Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cornbread Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cornbread Muffins

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on October 02, 2002

      I made these with the mini muffin pans. But 2 words of advice the 50g of veg. shortening confused me so I used 50Ml. and it turned out great also, Don't forget to grease the muffin tins. But otherwise I love the recipe and I don't usually like corn bread but this was great and 2 1/2 year old loves them. Hopes this helps you all out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2003

      Made these last night to go with my Mexican Ham and Bean Soup and they were quick, easy, delicious, and, best of all, I had all the ingredients in my pantry! I used 1/3 c. melted butter flavor Crisco in them and used paper muffin cups sprayed with Pam. Thanks, Krittylea21 for a keeper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      I used this recipe pretty much exactly except for substituting the white sugar for 3/4 cup of brown sugar which gives them a great taste and cuts back on the aftertaste. With a crockpot of chili, they didn't stand a chance of making it into the next day....Very tasty and nice texture!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2012

      This is a great receipe. Used a little less sugar as we don't like sweet corn muffins/bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      so disappointing! I was confused by the 50g of shortening, after reading reviews I ended up using 1/2 cup melted shortening and using 1/4 part cream for the milk The review that said they were too salty and tasted like baking powder was right on and they were extremely crumbly!! I prefer a slightly sweet but very moist cornbread. Would not recommend this recipe at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2010

      I'm having a hard time not eating these all at once. I will say that they're not the most moist cornbread I've ever had, and there's an odd sort of aftertaste to them. Next time I might try using cream or half and half instead of milk. I also used butter instead of vegetable shortening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      Made these tonite to go with our supper. They were as easy as a mix and just how i like, them - a little sweet & not too dry. I used 1/4 c veg oil. Made exactly 12 and i baked them at 325 (because i have a dark muffin pan) for 22 minutes and they were perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

    • on October 01, 2009

      Mine turned out just like the picture. They were perfectly done in 15 minutes and my mini muffins only took 10 minutes. I used 1 cup of powdered milk and 3 1/2 tablespoons margarine. I served them with crock pot beans. A little sweet, but soooo good. I thought this was a great recipe because I was able to make some changes and they still came out great. My husband wanted them to be less crumbly, I think if I would have used oil...that would have solved the problem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      I tripple checked the recipe when making these- so much salt and baking powder... but I went with it. They came out salty and with that strong baking powder taste that makes your teeth and tongue yucky. Now maybe I measured the spoonfuls too heavy on the baking powder- I don't think so on the salt. Sorry I am not game to try this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      These were great muffins. The texture was just great. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      These were very easy to make and nice to eat with my veggie chili. I was happy that they weren't too sweet (as was the case with other recipes I've tried). My heart was sinking each time I looked at a recipe that said start with a packet of cornbread mix - a) in my opinion that's not really cooking and b) such mixes are not sold here in the UK as we don't really do cornbread. I also balked at the idea of sweetcorn being included - that just seemed wrong :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      This is one of the best corn muffin recipes that I have tried. It is not dry and both my sons and my fiance really enjoyed these corn muffins, I used 1/4 cup honey for sugar, 1 cup milk for 11/4 cup milk is too much, 1/2 stick butter, melted for shortening. Thanks, girl. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      We just had these great tasting muffins with soup.they were nice and moist,I used 2oz.veggie oil,for shortening.Thanks Linda.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2008

      I made this as directed, and they came out a little dry. Surprisingly, were really really good the next couple of days. Cold or hot! And I love how simple they are!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      These are oh sooooooo good. I just made these in the 6 large muffin tin. My DH and I ate one hot from the oven with a little Promise Margerine (sp?) on it. Two changes I made was to use melted Margerine and I added a 1/2 teasp. of vanilla. Thanks for posting. These are my new favorites. Oh, I didn't beat everything, I just stirred until all was well blended. Try these, they are the greatest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      Nice, simple no fuss corn muffins. What could be better with a nice slow cooked roast? Mmmmm. I have to confess, I didn't even make these, my DH did, and I was pleasantly surprised with the results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      Very moist and tasty. I used whole wheat pastry flour and Earth Balance shortening (no trans fats). I still had lumps of shortening, so I may try oil next time. Everyone liked it but my picky eater, so next time I'll put in add ins since the picky eater won't be eating them. It took a full 20 minutes to bake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2005

      I am so glad that I tried this recipe. Very good and very easy! I used 1/3 stick of melted butter in place of the shortening. This will be a regular in our house from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2005

      I just like cornbread in any kind of fashion. So I did like these easy to do muffins. I keep it simple and just heat 'em up and slather 'em with butter. Really good. Thanks krittylea21.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cornbread Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (743 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 156.0
     
    Calories from Fat 53
    34%
    Total Fat 5.9 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 19.0 mg
    6%
    Sodium 337.0 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes