin pans. But 2 words of advice the 50g of veg. shortening confused me so I used 50Ml. and it turned out great also, Don't forget to grease the muffin tins. But otherwise I love the recipe and I don't usually like corn bread but this was great and 2 1/2 year old loves them. Hopes this helps you all out.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vet October 02, 2002

Made these last night to go with my Mexican Ham and Bean Soup and they were quick, easy, delicious, and, best of all, I had all the ingredients in my pantry! I used 1/3 c. melted butter flavor Crisco in them and used paper muffin cups sprayed with Pam. Thanks, Krittylea21 for a keeper recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leslie in Texas November 08, 2003

I used this recipe pretty much exactly except for substituting the white sugar for 3/4 cup of brown sugar which gives them a great taste and cuts back on the aftertaste. With a crockpot of chili, they didn't stand a chance of making it into the next day....Very tasty and nice texture!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chan52 April 26, 2011

This is a great receipe. Used a little less sugar as we don't like sweet corn muffins/bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
babyowl13 July 28, 2012

so disappointing! I was confused by the 50g of shortening, after reading reviews I ended up using 1/2 cup melted shortening and using 1/4 part cream for the milk The review that said they were too salty and tasted like baking powder was right on and they were extremely crumbly!! I prefer a slightly sweet but very moist cornbread. Would not recommend this recipe at all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stmemaw January 11, 2011

I'm having a hard time not eating these all at once. I will say that they're not the most moist cornbread I've ever had, and there's an odd sort of aftertaste to them. Next time I might try using cream or half and half instead of milk. I also used butter instead of vegetable shortening.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melilia July 24, 2010

Made these tonite to go with our supper. They were as easy as a mix and just how i like, them - a little sweet & not too dry. I used 1/4 c veg oil. Made exactly 12 and i baked them at 325 (because i have a dark muffin pan) for 22 minutes and they were perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sgriffith May 10, 2010

Mine turned out just like the picture. They were perfectly done in 15 minutes and my mini muffins only took 10 minutes. I used 1 cup of powdered milk and 3 1/2 tablespoons margarine. I served them with crock pot beans. A little sweet, but soooo good. I thought this was a great recipe because I was able to make some changes and they still came out great. My husband wanted them to be less crumbly, I think if I would have used oil...that would have solved the problem.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bethany21 October 01, 2009

I tripple checked the recipe when making these- so much salt and baking powder... but I went with it. They came out salty and with that strong baking powder taste that makes your teeth and tongue yucky. Now maybe I measured the spoonfuls too heavy on the baking powder- I don't think so on the salt. Sorry I am not game to try this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kalani's Mama August 26, 2009
Cornbread Muffins